We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb secluded secret garden apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious double bedroom Double bed with bedside tables
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Spacious double bedroom
Double bed with bedside tables
Double bedroom with a double bed, bedside tables,  lamps, spacious wardrobe and full length mirror
Comfortable double bed
Comfortable double bed
Comfortable double bed
Fully equipped kitchen, dining table and sofa
Fully equipped kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Dining table is located in the kitchen
Dining table and chairs
Dining table
Dining table and comfortable sofa
Comfortable sofa and dining table
Fully equipped bathroom
Fully equipped bathroom
The bathroom has a modern shower cubicle, basin and WC
Bathroom
Bathroom
Outdoor terrace with a table and chairs where you can enjoy your meals
Mediterranean style garden outside the apartment
Mediterranean style garden outside the apartment
Mediterranean style garden outside the apartment
Mediterranean style garden outside the apartment
Ferry & cruise port in Gruz (5 minutes on foot from the apartment)
Ferry & cruise port in Gruz
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
arnaud t
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very unfriendly service”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Normally i never write a review on this site, but unfortunatly this time i feel like it is unfortunately necessary. Me and my girlfriend stayed for a little bit more than a week at this the apartment. Our stay was 'okay', execept for some overpriced services. Our bad experience with the owner occured when we had to leave the apartment in a hurry because of a misunderstanding with our airline. In the chaos my girlfriend left some belongings at the apartment. When we contacted the owner about this, she responded very rude, saying she already throwed the garbage out and accused us of being unpolite. This, when we thanked her thoroughly for letting us stay in the apartment and excused ourselves for the unexpected sudden leave. This really left a sour taste in our mouth about the stay in the apartment. It is always a pity when a rude owner spells a dark shadow over your vacation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thank you Arnaud and Lisa for taking the time to write us a comment. You stated that our services are overpriced and yet we do not know exactly what you are referring to here since we provided you all the additional services free of charge.

Upon your wish we organised transport from the airport and back at half price (we paid the difference personally wanting to give you a discount as a thank you for choosing our apartment for your holiday).

Then, the day before your arrival itself you asked us for a bouquet of flowers, champagne and chocolates to be waiting for you in the apartment, which under pressure we managed to do in time on the day of your arrival. During your stay in the apartment we left fruit from the garden, chocolates and a new bouquet of flowers for you as our gift. In this way, we wanted to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

On the day of your departure you contacted us because of a problem with the airline company that meant you had to go as soon as possible to the airport, and not at the agreed time, within the deadline of 15-20 minutes, and so we contacted the driver immediately.

The driver was not able to get to you in such a short time and so we organised the drive with another driver. When after 20 minutes, we informed you that the driver had arrived you were not even close to being packed nor ready to leave, which was very strange. We warned you to hurry up and that the driver would wait for you. Upon leaving you just returned the keys without saying goodbye.

Regarding the apartment, you left it in an extremely messy state. The floor was covered with scattered things: bed linen, towels, toilet paper, clothes hangers, the TV control, plastic bottles and glasses, plastic bags etc. The kitchen was also messy and full of dirty dishes and bottles. This kind of behaviour is not respectable.

In connection with your forgotten thing you finally contacted us 15 days after leaving, which was too late to check our waste.
After telling you by email that unfortunately we no longer have the thing that you may have forgotten in the apartment, you accused us in a very impolite way as though we are guilty of the resulting situation.

We hope that future owners of the apartment will have a better experience with you as guests.

We wish you all the best,

Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandS-Sco
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb secluded secret garden apartment”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Fantastic location - close to the Gruz harbour area. Apartment was very well equipped, spotlessly clean, and a lovely outdoor area to enjoy the fresh air. Matea is such a friendly, welcoming host. Her recommendations were all great, I only wish we had booked a longer stay!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Dear Sally,

Thank you very much for your great comments. It was really nice to meet you and Sandra. We are really happy that you enjoyed the place and look forward to seeing you for a new holiday in Dubrovnik, We wish you all the best.

Kindest regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LesleyTay...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Dubrovnik base”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This apartment is perfect for your stay in Dubrovnik, it is close to the port of Gruz which has plenty of nice restaurants and you can catch a boat to do the elaphiti islands tour. The bus stop is just at the bottom of the steps from the Apartment.
The apartment is up to date and well equipped with everything you need for a weeks stay. It was lovely and clean.
There is a table and chairs outside in the garden for you to use. It is lovely and quiet and the bed is comfy.
There are supermarkets, bakeries and a pizzeria within a few minutes walk.
Matea is lovely and helpful and can give you any information you need.
We had a perfect week and would definitely recommend this apartment as a base away from the busier town centre which is easily accessible by bus (which takes 5-10 mins).
Only note of caution is that there are 200 steps up to the apartment from the port of Gruz so would not be suitable for someone with mobility problems.
We used Adria travel for shared transfers from the airport this cost 90 kn each on the way there and 75 kn each return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jul 2017
Dear Lesley & Andy,

Thank you very much for choosing the Secret Graden Apartment and for taking the time to write such a great review. We are very pleased that you stayed with us and also very glad you enjoyed the place and had a nice holiday in Dubrovnik.
Hoping to see you in the near future, we wish you all the best.

Kindest regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can't fault apartment it is top class”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Secret garden apartment in Cruz The owners are very good and helpful every thing is spotlessly clean. Once you master the busses you can easily to see every thing
. Can recommend boat trip to the islands the steps are a bit of a problem for older people but all in all we have enjoyed our stay



.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Dear Joe,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was really nice to meet you and Carole. We are really happy that you enjoyed the place and had a nice holiday.
We look forward to seeing you for a new holiday in Dubrovnik and wish you all the best.

Warm regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BellaGldb
Israel,Netania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Real relax”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I found this place in Airbnb and was in love with it from the first sight. It is located in Gruz, the port of Dubrovnik, very-very close to bus station, that will take you to the old town (10 minutes) .
It's ideal place to rest because everything is built for it: the charming house, garden, the owner is really helpful and so sweet, absolute silence, nice air....
You have to go to every place by stairs, but it's much-much easier, that I have imagined.
It's nice to walk in the port, there are several nice restaurants (we loved especially "Otto" and "Glorijet".)
The whole atmosphere is TO REST. Strongly recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the owner, the silence, cleanness,everything you want in the kitchen
Liked least: not available
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Dear Bella,

it was really nice to have you and your husband as our guests at the Secret Garden apartment.
I am so glad that you enjoyed the place and had a nice holiday in Dubrovnik. Thank you very much for your kind words and hope to see you again one day!

Warm regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h0ngk0ngp...
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just the job, and exactly as advertised - lovely.”
Reviewed 28 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Have just returned from a week in this apartment. The apartment was every bit as good as the photos suggest. We didn't get much time to use the garden because the nights have drawn in but can recommend going to Dubrovnik is October. It's a lot less crowded.

Matea was great too. She gave us a little advice and provided some practical information. She was available if required (living nearby) but also respected our privacy. We appreciated the little touches such as chocolates and indeed grapes & pomegranates from the garden.

As I said the apartment is per the pictures, it had everything we needed and was immaculately clean. Matea also offered a mid-stay bathroom clean / fresh towels.

The Gruz area of Dubrovnik is built on a hill, so there are some roads running horizontally I guess, following the length of the port (Gruz), there are also what you might call alleys - these have some pretty steep steps. The apartment is accessed from one of these.

We were keen on walking so 90% of the time we walked to the old town, which is about a 30 minute walk away. There a few ways to get there but we preferred going down to the port and then along a road running next to the sea. If walking is not your thing there's a bus stop at the foot of the steps (Hebranga 2). There are other bus stops (served by other buses) fairly nearby. The main bus station (not in the old town but rather in the port) is only about 10 - 15 minutes away. The bus routes / timetable can be a bit confusing - for instance the bus 8 which stops at Hebranga 2 is from the bus station (which means it's going towards the old town, rather than away from).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and quality of furnishings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2016
Dear Mark,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It was really nice to have you and Nadya as our guests at the Secret Garden Apartment.
We are really happy to know you enjoyed the place and had a nice holiday.
Hoping to see you in the near future, we wish you all the best.

Warm regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suraj S
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well equipped and well maintained apartment with excellent service”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Matea's apartment with our 2 kids aged 7 & 4. The apartment is furnished and in good decorative order. The big plus was a mid week clean of the apartment including the bathroom which was much appreciated. There are super markets and bus stops close to the apartment making it a convenient location. Mates and her sister are very friendly and we got good support in planning our trip and our stay at Dubrovnik.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Dear Suraj,

Thank you very much for your great review. It was really nice to have you and your family as our guests at the Secret Garden apartment.
We are happy that you enjoyed the place and had a nice holiday.
We wish you all the best.

Warm regards,
Matea
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing