We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the better hotels in Dubrovnik but a little out of the way and needs some improvement ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel More

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel More
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“One of the better hotels in Dubrovnik but a little out of the way and needs some improvement ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed at the Hotel More (pronounced as "More-Re") in late October 2011 for 3 nights. Dubrovnik is a lovely town with a beautiful walled old town and fast developing (though less pretty) new areas. Situated just by the Adriatic Sea, the scenery is lovely and relaxing. However, the hordes of tourists sometimes makes it a bit difficult to appreciate the beauty of this small city.

The Hotel More is situated in an area that is more residential and it takes a 15-20 minute bus ride to the main old town area (a UNESCO Heritage site and a must-see). The hotel itself is relatively modern but could do with some upgrading, in particular, Wifi access in the rooms, better flat screen TVs and firmer beds. Other than that, the premises and housekeeping are generally what you might expect of a typical 4 star hotel. The restaurant food is pretty average so if I were you, I'd hop on a bus and go to the old town for a better (and cheaper) selection of food there.

The pool is very small though and many of the rooms do not have a sea view, so if you are fussy about that, do make sure you reserve the correct room / suite in advance and have it documented.

The hotel does provide transport (at a fee) between the facility and the airport (which is very helpful).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SingaporeGuy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    188
    44
    13
    5
See reviews for
108
530
25
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

What a great combination! Great customer service and great facilities! From the very first had a "homely" feeling with a high level of comfort. My highest level of recommendation is that we had planned to use the hotel as a base for exploring the Dubrovnik region - and it is great for that - but The More was so welcoming, relaxing and comfortable (and wonderful views) that we spent virtually all our time there!

All the meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) were very good, the service attentive (but unobtrusive), and the rooms, clean, well proportioned and well decorated. Although the hotel was full, because it is split over 7 levels (built on the side of a cliff) and the facilities are are different levels (spa, Jacuzzi, cave bar, etc), there was never a feeling of being crowded - in fact it was surprising to see how many people were staying there when we met everyone at dinner! What was also welcome was that the guests themselves seemed to appreciate the tranquility of the hotel and all fell into the "spirit" of the place.

Finally, and most importantly, a brief word about the staff: they really made the place what it is! The level of customer service was superb and no request was insignificant, whether it was at the front desk or the General Manager Ivo Sabljic (who we had the pleasure to meet - a man driven by quality of service!).

If you are visiting the Dubrovnik area, I cannot recommend The More highly enough!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Monika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

Given that we travelled to Dubrovnik at the end of October, the hotel seemed quite quiet (no bad thing!) Every aspect of this hotel was utterly fabulous. The staff were attentive and pleasant, the food (we had lunch on arrival and breakfast every day) was excellent, and the facilities in the rooms couldn't be faulted. Both the rooms and bathrooms were spotless.

The location of the hotel was great as it's only a short walk to catch the no.6 bus (which terminates at the gates of the Old City). Being a few kms from the Old City affored us the tranquility of being "far from the madding crowd" whilst, as stated, allowing easy access to the heart of the city.

The "Cave Bar" has to be seen to be believed, and the fact that it offers easy access to the Adriatic (it's about 20 metres from the sea) is also most welcome!

I couldn't fault the hotel, from beginning to end of our break, every member of our party had an incredible time. I would stay nowhere else in Dubrovnik.

Room Tip: The upgrade to 803 was very welcome. An apartment with, for us, the best view in the house. Views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed 4 days at The More and would have loved even more.....! Room was spacious, beds very comfortable, bathroom was huge and wonderful, lovely sea view from the balcony (sunsets and colours were magnificent!). One other thing that I loved about the hotel was the smell! Don't know whether it was from the spa in the hotel or if they sprayed something, but it was great! Also loved the fact that you could walk out of the Cave Bar (or down the stairs) onto the deck/patio area and hop right into the Adriatic Sea for a swim - fantastic! The water was as blue and clear as you could imagine! The access on the #6 bus into Dubrovnik was great (loved the old town area). Could go on and on, but will just say that I highly recommend the More and would definitely stay there again (if and when I get back to Croatia - hopefully one day!)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JadoreParis10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

Our stay at Hotel More was wonderful. All staff were fantastic and the food fresh with great service. I would not hesitate to recommend Hotel More to anyone visiting Dubrovnik. The Cave .Bar and entrance to swimming in the Adriatic was a wonderful surprise and quite unexpected. Dubrovnik has a lot to offer and is a great value for money experience. Getting around was fun and easy, casual bus transport or a private driver, nothing was too much trouble to arrange. We did a one day drive to Kortula and then the next day to Mostar. Absolutely a bargain with a private driver, a lovey well informed and polite man. The Old Town is an experience in itself, we had the worlds best ever pizza at Castro, amazing.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sulifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

We spent 4 nights in the old town before moving out to Lapad and booked into The More Hotel.
We were fortunate to stay in a suit (room 601). The room was amazing but was eclipsed by the service we received. In particular, Nicolina and Mrs Irida, made us feel so welcome at 'at home'. Our stay would not have been the same same without their touch.
The More Hotel is small but perfectly formed. The rear is south west facing so there are spectacular sun sets. The cave bar is quaint but we thought it looked better in the photos that in real life.
The restaurant is good but the menu becomes a bit restrictive after a few days stay.
we had visited other hotels, Excelsior etc before booking the hotel More and I can assure you that this Hotel was far superior the those with much higher rankings. The other all seemed far more corporate and had less soul than the Hotel More.
I would highly recommend the Hotel More!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FeargalScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Dear friends at the More Hotel
Thank you for making our vacation so wonderful !!

We have just returned from a wonderful relaxing week vacation in Dubrovnik.
We were 2 adults and a child . Dubrovnik can proudly be considered as a paradise in terms of tourism . No, no white sandy beaches or palm trees but certainly relaxing atmosphere , excellent kitchen ,and all other places of interest are very attractive.
We came almost off season ( 2nd week of October) and have started our vacation staying in hotel which is ranked 5 stars but certainly do not qualify it.
We have decided to look for an alternative and in a rainy night we went to inspect the More hotel which was one of the choices we looked at before departing to Croatia.
The bellboy which was also receptions on duty welcomed us with a big smile and was very courtiers .
He gladly took us around , showed us the hotel and it's facilities and was very helpful. We have decided to move to the More hotel the next day.
It turned to be the smartest decision we have taken, apart from going to vacation in Dubrovnik .
The hotel is beautiful !!! The hotel is clean !!! the hotel is like a small jewelry box !!
It is located in a quiet neighborhood on the slops of a hill , lots of green trees around with a majestic view of the bay . It's lower floor is basically touching the Turquoise water with a bar built in a cave by the water.
The room we got (602) has a sea view and was very specious with ample space for 3 people and our suitcases.
It has a bath with Jacuzzi and a shower .By the way the view from the bathroom is breathtaking.
The staff in the reception (throughout the day) was very friendly and hospitable.
They took care and spent time to help us in planning our daily trips .
Food is very good. We had 2 dinners at the hotel and all were delicious
The fact the hotel has an open kitchen where you can see the kitchen staff cooking is a very attractive.
The dining room has a terrace which is overlooking the bay and this obviously makes breakfast or any other meal even tastier.
We have noticed that the staff cleans the hotel frequently .
Elevators corridors as well as other public areas are spotless. Maintenance in its best.
The hotel's location is ideal. If you decide to use public transportation, which is very efficient and frequent , the bus stop (bus #6) is only10 minutes walk from the hotel and 5 bus stops ride to the old city.
There is some parking space for cars by the hotel as well.
Price wise it was cheaper than our initial hotel and it worth any cent we spent there.
We will certainly be back at this hotel in our next vacation .As a hotelier, working in a deluxe hotel, and as a family members who travel frequently we strongly recommend you to book the More hotel .
You will not regret it !!!.

Room Tip: The better rooms are with the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,402 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,821 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Property: Hotel More
Address: K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel More 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel More is an exclusive five-star boutique hotel situated in the Bay of Lapad, one of the most beautiful locations on the area of the City of Dubrovnik. The hotel view of calming green pines, of Mediterranean vegetation abundant with colors and scents, of the glaring azure sea, of rocky cliffs - those eternal stone guards and memorable sunsets, will astonish any traveler and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing