We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel More

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel More
Ranked #7 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

The hotel is built into the side of the cliff - it's almost Bond-like descending in the lift (you need to change halfway down as the first lift can't get any further into the bedrock) and coming out in the cave bar. The hotel is a little bit of an ugly eyesore but it doesn't really matter as you rarely actually get a view of it - most of the time you're either enjoying the stunning sea view (make sure you get a sea view room!) from your balcony or you're down on the terrace by the sea either sunning yourself on a lounger or drinking a local beer watching the sun set. It's really idyllic especially in the evening. I really enjoyed jumping and diving off the terrace into the sea though watch out for sea urchins - it's a good idea to use the ladder to get out rather than the steps.

We didn't take advantage of it but we saw a couple hire a jet ski which was delivered to the terrace for them to hop straight on. You can walk a few hundred yards to the local beach and hire a boat. Just beyond there is the bus to the old town though the hotel is happy to call a cab which comes to about £10 each way. Speaking of which, service is excellent and generally really friendly. The room was a good size and the air-con worked wonders, though the bed was disappointing as it's 2 single beds pushed but not tied together, which means a gap opens up which can swallow the duvet or even a stray limb.

Breakfast is help yourself - though if you get there near to the 10.30am end of service they tend to start taking things back to the kitchen before you're finished. There's a decent choice of hot and cold food and even some sparkling wine. We ate an evening meal on one occasion but weren't that impressed.

Overall it's a really good hotel in a great spot which I'd really recommend, but don't be fooled by its 5 star status. It's a decent 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonysony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    182
    44
    12
    5
See reviews for
108
525
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
200 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights while on a motorcycle trip. Our room was huge, with a living area, large bathroom, large bedroom and a large balcony with views of the Adriatic Sea and a hot tub! We used it all, enjoyed it all, and were very happy with the hotel experience. The breakfast was abundant, including champagne. The wait staff was courteous and efficient. We always managed to get a table in the ,or OMG with spectacular views of the Sea. The Cave Bar was fun! Having a glass of wine on the patio right on the water watching the sunset was a highlight for me. A short walk along a nice promenade with lots of restaurants was nice and ended at a Main Street where we could easily catch. Cab or a bus to the old city. We loved the Hotel More!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace and hot tub. Sitting in the hot tub, sipping a nice wine, and gazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnjm52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked with British Airways holidays so felt confident about Hotel More. On arrival we were not disappointed. Our room was spacious with a large balcony looking out on a beautiful sea view. Bathroom was also large and had a spare bath. The room and the hotel in general was very clean. We booked on a half board basis, staying for 8 days. There was plenty of choice and everything was cooked to perfection. Wine is expensive, but then it is a 5 star hotel. Regional wine only is available so with the help of the waiters we were able to find plenty to our taste. All the staff at Hotel More were very helpful and spoke very good English. The staff in the restaurant were particularly friendly and extremely efficient. They work very hard and nothing is too much trouble for them. They really made us feel welcome. We commend them for their efforts/attitude and we thank them for contributing to a super holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bebbieShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arran
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for four nights, paid extra for a junior suite (404). The location of the hotel is amazing and all the public areas and many of the rooms benefit from the location with stunning views. The location and the views go some way to make up for the shabby (and bafflingly placed) room furniture, scraped walls, grimy jacuzzi and average breakfast. What it does not compensate for is the breathtaking indifference exhibited by the person on reception. He failed to ask anything about our stay, or our time in Croatia. I would be amazed if his hospitality training extended to customer service at all.
I am quite sure it will fall on deaf ears but much better staff training, more attention to detail and making sure that guests feel welcome and valued would give some credence to the claims on their website. If location and views is absolutely paramount and you can afford it, then you would probably be happy enough at Hotel More but there is certainly a lot more room for improvement.

Room Tip: Dig deeper and go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank campseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel based on pictures and reviews on internet. The hotel exceeded my expectations which were high. It's a boutique hotel, about 34 rooms - for a month I tried to upgrade to sea view without success as already full. it didn't matter as room was top notch. Every member of staff made you feel welcome, highly professional yet friendly. The hotel has spared no expense in its design and fittings. Best view ever over Adriatic whilst eating healthy well displayed hot/ cold buffet breakfast.....bubbles too if you fancy a Bucks Fizz!
Last night tonight and have booked the a la carte restaurant to mark the end of the most fantastic week. Cannot recommend this hotel enough and already planning next visit. There is a well being health spa in the hotel but ran out of time to visit.
Book it....you cannot be disappointed.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Veronica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was fantastic. The hotel is right on the sea, 20 minutes from the old town and 2 minutes from the beach.
Very close to a promenade of restaurants and bars.

The whole hotel is clean and the staff are friendly and very helpful.Breakfast is great and has amazing views.

I loved the cave bar, you can see the depth of the cave if you go past the bar. they have a special cocktail night on Tuesdays which was fun too.

My only complaint is there are no tea and coffee facilities in the room which is annoying when you first wake up in the morning or need a nice pick me up before dinner.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor, and ask for a seaside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyVonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Me and my partner chose this Hotel because of the fantastic reviews & the Cave Bar but to be honest we were disappointed. The Cave Bar was fabulous, great idea and great setting for pictures. The Hotel itself was nice, we were on the floor with the Jacuzzi & pool - which is by far the best floor as you get access to the sun loungers first! - top tip. It was the service that let the stay down. I'd rate this Hotel a 3/4* in terms of service. We had issues with our telephone in the room, & the wifi which took a while to get sorted. When chased up their explanation for the wait was because they were busy. The Restaurant says it closes at 10pm .. this is not true it closes at 9:30pm - We had cocktails in the cave bar tat night before dinner and aimed to get dinner @ 10pm. We arrived at 9:40pm to the restaurant we were rudely told the kitchen had closed. There was no chef, and the kitchen was empty. So we had to walk up to a restaurant up the road in the RAIN rather than enjoy our dinner in the Hotel. The jacuzzi we had to ask to use, the top was over it and had we not asked I don't think anyone would have used it as it looked like it wasn't to be used. There was no room service after 10pm either . which is ridiculous because the cave bar closes at 11pm .. no later drinks in the bar either. Our feeling was it was not quite in season and they were understaffed . this shouldn't mean our stay is compromised!

Room Tip: Choose Floor 5 for the Sun Loungers, pool & Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KittyVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
Hotel Bellevue Dubrovnik
#4 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Princess Hotel
Royal Princess Hotel
#3 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#10 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Property: Hotel More
Address: K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Family Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel More 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel More is an exclusive five-star boutique hotel situated in the Bay of Lapad, one of the most beautiful locations on the area of the City of Dubrovnik. The hotel view of calming green pines, of Mediterranean vegetation abundant with colors and scents, of the glaring azure sea, of rocky cliffs - those eternal stone guards and memorable sunsets, will astonish any traveler and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing