We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with warm & friendly atmosphere”
Review of Hotel More

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel More
Ranked #7 of 68 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2009

This is the perfect place for complete relaxation in beautiful surroundings and with staff who cannot do enough for you.

Rooms: We had a sea view room and it is definitely worth paying the extra. They are larger than the garden view rooms (which are very small) and the views are superb. Luxurious bath fittings, beautiful furnishings, well-equipped mini-bar, ample wardrobes with loads of coathangers (no need to bring your own), flat-screen TV with Sky & BBC news channels, very effective air con, digital safe. Toiletries refilled every day, superb jacuzzi & whirlpool bath, towels changed daliy, bathrobes & slippers provided, hairdryer in bathroom. Large balcony with 2 chairs and one sun bed. We had room 104 which is above the kitchen and overlooks the restaurant but we suffered no noise or inconvenience from this.

Breakfast: Ample selection of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts, pastries, cold meats, cheeses, selection of breads, sometimes a fish or pasta dish also. Cooked breakfast comprises sausages, bacon & eggs. Eaten on the shaded outdoor terrace with fantastic views over Lapad Bay. Only problem was the wasps if you sit on the outer edge adjacent to the sea.

Lunch/Dinner: We booked half board, and given it is expensive to eat in Dubrovnik this proved to be a wise choice. A major bonus is the hotel allow you to swap dinner for lunch, so we had the flexibilty to eat out in Dubrovnik in the evening for a little variety if we wanted to. If you are half-board, you eat off a fixed menu which remained the same for the duration of our stay. It was three- courses, with a selection of about 6 cold starters; 6 warm starters; 6 meat dishes( a few steak/beef, a lamb, a chicken & a pork dish; 6 fish dishes and 6 vegetarian dishes). There was a choice of 6 desserts. The quality is excellent; the portion size of the starters and main course are similar and ample; the desserts are not very big, but by the time you get to that chances are you'll be full anyway.

Drinks:The drinks were no more expensive here than in Dubrovnik or in the cafes & restautants nearby. Soft drinks 15 kunas for 20cl; Beer 22 kunas for 33cl. There is a pool bar service - just ring the bar and the waiter will bring the drinks to you. The bar terrace on the 7th floor is very peaceful with spectacular views.

Pool: Situated on 5th floor. Very small, only about 1.2 m deep throughout, but very clean. Only 7 sun loungers around, but rarely got crowded. Jacuzzi also on this level with a further six luxurious sun beds. Sometimes we were the only people on this level, which was very peaceful & relaxing.

Bathing platform: Could feel a little overcrowded when fully occupied as very narrow, but this was rare. Sea very deep (& cold!). But a lovely spot. Towels provided here also.

Transport: We walked into Dubrovnik once - its a 4 km walk that took about an hour and mainly through busy, noisy streets and very hilly in parts. Better to catch the bus - walk 10 mins to Lapad Bus terminal (a pleasant, pedestrainised walk along numerous bars & cafes). Catch the Number 5 or 6 marked Babin Kuk. It costs 10 kunas single or 16 kunas return. Be warned they are very crowded and the locals do not beleive in queueing! We had a taxi several times straight to hotel - cost varied from 65 kunas to 80. Well worth it when you're hot & tired.

Getting to the airport: The hotel have their own private car for transfers. Cost 250 kunas and takes about 25 mins.

Other places to eat: Mea Culpa in Dubrovnik - fantastic, huge pizzas at good prices. For a really special meal (and not much more expensive than most places) overlooking the city walls, go to Postat. Reception staff will make a reservation for you.

In summary, this is a wonderful place to relax with excellent service in beautiful, peaceful surroundings. However, it is not geared up for children, and I wouldn't recommend you stay here if you have them. If you have mobility problems, there is lift access right down to the bathing platform, but you have to take two lifts and walk the depth of the hotel when going from ground floor upto reception. As for the staff, some reviewers have said they are unhelpful & unfriendly. Croatians are not the most jovial nationality but we found just a little effort with saying please & thank you in their language goes a long way. I was suffering from morning sickness during our stay and they provided hot water in my room every morning for my ginger tea, asked about my well being and even made fresh iced coffee when I asked as it wasn't on the menu. The kitchen staff froze our ice packs and initially lent us their own so we could keep our picnics chilled. Anything we asked for, they obliged. They couldn't have been more accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VOB72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 889 of 1,029 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2009

What a fabulous and clean hotel. The staff were very helpful and courteous. Breakfast was relaxing and tasty. The room had everything we needed. However I would recommend you stay in a sea view room as the garden rooms were slighty on the small side, but all the same very nice. I would recommend this hotel to anybody lucky enough to go to Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KirstenJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

My wife and me spend 7 days in this great Hotel...Everything was so great and hotel stuff were so friendly and helpful... Highly recommendation for everyone who is planing to see Dubrovnik...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fidani123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

Stayed 3 nights mid July. Not cheap. Good location, vertiginous hotel on rocky slope with views over its roped off deep swimming area below looking across bay and to islands beyond. Various/nice deck bars (jacuzzi deck on top, bar deck at reception level below that, and restaurant deck below that - had the feel of a cruise ship). Modern but not contemporary interiors. Lovel spot/respite from frenetic walled city, though 15 mins out by irregular, overcrowded buses. BUT restaurant staff possessed of the type of sleepwalking arrogance that hotels have when trading off their reputation. Slow service, dinner food not bad, breakfast food poor/not what you'd expect from a *5, and truly awful coffee. However, the worst thing was that (although upgraded to a jnr suite room 440 with terrace + jacuzzi), our room and about 13 others at that end of hotel are all in close proximity to a huge, noisy kitchen extractor duct which kicks in a meal times/runs til late.
It completely spoils the ambiance of the room/hotel. Why didn't the installers/architect sheild/baffle this in some way from the rooms? I complained - nothing they could do apart from our moving rooms (less than ideal on a short stay) and ask kitchen manager to turn off extractor asap after meal service with the caveat that 'it was the weekend and would be busy'. (Thank God for wax earplugs.) On top of that just before breakfast one morning, from under the bath came the noise of something I could only describe as a jet engine, for bursts of about 30 seconds - this happened 3 times! They then sent up a bottle of wine on the house - a nice gesture but we'd have preferred not to have the equipment noise. Small, but noteworthy point - if your partner goes down to breakfast before you, and takes the key(s), the lights cut out after a minute, and so does the water as I found out whilst cleaning my teeth! Notthe best hotel, and it's expensive, though a lovely location.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank seratonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We have just returned from a week staying at the delightful Hotel More. The location of the hotel ccould not be better, away from the hustle and bustle of the city and overlooking the lovely Lapad Bay.

From our initial welcome to our farewell, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Our room was well-equipped with everything being of a very high quality with a wonderful view over the bay. Although the pool and seaside bathing platform are both small, they never felt crowded. In fact, we often had the 5th floor pool and jacuzzi to ourselves.

Breakfast on the terrace was about as good as it gets with everthing you could wish for.

Definirtely somewhere to return to!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Invernesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

Stayed there for 7 days. A really good modern small luxury hotel. You are recognised when you return. Excellent accommodation. Excellent staff that could not have been more helpful and professional. A real refuge after Dubrovnik "old town" and the cruise ship invasions. Food not up to the standard that they would wish to achieve, but none the less very good. Expensive wine list but wine is expensive everywhere in Croatia. Small pool area. Would most definitely go back and wish there were more such hotels to visit.

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stillhopeful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2009

my partner and i visited Dubrovnik for the first time and stayed in hotel More for 5 days. lovely hotel, friendly staff, room with a sea view...would recommend it for a honeymoon. not in the town center, but easy to reach. looking forward to going back to Dubrovnik again this summer

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,135 reviews
0.4 mi away
Neptun Hotel
Neptun Hotel
#12 of 68 in Dubrovnik
981 reviews
3.4 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#2 of 68 in Dubrovnik
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#5 of 68 in Dubrovnik
789 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rixos Hotel Libertas
Rixos Hotel Libertas
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,983 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel More? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel More

Address: K. Stepinca 33, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Romantic Hotel in Dubrovnik
#6 Spa Hotel in Dubrovnik
#7 Luxury Hotel in Dubrovnik
Price Range: £86 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel More 5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel More is an exclusive five-star boutique hotel situated in the Bay of Lapad, one of the most beautiful locations on the area of the City of Dubrovnik. The hotel view of calming green pines, of Mediterranean vegetation abundant with colors and scents, of the glaring azure sea, of rocky cliffs - those eternal stone guards and memorable sunsets, will astonish any traveler and guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel More reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
More Hotel Dubrovnik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing