We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, but a shuttle would be nice”
Review of Hotel More

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel More
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Hotel More is a beautiful hotel with amazing views and very friendly and helpful staff. We were given a room with a breathtaking view on the 1st floor for our honeymoon. It was a very nice touch to have a big white bow on the door and a bottle of very good champagne with a personal note in the room. Our view was so nice we didn't leave the room except for dinner for our first day! Our room had a jacuzzi tub, which was nice, although there was no way of turning the jets off from the tub; the switch was next to the light switch just outside of the bathroom, which I thought was strange. The hotel also has a hot tub outside, which I prefer, but when I went one night it was emptied.

The bathroom was nice and the shower was just great with good water pressure and hot water. The towels were also nice and fluffy and a good size, a rarity in many hotels. Unfortunately, this hotel suffers from making the same assumptions as other hotels and never left us an adequate number of towels, so every night we had to call for extra towels. One big problem with the bathroom, though, was the lighting. There is no lighting over the mirror, and the overall lighting is pretty dismal. The fan in the bathroom also seemed to turn itself on randomly. The toiletries were abundant, but pretty low quality. I was very thankful to have my own.

The room also came with robes and slippers, and the slippers came in very handy on the 12-hour flight home! The hotel also provides a local cell phone--a nice touch! The cave bar is also very cool and we had a drink there one night.

The breakfast was OK, although the only tea they had was the equivalent of a lipton tea bag (no green tea) and they seem to put the tea bag in far in advance so by the time I got my tea it was very bitter. We did try the restaurant for dinner on our first night was were sadly disappointed. The restaurant is insanely expensive (as well as everything else in Dubrovnik--be warned), and the food was pretty mediocre. I'm always most excited about dessert, and couldn't wait to try the local creme caramel specialty. But it was awful. It was way too eggey. I think it was only the second time in my life where I didn't finish my dessert.

My main complaints were the beds and the location. The king bed was actually two twin beds pushed together and separately made--separate sheets, separate twin-size blankets, etc. Considering we were on our honeymoon, this made snuggling pretty difficult. The location is great for the sea views, but quite a distance away from Old City and not very easy to get to. The hotel told us to wait for the #5 bus down the road and that the bus came every 20 minutes or so. We waited and waited and waited. After wasting about 45 minutes waiting for the bus, the staff from the hotel behind the bus stop told us that the bus was not running on that route anymore. I was so frustrated with wasting so much time we just grabbed the taxi that was dropping someone off there. Considering the distance, a shuttle between the hotel and Old City would be a great touch. We were also unaware of a great promenade with lots of restaurants just steps from our hotel on the beach side (and by beach, I don't mean beach--there is no real beach at the hotel itself). No one at the front desk mentioned this and we found it accidentally. But we were glad we did find it as we had one of our best meals at Konavoka just down the street!

Overall, a great hotel in a fairly inconvenient location. A shuttle would be a nice addition. And to reiterate, Dubrovnik is pretty insanely expensive--not at all what I was expecting. And since it's such a tourist town, there is a lot of nickel and diming and price gouging. Expect to see a lot of "table setting" charges and cover charges for bread and that kind of thing.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Amyj1276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was booked through a travel agent so when we were given room 801 we were surprised with a partial seaview from our window running down side of the room. A free upgrade??? Not so sure as it was a beautiful view BUT also the access walkway for the other 2 rooms on this floor, as well as any randoms looking for reception which was actually below us.Therefore as a matter of privacy & security we had to keep both the curtain & window shut for our 2 night stay. As the weather was windy the flapping awning outside the window was quite noisy. No view...no fresh air. As we were here for a sightseeing trip, not a 'sea break' it didn't matter as the rest of the hotel features ticked our boxes. Lovley breakfast, attentative staff ect. I just warn other travellers that are being advised on TA to upgrade to seaview, not to accept 801 if it has cost you extra.

Room Tip: If you pay extra for seaview don't accept 801.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWilk0s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Perfect spot for a short break after a long, cold, winter ... room 401 has stunning views and a jacuzzi on the terrace; seaview room is essential or you will miss out. Staff are all very helpful and friendly, location is stunning ..... breakfast with a view, lunch on the water's edge with a view, pool (not very large - good for a cooling dip) with a view. Good bus link to Old Dubrovnik and some excellent restaurants just along the clifftop path from the hotel - try the one at Villa Woolf. Watch out for sea urchins on the rocks - painful! Room very comfortable with mini bar, whirlpool bath, TV etc - the only minus point was no tea/coffee making facilities in the room. We would definitely go back

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carinix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I'm so glad I paid the extra for a seaview as my room was lovely and the view spectacular. The hotel restaurant overlooked the sea and although the food was nice, there were better places locally to eat. The pool, jacuzzi and sun terraces were all added extras to a lovely hotel that was relaxing' quiet and very clean. It was a short walk along the prom to shops, restaurants, bars and the bus stop to take you to the old town. If you want a little bit of luxury and peace and quiet then this is the hotel for you. Croatia itself is a very beautiful scenic country where the people are very friendly. I have already checked out prices to return at the end of the season.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
4  Thank srobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

arrived around 1130 and the room was ready however we had booked a BRITISH AIRWAYS holiday with a seaview...room 504 is a partial seaview thru trees.the staff were very helpful and we were able to move the following day to room 103..above the restaurant with an amazing view.it was my birthday and we received a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine which was fabulous and very kind.the swimming pool is on level 5 and another amazing view from there,it is small but adequate and sumbeds are fine.
the breakfast is a great buffet of fresh fruit,toast ,fresh bread,cakes,cheese,meats,croissants.there are hot scrambled eggs and sausages.we ordered omelettes which were delicious.
we even had sparkling wine for breakfast, fab way to start the day.
the cave bar is amazing,and you can walk dwn from there onto the front where there are sunbeds,steps into the sea.it was warm too.you can sit at tables and order drinks and food.
it is in an ideal spot,walk along the promenade down 5 mins to bars and restaurants on a pedestrian street and at the end is the no.6 busstop.it takes 10mins to the outside of the city walls perfect and 15kunas each way.they run late in the evening so its easy and they are every 15mins.
would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This hotel ticks every box - outstanding service, outstanding facilities, outstanding views, comfortable and practical rooms and easy access to nearby facilities.

I arranged an airport pick up direct through the hotel - same price as a taxi but someone is there to meet you on arrival.

Reception staff were friendly, informative and always willing to assist.

Breakfast was plentiful and of very good quality. Waiting staff always available when needed and friendly.

Ocean view rooms have amazing views and the balcony is the perfect place to relax with an evening drink as the sun goes down.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. While I have not stayed at any other properties in Dubrovnik, others would be hard pressed to provide a better overall experience.

Room Tip: Ocean view - well worth the additional cost. Corner room with private spa a particular advantage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kevinpng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Hotel More (say mor-uh) is built over a cave, which made it newsworthy when constructed. Very nice place. Hope that you get Christina and Christian at the front desk - they are the best. The beach terrace is an outstanding place to sit and have a drink. But be sure you get a room with a view of the Adriatic. Ours was pleasant but lacked a view, and we wished for the sea. The pool is excellent, but watch out for drunk Aussies. Like most hotel restaurants, the food is average and the prices high. Instead, walk down the street to the Atlantic and have a great meal for reasonable money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozarkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.4 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#11 of 68 in Dubrovnik
983 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
793 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
857 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,999 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Address: K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#8 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £73 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel More 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel More is an exclusive five-star boutique hotel situated in the Bay of Lapad, one of the most beautiful locations on the area of the City of Dubrovnik. The hotel view of calming green pines, of Mediterranean vegetation abundant with colors and scents, of the glaring azure sea, of rocky cliffs - those eternal stone guards and memorable sunsets, will astonish any traveler and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing