We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”
Review of Hotel More

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel More
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed 10 October 2011

I stayed at the Hotel More for four days and thought it was great. The location was perfect for relaxing by the sea during the day and getting to the Old City at night when it turns magical. The room was large with a great bed and nice linens. The restaurant has an incredible view and the breakfast was everything you could want to start your day. The hotel is built on a hillside so space is a premium and they have to work with what they got. Ther is a full size gym in the hotel next door which you can use for a fee (what a great find that was). I thought the staff were nice and on the whole was one of the nicest hotels of my trip to Croatia and Spain.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    198
    47
    15
    5
See reviews for
110
564
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed at Hotel More in August during a trip with friends to Croatia. Overal very good experience:

Pros:
- Very nice bedroom (we stayed in one of the rooms with seaview - highly recommend)
- Tucked away from the Old Town tourist crowds - great for relaxing
- The restaurant has some beautiful views
- Very friendly staff and great infra-structure
- Fantastic bath tub by the pool - perfect to watch the sunset!

Watch outs:
- Don't expect a 5-star breakfast
- Very little space in the swimming pool and the deck area by the sea....so if you go during high season, you have got to get there early before everyone else does
- Due to some misunderstanding from the hotel staff, one of my friends did not have a room to stay....the hotel offered to put an extra bed in the room where my partner and I were staying, helpful, but not-ideal.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Eduburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel would be appropriate if you wish a weekend city break in dubrovnik where you are sightseeing all day and wish to return to somewhere quiet, clean and with comfortable beds. It is a 10 minute walk to the frequent bus into the old city (10 mins).

If you wish more of a pampering then this iis not the place. Service is poor in that while the staff are friendly and polite, there are just not enough of them and training is way below what is expected for 5 star ratings and prices. There seems to have been a tick-box approach to acheiving the 5 stars - yes, there is a gym - but it is a crosstrainer and a swiss ball: yes, there is a spa but only 1 member of staff (excellent masseuse) but who is not on site so requires forward planning if you wish an appointment: yes, there is a pool bar but it was never open.

Food is very poor - we had dinner only once and then ate in town. Casa, 2 minutes walk from the hotel, is good for a first day/just arrived alternative. Breakfast is adequate but erratic if you wish hot food cooked to order, and breakfast coffee is tepid instant.

Rooms are very much a mixed bag so choose carefully. We upgraded to a seaview and while it was fine, was absolutely tiny. Our 4th floor balcony had lovely open sea views but those on other floors were fully surrounded in iron bars - this gave shade but the appearance of a cage - look at the website to see this in the green frontage. Other rooms had a view of a large pit of broken concrete.

All in all, if this had been a 3 star, we would have been reasonably happy. However, ratings and prices are not justified on quality

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flying_rugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bucks
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This was our third hotel of our stay in Croatia and Montenegro.We had originally booked a sea view room but decided to upgrade to a junior suite, room 404 specifically, and received an email from one of the managers Robert Trpin confirming the room was available for our dates.
When we arrived around 2pm we were given all the information regarding the hotel by the receptionist and then she told us that they had no room available for for the first night.We had booked this hotel weeks in advance and also had the confirmation from the manager with us. We asked to see him but were told that he wasn't there.
Needless to say we were not happy. They said that for that night we were to go to one of their appartments instead...Just aswell we had a car as we then followed one of the staff to look at the appartment in question.
At this point I must mention that another reviewer on Tripadvisor had said that they were double booked at this hotel and moved to the appartments also. This reviewer however was delighted, so they say, to be there and decided not to go back to the hotel but stay where they were. All I will say is that we were there for approx. 5- 10 minutes before heading back to the hotel.
If you would prefer to stay somewhere claustrophic, even though there was plenty of space with lots of wood, small windows overlooking a superemarket,no working telephone and a dingy bathroom and not a glimpse of the sea.....it could be for you. The swimming pool that they mentioned was circular with some sort of a pillar in the middle,hence only about 3 or4 foot wide. It reminded us of what they use for horses that are recovering from injury ! Last but not least the attractive man in the string vest sitting outside.
On returning to the hotel, they then offered us a room at another hotel , again close to the supermarket,but better than the appartment. At this point we were so fed up we accepted even though it certainly was not anything like 5 star accommodation.
At this point we had been promised an executive suite for the remainder of holiday and told that we would only be charged 50% of the amount due re. upgrading from a sea view room to a junior suite, also 50 euros to spend at the hotel.
When we returned, looking forward to being in the executive suite, we realised that they had put us in yet another appartment. This one was far superior to the other but still not the suite we had been promised. We had been told that it was at the top of the hotel, the only room at that level they had said...they obviously forgot about the other two bedrooms there. The accommodation was good except for the fact that the air con was in the living room and did not make much difference to the stifling heat in the bedroom etc. They did give me a fan the next day.
The only other drawback is that you have to go out of the hotel,up two shortish flights of steps to your room. Fine if the weather is good, but they do sometimes have rain ......
In the end they did not charge at all for the upgrade and having just looked at the review by wf_duke who says that they had booked room 403 and were gived room 404 which we had booked... I wonder how often this happens at this hotel.
On the plus side, it is in a good location, the food is not brilliant but good enough, and most of the staff were very pleasant.

Room Tip: Suites have a jacuzzi on the balcony,brilliant way to cool down without having to go to the (small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LDSouthBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have spend there 5 days with my familly there were six of us and we have had really nice time staff have been helpfull and very nice, rooms were clean and spacius beach was next to the elevator=) it was really fun. Only one thing wich have been disturbing for me, food in the restaurant was rather poor and what was easy to see older waiters were using younger staff for their job and they were rather setteld on their position then intrested in making proper atmosphere and maybe work a bit harder so i highly recomend you hotel but if you want to eat something else then breakfest go somewhere, by the way on brekfasts there was always on very sypatique waitress witch name i have obviously forgot, but partialy im lucky she was the only girl, oh and the bar tenders where well trained and very attentive.

Room Tip: Take one with jacuzzi and view on the see
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ketepasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Not impressed when we first arrived to be told they had double booked our allocated room and been given one around the rear of the hotel overlooking the extractor fan from the kitchen and all the associated smells, not a good start. However, after expressing our appointment we were offered a complimentary dinner in the Hotel's main restaurant which was accepted, a nice gesture. We were told our room 303 would be available around 2.00pm next day. they rang around 11.00am to say it was now ready and they would move our stuff as soon as we liked. After that rather bad start things improved enormously, we were allocated a great twin room with nice balcony and great views over the Adriatic. The rest of the stay was faultless, the staff polite and helpful. Kristen our driver, Donka out waitress at breakfast not forgetting Vedran in the cave bar. all lovely and helpful staff well worth mentioning, thank you guys.

The hotel is clean and well run it has rather a small pool on the roof more like a foot bath but is not needed as the beach is much the place to while away the hours with a cool beer or two.
Although the weather was educationally hot 31 deg C whilst we were there the A/C in the rooms was silent and efficient and maintained a pleasant 22 degs C the whole time.

Breakfast was well presented lots of fresh fruits meats and yogurts available day together with an array of cooked food also.

We ate Dinner in the restaurant three evenings and had little to complain about regarding the
service we felt the Chef would benefit from a couple of days with Gordon Ramsey to polish his skills a little !!

Would we go again, yes of course we would. beautiful country very clean and tidy with heaps of history, makes the Tower of London look like Primart on speed. Just over two hours from the UK a real gem after over 50 years of travel I fail to understand how I missed it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Infraco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We arrived here relatively early in the morning having travelled overnight from Sarajevo. Consequently, we must have looked a bit grimy but the staff were very friendly and professional. We had requested room 403 and got room 404, complete with balcony and hot tub over looking the Adriatic. The hotel is built on a cliff. The bar is built in a cave and is right beside the sea. Good rooms, lovely food, great location. I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 403 and 404 each have hot tubs on the balcony. Room 403 gets more sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wf_duke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 67 in Dubrovnik
604 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,453 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
3.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 67 in Dubrovnik
782 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 67 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Property: Hotel More
Address: K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel More 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel More is an exclusive five-star boutique hotel situated in the Bay of Lapad, one of the most beautiful locations on the area of the City of Dubrovnik. The hotel view of calming green pines, of Mediterranean vegetation abundant with colors and scents, of the glaring azure sea, of rocky cliffs - those eternal stone guards and memorable sunsets, will astonish any traveler and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing