We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Guest House Riviera
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as a stopover before I flew back to London and in an age of Marriots and bleached hotels, this place is just lovely. The building itself is a monolithic art nouveau from the early 20th century. The interior resembles the movie The Shining' but in a good way;) the balcony of te resturant is just breathtaking and you can see the sunset clearly over the cool Adriatic. It is also possible that maybe two people actually work there and I maybe saw three other guests. They are really helpful and the desk clerk drove me to the airport for ten quid in the morning and they let me print off my rickety for my flight...yes it's a bit dreary in parts and the lift is scary and the decor imposing and soviet but it's old school charm is wonderful and the breakfast is really decent...stay here it's an experience and is also right in the cool bit of Pula by the amphitheatre and the sea.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MFleischy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Management at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about our Hotel Riviera. We are glad to get to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated the view from our hotel, its position and our food and drinks offer.
Our hotel personnel will be delighted to get to know they were helpful with your ticket printing and transport to the airport.
We are looking forward to seeing you again soon within one of our facilities!

Best Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
There are newer reviews for Guest House Riviera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

I'm struggling to come up with at least one positive thing about this hotel... The building hosting this hotel is beautiful. It dates back to 1906 and was erected of course by Austrians. It is an art-nouveau bilding with amazing façades and spacious rooms. But it is so neglected! Rooms are totally worn out and need an immediate overhaul. There's plenty of insects and bugs that can really bother you at night. I can't remember being so much stung by so many bugs at night. It was very disturbing. In the morning we discovered a nest of ants in the bathroom (see the photo). In addition, there is a disco next to the hotel so just brace yourself up for techno sounds all night long.

The only positive thing was the breakfast which was quite opulent as for Croatian standards. It is served on the terrace overlooking the harbour.

To sum up, try to stay away from this hotel but if you must stay there, do not stay in Room 516.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Management at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that the building and the spacious rooms were to your liking. On the other hand, we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience that you may have experienced in regards to the bugs and nest of ants. All of your kind remarks will be shared with our Housekeeping Manager. Please note that your experience doesn’t reflect the usual standard of our housekeeping service and we apologize for that.

Thank you once again for your review and when you plan a return please do contact us at booking@arenaturist.hr with any enquiries or requests.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The Riviera is in a beautiful old building, gone to seed, which is unfortunately hidden now by trees so you can't see the façade well. Inside it is rather gloomy and has undergone seval make-unders since its Hapsburg heyday, resulting in a post-communist budget lodging. This also adds to its 'charm' but is probably not to everyone's taste. Our room was on the 4th floor and was very large and spacious. It had a view over the sea as requested and a lovely little balcony to sit out on. The beds were quite soft but comfy. The room had a fridge (useful for cooling drinks in the hot summer weather), a fan (necessary as there is no air con) and lots of wardrobe and storage space. We loved the mix of original Hapsburg era / Yugoslav era/ post communist era features which made it quirky and charming, but again this would not be to everyone's taste. The breakfast was quite good, with a range of fresh meats and cheeses, fruit, yoghurt, different breads and pastries. The juices and hot drinks we not so nice, but no worse than in the other budget hotels we have stayed at in Croatia. The wifi works well, but is only available on the ground floor (reception) and first floor (breakfast area) but there are loads of places to sit in order to use it. There is a useful mini supermarket, one minute up splitska street. Location is good, on the front, 2 minutes from the giant amphitheatre and about ten minutes walk into the centre of Pula. All the old blokes who work on reception spoke good English and appreciated my attempt at speaking Croatian! We were there for the Pula film festival and the town had a real buzz. Watching a Croatian film 'Simon čudotvorac' in the amphitheatre at night was a real highlight. If you want a clean, boring, bland plastic hotel don't stay here, but if you like a bit of character, it is good value for money and quite an experience.

Room Tip: Ask for either a sea view or a view of the amphitheatre / top floor room.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonchikandChristophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Management at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review and for choosing our hotel Riviera for your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and that the hotel's design and architecture were also to your liking.
If you plan a future stay in our hotel, or in any of our facilities do not hesitate to contact us at: booking@arenaturist.hr and we'll be more than happy to help you!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Huge rooms with a view (if you are high enough), great location and spotless bathrooms make up for the lousy mattresses. Breakfast was very nice but it's a crying shame that the lighting in the breakfast room reminds you more of a train station the pretty room it could really be. Little touches could do wonders for this place so please take this a s constructive criticism because it only takes a little bit to go a long way!

Room Tip: choose a room high up if you can as these have a view
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laleh2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you for your review of our Hotel Riviera and are pleased to get to know you have enjoyed your stay at our facility as well as its location, cleanliness and food offer. We will indeed take your criticism about lightning as constructive and hopefully as you say go a long way for the next summer season.

Hoping to see you again soon somewhere within our Arenaturist hotel structures we send you our friendliest regards.
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Nice old hotel on a perfect location with a nice view from the sea side rooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit outdated, but the location of the hotel compensates a lot. Breakfast is also good. Overall good hotel for a fair price.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank VojinovicM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear guest,

We are very grateful you sent us a review about our Hotel Riviera and glad to hear you enjoyed the time spent at our facility as well as the sea side room, friendly staff, food offer and hotel's location.

Until your next visit we send you our best regards.

The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Great hotel just a 5 minute walk from the bus station. Literally 5 minute walk from everything once you get your bearings. SO grand and beautiful, with large rooms and updated bathrooms. We had 2 balconies overlooking the Adriatic to choose from. Great little breakfast on the large balcony was perfect for drinks before dinner. Only downside: mosquito issue was pretty frustrating, but keeping the bathroom door closed at night seemed to help. Impoverished nobility, perfect description!
Front desk was extremely service oriented, and very pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review about our Hotel Riviera. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel as well as appreciated our helpful staff, food offer and hotel's location.

Until we see you again within one of our facilities in Pula we're sending our friendliest greetings.
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The building is really impressive as its terrace were in summertime you can have breakfast, gorgeous! you can almost feel how luxurious it was many years ago! The breakfast is OK, with some heathy solutions and you will not stay hungry. Rooms are OK in size but very very worn out, like 50 years old furniture as well as everything on the walls. The same feeling is at the reception. However you can see that it was nice long ago. But the view from our room was marvelous, straight on the Amphitheater. Just few hundred meters from the Amphitheater. The service is sort of OK, I'd say average and it still reminds of all socialistic style (pre-war) service. Helpful staff in its own way. We had our MC with all kind of extra equipment and they offered very good and safe parking spot next to the entrance although the same was not a parking place. This building has a great potential and its pity that it falls apart!

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the Amphitheater, not sea view.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LolaSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Manager at Guest House Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback! We very much appreciate your inputs and would like to underline how useful your comments are. It is a pleasure for us to read, that you enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace and the Roman Ammphiteatre view from your room. We are glad that you had a nice stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
The Riviera is a historic building form the Austro-Hungarian period in Pula. As you have noticed, it needs to be renewed, but unfortunately for bureaucratic reason we are still not allowed to take any serious step to renew and re-modern Riviera. We hope to have the chance to have you as our guest again soon!
Best Regards,
The Arenaturist staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pula hotels
1.1 mi away
Veli Joze
Veli Joze
#23 of 31 in Pula
55 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pula City Point Rooms
Pula City Point Rooms
#20 of 31 in Pula
34 reviews
2.8 mi away
Brioni Hotel
Brioni Hotel
#16 of 31 in Pula
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Amfiteatar Hotel
Amfiteatar Hotel
#10 of 31 in Pula
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Galija
Hotel Galija
#12 of 31 in Pula
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Scaletta
Hotel Scaletta
#11 of 31 in Pula
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guest House Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guest House Riviera

Address: Splitska Ulica 1, Pula 52100, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Price Range: £46 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Guest House Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Guest House Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Pula
Guest House Riviera Pula, Croatia - Istria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing