We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and staff. Attention to detail at breakfast is needed though.”
Review of Hotel More

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel More
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed for a week in October. The weather was very good and we could still swim in the sea, which was pleasant and refreshing. The swimming pool is small and was too cold at this time of year to swim in, although the area around it was nice for sunbathing and I did enjoy going in the jacuzzi.

We had a very nice bedroom overlooking the sea.The bed was comfortable and we slept very well. The bathroom was well equipped and we were very pleased with our accommodation. It was cleaned thoroughly each day.There was a super balcony from which to watch the endless stream of large cruise ships, to enjoy drinks or sunbathe on the sunbed. The sunset was a daily highlight.

Breakfasts were a bit hit or miss and I feel it is in this area they really need to pay more attention. Plates were cold and food was not kept hot enough in the bain marie. I would go as far as to say that the cooked food, e.g. fried ham, sausages, etc. was kept at an unsafe temperature. I complained about this and staff always ensured I had a warm plate after, or I asked for one, but these were not out for everyone, and there was no improvement in the temperature of the food. Sometimes food had been sitting a long time at barely lukewarm temperatures. The scrambled eggs out every day were sometimes pleasant, but often overcooked, dry and cold. You could request eggs cooked specially and I did ask for poached eggs one day, but they were so vinegary and watery, I didn't repeat the experience. The waiting staff was excellent. They were always polite and helpful and very friendly. I liked them all very much. Vedran brought warm cups and saucers for us for our coffee, which helped keep it hot.

We were staying half board and the criticisms I make of breakfast do not extend to the dinners, which I shall review under Restaurant More. The dinners were excellent.

The Cave Bar was popular with passers-by but we didn't use it much as we liked being out in the sun. The staff from the bar services the area by the sea though and we sat there often during the day drinking coffee, beer or the occasional cocktail.

I had a massage in the Wellness Centre. You need to book the treatments a day in advance as it is only open for appointments. You make the appointments at reception. The massage was very professional and was a good experience.

Overall, we were very happy at Hotel More but I have deducted one "star", as I think they need to improve the breakfasts.

Room Tip: We had a standard double room with a sea view and balcony. It was worth asking specifically for a se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny_McCullough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

Although we arrived to find there had been an overbooking -After free drinks we were whisked to the 5*Dubrovnik Palace where we had lovely cocktails,a meal overlooking the sea and a good nights sleep.
The following morning after breakfast we were whisked back around the bay to the Hotel More. Nikolina on reception couldn't have been more apologetic and offered us a room upgrade,free massages and a bottle of wine.We ate in the hotel restuarant,food superb with attentive service from Vladimir.
Cocktails were fabulous in the Cave Bar and Monica ,the masseur destressed us perfectly.
Taxis into the Old Town were relatively cheap and as we shared the Hotel's car with another couple back to the airport it worked out at approx £15.00 per couple.
Rector's palace was disappointing(especially if you are a National Trust member-we are spoilt in the UK)-Maritime musuem,however very interesting.The walk round the walls can be hard going -lots of steps and route now anticlockwise (so reverse guidebook descriptions)

Room Tip: seaview worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent 3 days here and found the hotel to be a very relaxing place. it is a bit of a walk to the nearest bus stop to take you into the old city, but the views on the sea are wonderful.
Breakfast is good and the location on the water is very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We booked Hotel More for our honeymoon. Brilliant views, good food and great location. Sitting outside the Cave Bar, watching the sun go down next to sea with a cold beer or wine is what you go on holiday for. Rooms very clean. We arrived late and were given room on 1st floor which we were disappointed with as it was directly above the restaurant. They moved us next day to the 3rd floor where is was quiet with superb sea views. Would recommend this Hotel to couples. Easy bus journey to Dubrovnik Old Town.

Room Tip: We paid for a sea view room. Try to avoid 1st floor rooms as they are directly above the restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richie-Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have nothing bad to say about this place. Hotel More exceeded my expectations in everyway. The location is stunning. You couldn't ask for better views and to be able to eat breakfast every morning outside staring at the crystal clear blue waters...heaven.

I was a little worried about not staying closer to old town but I love the location we stayed in. It was so lovely and peaceful to start and end our day here. Old Town is crowded, Lapad bay is a great ecape from those crowds (in October). Husband and I would hang out on the sun terrace after breakfast everyday and then make our way to old town in the early evening when all the cruise ships would leave. It was perfect. The walk to the bus stop is lovely too.

Our room was huge! Bigger then rooms we are used to in the states. And I never say this but going back I would pay to upgrade to a seaview. It would be 100% worth it here.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a seaview room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pchhabra20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We booked Hotel More after extensive research on all hotels within the Dubrovnik area - a perfect choice!

We used the hotel's own airport transfer service in the new Audi A6 - the driver was friendly, welcoming and it was all smooth and fuss-free - highly recommended.

The hotel is just lovely - very welcoming staff who seem a very happy team. The hotel is in a super location - right on the water's edge but very close by to Lapad and plenty of restaurants, cafes and bars for choice. It is also a very easy bus journey into Dubrovnik old town and buses run every 10 minutes every day, late into the evening.

The walk along the cliff path below the hotel is lovely, along pine trees and attractive plants/flowers - we enjoyed this every day.

We didn't opt for a seaview room as we were outside all the time, enjoying the sea terrace almost until sundown. There is also the pool area and Jacuzzi on floor 5 to watch the gorgeous sunsets.

Breakfast was super - a great selection, wonderful friendly and cheerful staff who couldn't do enough to help (special thanks to Tamara, Pero and Innes). Plus the restaurant setting with direct views across the bay was amazing - we're missing that breakfast view each day!

The cave bar is super and a great way to enjoy a nightcap watching the sunset or drinks/snacks in the day time - it is also an attraction for visitors walking past the hotel each day. It gets busy in the evenings - a popular spot with a great atmosphere. The sun terrace right by the waters edge is lovely - uninterrupted views across the sea. There are steps and a ladder directly into the sea making swimming easy and the water is crystal clear - like nowhere else we've seen.

A lunch tip is to enjoy a snack in the main restaurant (where breakfast is served) - a slightly larger selection offered than the cave bar and the most wonderful views - mostly to ourselves this late in the season - perfect with a cheeky glass of wine!

Others have mentioned that rooms were small but ours wasn't - plenty of room and very functional, lots of power sockets, efficient air-conditioning and a super modern bathroom with non-steam up mirrors etc. The housekeeping staff are incredibly efficient and notice when guests leave for breakfast so our room was made-up each day on our return from breakfast - other hotels take note!

We have high expectations and there are often slight niggles - not with Hotel More, we couldn't fault anything. Thank you - we will be recommending the hotel to everyone and would love to return!

Room Tip: Whilst seaview rooms are lovely, in October it is dark by 6.30pm - so enjoy the sunset and spend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IOWtravelbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

You can not beat the views and the service at the amazing hotel near Lapad. Dive from your deck chair in the ocean and come back up the ladder to grab a drink. The restaurant is lovely and the food is wonderful. We took an excursion with the hotel (I think our drivers name was Christian) and he was helpful, cheery and professional. Nika as the front desk was also very helpful along with all the great wait staff from the deck, to the cave bar and the restaurant. Clean (though there is some cigarette smell in the hall ways) and well appointed in each room. They upgraded up for our honeymoon to a room with a view and a Jacuzzi (pay the extra money for this view my friends...sit on your deck and watch the world glide by on the Adriatic). A 100 KUNA or $20 USD cab ride from the end of the promenade this was great to pop into town if we wanted or enjoy a quieter space on the beach. You can always take the bus which I think was about 10 Kuna. I am sure this place is crazy busy during high season, but on the shoulder season it had just enough buzz but still a bit quieter than downtown. Walk to a variety of restaurants and shops just down on the promenade. Breakfast was included and was our classic European buffet selections. Enjoy Croatia at its finest at Hotel More - we thank all of the staff who were so kind and welcoming!

Room Tip: Pay the extra money for a room with a view - it will make your stay extra special
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Emaly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
787 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Lapad
Hotel Lapad
#17 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,274 reviews
0.5 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Address: K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £76 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel More 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel More is an exclusive five-star boutique hotel situated in the Bay of Lapad, one of the most beautiful locations on the area of the City of Dubrovnik. The hotel view of calming green pines, of Mediterranean vegetation abundant with colors and scents, of the glaring azure sea, of rocky cliffs - those eternal stone guards and memorable sunsets, will astonish any traveler and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing