We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel”
Review of Hotel More

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel More
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed at hotel More 3 days in August and it was great. We have booked a standard double with garden view room, and it fulfilled our expectations (we were sightseeing our whole stay). The staff is very attentive, especially at the reception where we booked transfers and one excursion. We had only one meal at the restaurant and it was really good, and we were lucky to have a reservation. Overall a very pleasant experience, a crown of our holiday in Croatia.

Room Tip: Standard double with garden view are very good rooms, and if one wishes to have and ocean view it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

752 - 758 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2012

I'll been all over Croatia and in lots of hotels but Dubrovnik and hotel More is the absolutley best I visit. Food in the restorant and coctails in the cave bar are just delicius. All personel is very kind and carefull...

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaeleuuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We didnt stay at the hotel but we did visit the cave bar and the restaurant. Cave bar was a welcome from the hot midday sun (nice temperature inside) pleasant staff and relaxing music all inside a hidden treasure. The Resataurant on the other hand was sophistication and an apsolute delight to dine in, with a wide choice of very tasty and temping food and wine we had a fabulous 3 course meal with bottle of wine. The food was well presented, well cooked and the best we had in our stay in Croatia. I would highly recommend a visit even if its a little out of the way.

superb.

Room Tip: Book a table for an evening sitting that way guarentee a fantastic view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amberwizard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Like other travellers seem to have experienced we had to move to another (nowhere near as nice) hotel for the first night which I was really disappointed about. Only due to complaining were we compensated with a lovely suite for the next two nights. The hotel is lovely and relaxing on the beach there was great, however the management are hideous. They were condescending and made us feel like we had no right to complain. I have never met such horrid people.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucyleek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed here for 4 days as part of our honeymoon. Went all out and booked one of their junior suites. Very impressive suite - large living room with hallway between it and large bedroom, plus good sized bathroom. No separate shower in there - it was in the bath (unusual for a 5-star place).

Air con worked well and the different unit in each room meant you could let the unit in the living room cool the suite without having to listen to its motor humming while you slept in the bedroom.

Jacuzzi on the balcony, which overlooked the vacant site next door and on to the sea. Two chairs but no sun-loungers out there - Not sure why and I'm sure they would have brought us a couple of we wanted. Only improvement I can think of for this particular suite (404) would be for privacy glass to be erected on one side of the balcony as it was overlooked by the access road (further up the hill) and the reception area of the hotel (also above you). I'd imagine this has not been done as it would further restrict the already-limited view a lot of the other rooms further into the block have of the sea.

Staff were all very professional and had very good English. Restaurant was good and breakfast had a great selection of food.

The hotel's private bathing area is a concrete platform with a ladder into the sea - it's actually better than it sounds! It is a fantastic bonus, as the other hotels' beaches further around the peninsula (e.g. Hotel President?) were just full of kids packed in like sardines and screaming like their lives depended on it. Hotel More was an oasis in comparison!

Hotel More has a pool and a jacuzzi on the 5th floor but the pool is pretty small. And given the beautiful water in the sea and the private bathing area, we never felt the need to use the pool

One recommendation if you are visiting Dubrovnik and thinking about staying in Lapad area or staying in the old town - I would recommend Lapad. Accommodation nearer the old town is more expensive and/or low quality (for various reasons, we experienced 4 different places during our stay!). Many fellow tourists we met while in Croatia agreed that the old town is expensive for what you get and during the day, the place is full of day-trippers, cruise line passengers etc. Lapad gives you beaches, relaxation, beautifully clear water and a nice sea breeze, and yet you're only a bus/taxi or 30 minute walk from the old town. Any bus tours you find online departing from Dubrovnik (e.g. to go to Mostar / Medjugorje etc) all tend to have pickups in Lapad anyway (don't assume the internet is the only place you can find tours - there are LOADS of options once you get there).

If you need to arrange a transfer to another location after your stay (for us, we needed to get to Montenegro), the tour operators will allow you take one of their day-trips to these places and just not come back! Cheaper than a taxi, and you get a guided tour of your destination before you take your bags off the bus! Worked really well for us at the time. The bonus for us was there was a tour operator working in the shop of Hotel More so we didn't even have to leave the building to arrange this. But there are a lot of other tour operators with offices along the main Lapad promenade (and of course in the old town itself).

And if you are planning to go onward to the islands (e.g. Korcula, Hvar, Brac), the docks where the ferries depart from are nearer to Lapad.

Room Tip: The hotel reception is on the top floor and the restaurant / terrace is on floor 1 or 2. Try to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Weekender32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Upon arrival at this hotel late on Sunday evening, we were told there was a "computer malfunction". Around 20 minutes later we were told that there was no room available for us that night. However, they did manage to organise a night in another hotel which was very nice. We found out from another English couple staying at the same time that the same happened to them. We were given complimentary massages, a panoramic tour, and 50 euros to spend at the hotel as recompense. However, upon arriving back at the hotel on Monday morning, we had to wait another 30 minutes for our room to be ready (we'd been told it would be ready for us whenever we arrived on Monday morning) so essentially we wasted the whole of Monday morning.

The staff are very pleasant and helpful.

When you walk into the reception area it doesn't feel like you're walking into a 5 star hotel, although it is perfectly clean and functional.

Avoid the "garden view" at all costs. This is a complete joke. We had a view of a concrete wall opposite that was stained. If you wish to book at this hotel then make sure you get the sea view which is indeed very nice.

The hotel serves lovely food in the evenings and the breakfast is fine.

When you arrive in your room (eventually) there is a selection of fruit and a bottle of wine awaiting you. This is a nice touch. However, there is nowhere to drink your wine except your room. Fine if you have the sea view. We took the wine downstairs to sit by the water front, only to be told we couldn't drink it there (there is a hotel bar nearby) because of "house rules" whatever that means. Likewise when we took it upstairs in the hotel. So, our only recourse was to sit on our beds and drink it or sit on the small balcony and look at our "garden" view.

Room Tip: Sea view and **Not** garden view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoddy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We did not stay at the hotel, but we frequently went to The Cave Bar. The staff were lovely and the bar was great. We loved sitting inside the cave and also outside looking out to sea. The inside is much bigger than it looks with lots of great sitting spaces over many floors. The cave has been done out to create a great and relaxing space. We liked it so much we went there loads of times. The prices were really reasonable and there was no pressure to keep buying loads of drinks, we could just sit there with a cocktail or a cup or tea and play cards, or listening to music and chatting. Really lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AstraUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,996 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Address: K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £72 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel More 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel More is an exclusive five-star boutique hotel situated in the Bay of Lapad, one of the most beautiful locations on the area of the City of Dubrovnik. The hotel view of calming green pines, of Mediterranean vegetation abundant with colors and scents, of the glaring azure sea, of rocky cliffs - those eternal stone guards and memorable sunsets, will astonish any traveler and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing