We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location, superb landlord!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lux Apartments

Lux Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lux Apartments
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Dublin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful location, superb landlord!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

Just returned home from 3 nights in the Lux apartment. Sinisa our landlord couldn't have been more obliging. He had a taxi waiting at the airport as promised. We arrived at the apartment 25 minutes later where he was waiting to greet us. We only then realised my dad had lifted the wrong suitcase! Sinisa immediately drove him back to collect the right bag and refused to accept anything for this huge kindness. He also acted as tour guide on a fabulous day trip to Medjugorje for my parents. The flat is perfectly located just 10 minutes walk up a slight hill from the Ploce gate into Old Town. The view from the flat is stunning, the supermarket is also at the Ploce gate so very handy - beach access is right at the doorstep. I was so pleased with evrything to do with this apartment. The only negative I would point out is that the second bed which is very big and very comfortable is in the same room you eat and cook in. If you are two couples say instead of one family it would be a bit inconvenient but for a family of< 4 (+ baby cot)- you will be pleased. Thanks again Sinisa, Hvala!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank didi2206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    5
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
dordrecht
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Poor description of accomodation in advertisements. Host let us wait with all package for a quarter of an hour outside the building even after information by a neighbour through telephone while we were standing in front of the house, while he was informed by us about arrival time. Host was obvious busy in the apartment at the same time. Kitchen and equipment were so dirty that we must clean things before use. Old stuff of former guests was still in frige and cupboards. One double bed was not ready for use. Promises by the host were not followed up. Host asked us to move to another apartment after 4 days for 1 night. For us two reasons to leave Dubrovnik 1 day earlier. "fill your pocket as quick as possible without counter value": a disaster after our excellent experience with Mr. Andro Komazin in Hvar, in our eyes an example on how to prevent a Titanic catastrophe!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bramdekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
podmornica, Owner at Lux Apartments, responded to this review, 19 October 2011
I had overbooking in that time and I offer them another apartment which is not LUX APARTMENT and also I gave them discount on price and 2 free of charges Dubrovnik card They agree on that. For location rating less than 5 * is strange becouse nobody ever rate Lux apt. less than 5* for prime beachfront location.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Dubrovnik hotels

Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

A bit on the expensive side, but then again it is Dubrovnik and as far as we could tell it was not more expensive than any other private accomodation, probobaly a bit cheaper. The location is fantastic, especially if you travel with children, with the proximity to the beach AND the old town. For the family backpacking it was good value for money. Washing machine was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank psoderberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

Lux apartment was in an excellent location. Close to Old Town and right on Banje beach. Apartment was good and equipped well, except was disappointed that it was living and bedroom all in one. Was expecting seperate bedroom and living as stated. Therefore we were sitting on our beds to watch TV. Was good that we were able to contact Sinisa by mobile phone to organise arrival time.
Would recommend apartment to anyone as long as you know even though it says one bedroom, it means living and bedroom all in one.

  • Liked — location to Old Town and beach
  • Disliked — That it was suppose to be seperate bedroom and living area
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kassi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, CT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2008

Sinisa Zakula and his lovely wife were the most cordial hosts imaginable. The location of their apartment (sobe) is about as good as it gets in Dubrovnik. Hardly a single person walking past our window failed to stop to take pictures of the Old Town (Stari Grad). The only thing missing was a phone. (I had a cell phone, so that was no problem.) While the apartment is right on top of the road, I was amazed at how little noise was noticeable. The apartment is literally at the top of the steps to the best beach (NOT nudist) in the city. Taxis are just steps away down the hill. Most tours pick up at the Excelsior Hotel just a few steps up the hill.

The apartment is about a 5 minute walk from the Ploce Gate (Gradska Vrata Ploce) to the Old Town and offers a magnificent view of Lokrum Island and the Old Port (Stara Luka). Walking around the Old Town at 5:00AM with no tourists in sight was easy and fun. Since most of the hotels in Dubrovnik are not within walking distance of the Old Town, a long (and very crowded) bus ride was avoided. The apartment is right at the top of the ramp to the casino, if that's what you want.

The apartment is huge! The bathroom, which also houses a washer and dryer, has plenty of room for a party. The area seems very safe at all hours.

I would heartily recommend this as the best and most reasonably priced place to stay in Dubrovnik.

StuKin, Stamford, CT

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bed
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank StuKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2007

Travelers to Dubrovnik looking for an alternative to the typical tourist hotel, might want to check out Lux Apartments. The decor was somewhat spartan, but we had all the amenities we could have required (full kitchen, washer/dryer, etc.). We enjoyed being able to shop at the market in Gruz -- far more extensive than the one in the Old City -- and prepare leisurely dinners.

It would be difficult to imagine a better location. The apartments are located just a few minutes walk from the Ploce Gate and across the street from the city beach. Waking up in the morning, we had a breathtaking view of the sea.

The proprietor, Sinisa Zakula, was especially responsive. He responded quickly to my emails when planning the trip and was available by cell when we were in Dubrovnik.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Foldout bed wasn't the most comfortabel
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank karinf74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dubrovnik hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
Villa Allure of Dubrovnik
#37 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Glavic Dubrovnik
Villa Glavic Dubrovnik
#42 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Edi's Sea View Rooms Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Odak
Villa Odak
#33 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartment Peppino
Apartment Peppino
#53 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#15 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Apartments

Property: Lux Apartments
Address: Frana Supila 21, Dubrovnik, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 66 Hotels in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beautiful southern Coast of the Adriatic Sea, these luxury apartments are located in the immediate vicinity of the Old City of Dubrovnik. The Lux apartments are situated above city beach just few steps away of the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lux Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing