We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing in Luxury”
Review of Hotel More

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel More
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Hotel More is situated on a cliff side overlooking the Adriatic. The views across the bay are beautiful, nothing but clear blue sea then forest covered cliffs and small islands peppering the coastline.
Our room on the 5th floor was great with tasteful decor, air conditioning, jacuzzi bath and power shower. Along the corridor through the patio doors is the outside jacuzzi and the swimming pool area, the only downside is the lack of sun beds and sunbathing space - although during our visit there was no problem. The restaurant is down on floor zero where breakfast is buffet style with more choice than you could ever wish for. We had dinner in the restaurant once and it was delicious if a little expensive. The cave bar is set into the cliff and opens out directly on to the water. As we visited at the end of April the hotel was not full so there was always plenty of places to sit at the cave bar and the swimming pool but during the high season there would not have been enough seating or sun beds.
All in all this was one of the most relaxing short breaks I have experienced. The hotel staff are very helpful, the views are second to none and the rooms very well appointed. If I was trying to find fault it would be that there was no kettle in our room and the cave bar stopped serving drinks at 10pm.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a sea view but as the view from the restaurant, cave bar, reception bar and the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,031)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 1,031 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2013

My wife and I have just spent a week in the More Hotel. Wonderfully located- the view from our room was beautiful. Our room was excellent/ v v clean/ v comfortable/ spacious.
Food was excellent and a wide choice dining was inside or outside with that view! All the staff were v friendly ,courteous and nothing was the slightest trouble. The Cave bar" was an entertaining engineering wonder.
Furthermore Dubrovnik must be the cleanest city that I have ever been to .A treat!
We will definitely go back to this hotel.
David and Geraldine

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a sea view then make sure that you do sit and soak it in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kingo1DublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

This hotel is a real treasure...on arrival we were greeted so warmly,the staff couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating...we had 3 women in our party and had been worried about the sleeping arrangements in one room...we needn't have worried the family room they allocated to us was wonderful...2 adjoining rooms..big doubles that could split into twins and 2 bathrooms..heaven!! A shower with so many gizmos and gadgets that I don't think we ever worked it out properly and a jacuzzi bath that had a mind of its own but all beautifully clean and fresh. The view was disappointing from the balcony but we decided the room was more important as the terrace bar and cave bar areas were delightful and the views from there were to die for.. The restaurant food was very good although as it was a quiet time of year it was a little lacking in atmosphere but very reasonably priced compared to the local restaurants. Likewise the wine...try the local wine ..in the hotel it was great and a good price but very variable and distinctly unappetising in town....we asked for a taster each time before we ordered and that solved the problem...Greek salad at the hotel far surpassed all others we tried too!! The best thing about the trip was the lovely people..everyone from the taxi driver who collected us and then arranged our return trip as well to the wonderful night manager who rescued us when we got locked out of the hotel late one evening..thank you so much Tony!! A word of warning there..we had missed all the signs to say the lower gates were shut after 10 pm so be aware that the hotel is 7 floors high and it is a long walk back to find steps up to the the road that leads to the top of the hotel and reception. Don't be put off though ...The cave bar is absolutely gorgeous and well worth a look....not much activity at this time of year but in the summer it would be a fantastic cool haven. Leaving the hotel to go into Dubrovnik- Get the No 6 bus from the end of the promenade ..10 minutes walk from the hotel and for 12 kuna you can get into the old town...buy the tickets in the ticket booth or the newspaper stand as it is 18 Kuna on the bus..all tickets last for 1 hour but for 30 Kuna you can get a 24 hour pass..goes exactly 24 hours from the time you bought it so could span 2 days if you are organised! The old town is a must ...as is the cable car...walking the walls is 90 Kuna and the cable car is 95 Kuna..both are well worth the money....Dubrovnik is lovely and the Hotel is a real gem...pool small but you can swim in the sea as the weather improves...watch the sunset from the jacuzzi.. Will be going back and next time will have a sea view room and take my husband....

Room Tip: Family rooms face the back of the hotel..ie rocks so go for a sea view if you can...even those witho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Alis0n16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have just got back from an amazing long weekend at hotel More. We had never been to Croatia before but wanted somewhere to celebrate our wedding anniversary and our first time away on our own without our little girl. The hotel is about 4km out of the old town but you can easily walk (10mins) to a bus stop and get the number 6 bus into the old town. It costs 12-15 kuna so quite reasonable and they are every 15 mins. They do get a bit busy at peak times but definitely better than the taxi as they can range between 70-145 kuna which is really expensive given the length of journey! The city walls and cable car were fantastic and worth going back to the old town at night for the atmosphere (and gelato!). The hotel knew it was our anniversary and provided sparkling wine and upgraded our room to a deluxe suite. The good impression of the hotel started as soon we were collected by Kristian at the airport. He was there to greet us and was very professional as well as providing useful information for our stay. The room was amazing, with a fantastic view and the hot tub on the balcony was great. Sitting in the hot tub with sparkling wine watching the sunset we thought life could not get any better! The cave bar was also spectacular, so creative with holes in the walls for the wine bottles and an amazing cavern at one side. It was a tough decision whether to sit inside the cave or sit on the terrace and watch the boats going past. Our only negative was that we ate in the restaurant one night and they got the wrong order which we highlighted, they took it away to replace but it meant that rather than enjoying the meal together we ate separately. When the replacement main came this was also incorrect, there are two similar dishes on the menu! I think the mix up was a combination of forgetting and translating but it was disappointing and they should really check the order and write it down to avoid confusion. We did note that we were disappointed and they took some money off the bill. It was a shame as the food was very good! This was only a minor hiccup in an otherwise outstanding experience. The staff were all excellent and extremely helpful, particularly those on reception and the cave bar. We have stayed in lots of nice hotels but this is definitely in our top few because of the quality and experience of the rooms and the excellent staff. We are already planning when we can come back with the whole family! Thank you!

Room Tip: Deluxe suite, room 803 if you want to splurge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wallsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We arrived on April 18th 2013.

POSITIVE things about the hotel:
The views from reception, restaurant, pool area, sun-deck & jaccuzzi are amazing! (see photos)
The view from most rooms is also breathtaking.
There is a very special bar down in a cave, that opens up to a terrace just next to the sea (on sea level) where you can swim and sit and sip cocktails etc.
The hotel staff is VERY friendly, polite and service minded.
The dinners in the A la Carte are very tasty and well presented.
All food and drinks have great value - we were there off season so it was Very cheap in comparison to other European places, especilly considering it's a 5*.

NEGATIVE things about the hotel:
We hadn't chosen a room with a seaview and as I had read here on TripAd the "gardenview" have a quite depressing view of concrete walls, a tree or two, and your neighbours. Fortunately this only affects a handful of rooms.
There is no "wow-factor" to the standard rooms - to me they feel like a clear 4* as supposed to 5*, even considering this is a charter destination (where standards are always lower than say in a capital city).
This also goes for the quality of table cloths, ash trays, etc in the Cave Bar. Cocktails are served in clumsy glasses with big starwer that just gives a very cheap impression. No flair that normally comes with 5*.
Same thing goes for the breakfast when yoghurts come in cheaply supermarket packaging, as mostof the jam, etc. The selection isn't great.

OTHER INFO
The hotel is located a short (nice) 5min promande walk from the local centre, where one can take the bus to the old town (€2) or take a taxi €15. Old town is MAD busy May-Sept, so we thought it was nice to stay a little away from it, with "our own little promenade" to get back to...
Dubrovnik (and apparently all of Croatia) is UNREAL clean. No cigarette buds or candy wrappers to be found anywhere. Passing the bay just next to our hotel one morning there were 6 divers slowly swimming along the bottom of the sea. We all figured something or somebody was missing, but it turned out that they were there to pick up glass bits & (the little) garbage that might be in the water for the coming bathing season...!

In old town you really need to take the city wall tour - a great way to see the views and get a limpse into te locals lifestyle and housing (and find out what the current underwear style is - laundry is hanging on display everywhere ;)
We took the cable car but founf it to be a bit of a waste, especially if you're planning to take the City Wall Walk.

There are some amazing restaurants around, but after having spent 13 yrs travelling around the world Restaurant "360" at the East Gate (Ploce gate) has ended up on my Top 3 Restaurant in the World lists. Just an absolutely magical setting, great ambiance, service and food. (Pricey indeed, but there is a weekly 3 course menu which is very good value)

Enjoy the little Mediterranian gem that is Dubrovnik!


* I am a Swede, my husband is Irish and we are 35 yrs old, living in Stockholm. We are very well travelled and have a lot of experience of hotels of all sorts of quality (I have woked in the hospitallity industry many year).
We came to this hotel with the charter company called AirTours, and it was a last minute trip for 4 days, flights, transfer, room and breakfast included for a total of 7200 sek for the two of us = €845. (Mind you the Swedish Kronor are very strong towards the Euro at the moment so it would be more like €700 for someone who earns a Euro salary in say Ireland, Germany or Spain).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AnnaLee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This hotel was the perfect choice for relaxation. The staff were excellent, friendly, personal and nothing was a problem. The views from the front of the hotel are stunning, a little piece of paradise. The cave bar is worth a visit and there is an excellent choice of food for breakfast in the main restaurant. It was an excellent base to travel into the old town of Dubrovnik and to enjoy the nearby restaurants. We stayed a week in early April and had a perfect holiday, the weather was really pleasant. Many thanks Hotel More for making our holiday an unforgettable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Clifford Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of April and had the best of times. The hotel is lovely and has everything we needed for the perfect holiday, lovely room, great food, enjoyed a fab massage. The best thing about the hotel for me was how attentive the staff were, especially the reception staff, they really were delightful and nothing was too much trouble for them, a BIG thank you from me to them.

Room Tip: Check what view your room has in advance and be clear about what you are booking as the first room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank samuel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,999 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Address: K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £71 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel More 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel More is an exclusive five-star boutique hotel situated in the Bay of Lapad, one of the most beautiful locations on the area of the City of Dubrovnik. The hotel view of calming green pines, of Mediterranean vegetation abundant with colors and scents, of the glaring azure sea, of rocky cliffs - those eternal stone guards and memorable sunsets, will astonish any traveler and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing