We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place served by even better people!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza Histria Pula
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Pula
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing place served by even better people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great hotel, stayed in Marina wing(911) and rooms are modern and spotless.Mini bar well stocked(reasonably cheap).Special mention to the girls in Champagne bar(Aleksandra and Greta)you girls are credit to the company!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borislav L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! Providing excellent customer service is our priority and we are happy that you notice our efforts. Rest assured that your nice comments will be shared with Aleksandra and Greta!
Looking forward to welcome you anytime soon!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,070 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    394
    106
    15
    8
See reviews for
236
539
21
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

So I was a solo traveller at this hotel located on the Adriatic. The hotel is simply a fantastic place place to spend a few days or more if you like the lounging lifestyle. It is about 15 to 20 minutes to Pula via bus (3A or 2A). I walked from the bus station, about 4 miles, until I figured out public transit options which are very good and only 2 greenbacks for ride into town.

The grounds of this hotel are well kept with lots of options as far as swimming (outdoor pool, lovely indoor pool, and a rocky beach if you want to swim in the Adriatic which I recommend). There is also plenty of nice spots to simply lounge around and be lazy.

The room I had (241) was outstanding and looked out onto the sea. It also had a roomy, private balcony which I used frequently.

The complimentary breakie was also outstanding with a slew of appealing choices.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank 7thnovember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. Knowing that you are completely satisfied with the hotel it’s a great pleasure. Our aim is to provide a superior experience to all our guests and we are happy to know that we succeeded in that.
We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you in the nearest future!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lytham
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I agree with others who have rated this hotel highly.Booked all inclusive with Thomson and we paid extra for a sea view room (222), unfortunately marred a little by trees in one direction It was spotless.Enjoyed having the ipod dock and a lovely large shower.
The staff were superb, couldn't do enough for you .
I thought the selection of fruit was excellent, there was plenty of choice for main courses, but many were on the cool side- maybe the hot plates could have been at a higher temperature.There was plenty of salads-- same every meal and not many fresh, as opposed to frozen, veg.
I agree with others that puddings were not so good , but I love fruit anyway so not a problem.The inclusive drinks made the holiday good value,as much water, cola, spirits etc but the wine was , understandably, a bit poor. The plum brandy is best avoided! The coffee wasn't too bad at all
To get into Pula you need to get a bus 3A -- bus stop about 6 minutes walk from the hotel Coming back take the 2A or 3A. It takes about 15 minutes into town and you could then get another bus to Rovinj ( takes about 50 minutes) Total cost about 50 Kuna per person. Rovinj is beautiful as is Porec (but smaller).
There is a gym , but a bit on the small side -- adequate for a bit of a work out.
There are some nice walks round the coast adjacent to the hotel, which, incidentally is near to a self catering complex and a couple of other developments, none of which are obtrusive

Would love to come again but think we would hire a car to see more of this lovely country

Room Tip: A sea view room on the 3rd floor would be good, but a view of the (large) Marina would also be nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barbara58b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel surroundings, the friendliness of our staff as well as our selection of fruit. If your travel brings you back to Croatia, it would be our pleasure to host you again!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We just spent 10 days at this wonderful hotel in Pula. It's well worth paying the extra for a sea view, as in my opinion that is the best view. We had room 147 and the view was spectacular.

Room

very clean, spacious room with massive bed, air conditioning, free safe, complementary elemis toiletries, an espresso machine kettle coffee and tea. Bose ipod dock - [ours wasn't working, but we weren't so bothered so didn't report it. They'd have sorted it out if we had].

Well stocked Minibar and fridge....(but beware not included on all-inclusive) what we did was take their stuff out of the fridge and stock it from the supermarket on Verudela ave (less than 100m away).

also outside balcony with proper table and sturdy chairs. Room cleaned at your convenience.. they wait till you've left the room.

very comfortable and air conditioning was quiet and efficient

FOOD - Main restaurant

meals Breakfast 7-00 till 10-00
lunch 12-30 - 2-30
snack tea 4-30-530 (for all inclusive only) served from foyer near restaurant doors very light - tea coffee bread jams ice cream cake pastries and savoury snacks)
dinner 700-900

general - waiters good and friendly - efficient clearing away. get drinks as often as you like from the bar. special mention to Andela who was in charge of restaurant for most of our meals. She was lovely and made us feel special.

Plenty of space and tables either inside or on the terrace. food is buffet type with plenty of choice at all meals

Breakfast
all tastes catered for from full English to fruit, cereals, toast, omelettes, pancakes, pastries, cold buffet etc. (would advise going before 9.00a.m. as after that you often have to wait for hot foods to be refreshed, and arriving at different times so everything is not hot together also pastries run out)

Lunch
usually several hot choices of meat/ fish pasta, veg risotto etc. generally two soups, cold buffet and salads and numerous cake type desserts, fruit etc

dinner

one carvery type meat and either show cooking (stir fry, griddle pizza or rice dishes) or a second carvery option. during our stay carveries included pork, beef, turkey, chicken, gammon, meat loaf, lamb and shark and salmon

up to ten other hot meat dishes usually including stew, roast, braised, grilled, griddle, pasta, rice, spiced and plain. included horse meat and veal

up to four different hot fish/shellfish dishes

veg and potatoes of many varieties

cold buffet and salad (extensive)

cheese, bread, rolls

fruit, cakes, gateauxs, pastries,ice creams (avoid the bubble gum unless you're a real fan!) glass desserts mousses/ fruit compotes. [this is one area that could do with a bit of innovation and variation - the cakes are the same every night and taste the same even if they look different. suggest crumbles/sponges/fruit pies etc]

Bars

pool bar.

by far the best bar with the friendliest staff. Ira, Ana and Jelena made this experience wonderful. the hotel should double their wages as they are the treasure of the hotel, and really know how to keep customers happy and feel special.

food and ice creams also available.

yacht club (NOT INCLUDED in all inclusive)

pleasant bar and sunbathing/bathing area on the sea edge. food very good and freshly prepared, drinks same range as main hotel but to pay for. sunbeds very reasonable to rent

main lobby bar.

this is my one issue with the hotel. Many previous reviewers have commented on this issue. ONE MEMBER OF THE STAFF has an appalling attitude to all inclusive customers, serves paying customers first and is rude and unpleasant to all inclusive people. avoid being served by her if you possibly can. We ended up waiting till she took a tray of drinks out to tables and then went to get served. It is a middle aged woman with blonde hair name badge begins alj. Quite frankly she spoiled our experience for a number of nights. My concern is that so many have commented on this and the hotel has NOT taken any action. Therefore I can only conclude that they are happy with her attitude. if so that is sad, as everyone else in that bar is fine.

luna bar....

did not use so cannot comment. but heard no other guests complain

entertainment - (but when outside they need lighting on the stage (spotlights) as when twilight falls you cannot see the performers)

different each night of the week. usually duos some stunningly good, especially friday, saturday, sunday, monday.

istrian dancers (tuesday) were terrible.
traditional istrian music (thursday) was well done but not my cup of tea.


Facilities

the spa was fantastic, and the treatments and massages excellent. my wife and i had three sessions each, and would happily recommend as the best spa we have had in the last few years.

pools

indoor - 25m salt water pool. we used this every day it was generally fairly empty and ideal for swimming lengths. bit chilly when you get in but fine one you're used to it.

outdoor. - again salt water and chilly, but very well laid out and plenty of sunbeds

there was a well equipped gym which we did not use, and table tennis facilities.

a small souvenir shop was available, but couldn't fathom opening hours.

Re previous comments on all inclusive... we found the inclusions to be fair, and standards of drinks acceptable. they even went out of their way to include alcohol free beer on my all inclusive as I have an allergic reaction to alcohol. so i suggest speaking to the reception staff if you have any special needs like that, and they will work it out.

In particular I wand to commend Nenad who sorted that issue out for me.

this hotel has so many hard working, friendly staff that it is a pleasure, apart from the glowering woman in the lobby bar, it would be perfect.

would I return? yes, fantastic place. If I was assured the hotel had dealt with the issue highlighted in the lobby bar.

Room Tip: sea view is much better than marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Iain L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We are staying here at the moment and wouldn't hesitate recommending this hotel. It is peaceful and in such a pretty setting. We have a fantastic room, carpeted with tea and coffee making facilities and large TV screen. A big balcony with wonderful views of the sea and two beaches beyond. People are far too fond of criticising AND never give praise when it's due. There's nothing to fault at this hotel. All the staff from the beach towel boys, who can't do enough for you, Ana Ira, Jaleena and Lara who are so attentive around the pool, making sure you have enough (alcoholic) and water to drink and having a laugh and joke with you to the staff in the restaurant. The Restaurant Manageress is to be highly complimented of her staff who are so friendly and polite, always smiling -especially the girls. Now the food, well if you can't find anything here you are hard to please. I have been in my element with Smoked Salmon Sea Bass salmon and other fish, absolutely delicious. There is everything you could want from breakfast, lunch and dinner and if there wasn't I'm sure they would do their best to cook it for you. Do not hesitate to book here.

Room Tip: We had room 336 overlooking the sea and 2 beaches and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ParadiseIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience. Thank you for providing such a wonderful review of your experience and for allowing fellow travellers an opportunity to know the Park Plaza Histria charm. We are delighted that you had a wonderful time and were able to experience our gastronomic offer and the high level of service provided by our staff. We look forward to welcome you anytime soon in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from a trip with some friends staying a total of 11 nights in June.
THE GOOD
As mentioned in many reviews the hotel is on an headland overlooking a fantastic marina and beautiful coastline. We were allocated a sea view room on the second floor, large comfortable bed, good quality bed linen, bose sound system, tea and coffee facilities and illy espresso machine. Small sofa, use of a safe, large wardrobe and a very good shower with six jets and rain shower along with Elemis shower gels etc.
The hotel itself is immaculately clean which is totally due to the diligent and copious amounts of cleaners that are seen but never heard - credit to these hard working staff.
We booked our stay though Thomson Holidays on an all inclusive basis. Excellent value for money with buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner plus afternoon biscuits/snacks, tea and coffee plus ice creams served from 4pm.
However we felt very confused by this plan as not all the guests are on the same basis and not every bar serves the same drinks allowed on the plan. The main Lobby bar served by fantastic staff had a list of all the drinks allowed, you are more than welcome to purchase the premium brands but the list is plentiful but the quality is lesser so. The pear liqueur can be recommended! However if you want a mojito in the pool bar downstairs it is not allowed only in the lobby bar? If you wish to dine around the pool during the day once again it is available but only if purchased and we would have like to have dined down there for a change some days.
The pool bar team have to be mentioned, Ana and Ira are two of the most efficient and pleasant bar staff I have ever seen - always smiling - a credit to the hotel.
The food is of an exceptional quality - fresh and plentiful, good quality meats and amazing salads and fresh vegetables along with lovely fresh breads, cheeses and top quality fresh fruits.
The indoor pool and spa area were also very good with excellent staff and decor.
The hotel is a 10 minute bus ride from town 11 Kuna each way, Pula is big enough to have everything you might need with plenty of history and an amazing amphitheatre. A trip to Rovinj should not be missed, take the bus into town but straight to the end of the line at the station and then purchase a return ticket. The trip takes around 45 minutes from Pula and is half the price of Thomsons but you can stay longer, fantastic pretty town - take the steep steps up to the top of the church tower!

THE NOT SO GOOD
We asked the hotel for a packed breakfast for our day trip to Venice as it was an early start. Nice ham roll, bottle of water, prepacked croissant but the price of fruit was an orange - lovely but not easy to eat on a coach and then a boat! No serviettes in the bag - an apple or banana would be so much easier for the guests.
Entertainment was also a bit low key, I understand that we all do not want reps jumping around and bullying us into competitions but I felt even with the football being screened they could have a bit more variety the lounge singers each night were all very similar. The croatian choir were good but alas every other night is was quite boring.
My husband had also emailed the hotel in advance as it was my birthday during our stay and our friend was also celebrating her 50th. The hotel responded very fast and informed him they would allocate us good rooms and that they would commemorate my birthday with a gift/momento from the hotel which would be placed in our room along with the use of bathrooms for our stay. My husband was very impressed with their response to his requests but sadly they never materialised. Our room was overlooking the sea which they promised but was that luck rather than judgement; however my husband was excited that they would mark the day in a special way.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, some of the staff were amazing, the service was excellent but of the staff could learn from Ana and Ira they never looked down on us for being on an all inclusive basis which some of the other staff did. As a client sometimes you just felt we were the poorer relatives? I would however return to this beautiful country and stay here again - the refurbishment is excellent and the quality of the food is not often seen at all inclusive hotels.

WHAT COULD THEY DO TO MAKE IT BETTER
Not give oranges on the packed lunches and maybe provide bottled water around the pool, the girls came around and around but bottles in the bedrooms and around the pool would be good especially with the heat. Make the all inclusive - all inclusive and not in some areas and not others.

Give Ana and Ira a promotion and a pay rise - they deserve it!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliHFalmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review and for posting great photos of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the comfort of our rooms, the exceptional quality of our food as well as the helpfulness of our staff.
As for the packed lunch comments and related food & beverage standards, please note that we always include a fruit that is easy to consume. We completely understand that in your particular case the given fruit wasn't the best choice and would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
In regards to your comments about the upgrade, rest assured that it was not a random award but rather a result of our previous email correspondence. Our staff regularly controls the birthdays list and we sincerely regret that in your case we didn’t award you even with a commemorative gift. We hope that you will give as the opportunity to host you on another special occasion and show you for the second time the high level of service of Park Plaza Histria Pula!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
222 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This resort is located in the area of Verudela, so it is right at the sea therefore making it optimal as a vacation spot. The hotel consist of two buildings, the main building has the restaurant, the pools and the spa and a gym etc, whereas the other building only houses the champagne bar. Our room was located at the second building, so it was quiet and calm, but of course that also meant no view of the sea directly. The room was simple, modern and clean. The pool area was very busy and the outside pool was tiny, inside (sea water) pool was a lot bigger. The gym had some of the oldest equipment I have ever seen and some of it broken, but we managed just fine. You can easily go and swim in the sea from the hotel and there are a lot of activities nearby, such as diving schools, tennis courts, a football field and pedal boats for rent to name a few. The city center of Pula is just a short bus ride away and the bus stop is not too far from the hotel, the buses pass the stop every 10 minutes or so. We had a small issue with our key cards on our second day, we were booked for 2 nights, something that the hotel was very much aware of at check-in, but seemed to have forgotten while preparing our key cards. On the second day when we came back to the hotel neither of our key cards worked so we were locked out of our room. The hotel tried to claim we must have somehow deactivated our cards, which I thought was pretty stupid as it was clearly their mistake. However, this was quickly fixed and after this they were also happy to have an iron sent to our room on my request, so I would still deem the service level rather good.

Breakfast, which was included in the price, was my favorite part of the hotel. There were so many choices, pancakes that were being freshly made, freshly baked croissants, plenty of fruit, cakes, french toast, yogurts, bread, eggs, omelets, bacon... you name it and they had it.

One thing to note is that while the lounge chairs around the pool are free to use, the lounge chairs at the water are not free. This we didn't realize straight away, as they seemed to belong to the hotel as well.

Good vacation hotel in every way, seemed to be very family friendly as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Park Plaza Histria Pula, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel for your stay. We take great pride in what the hotel has to offer as well as the gracious service that is extended by our team. Your kind words about our staff and service will be shared with all the members. We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the small gym issues. Please note that we have already checked and solve almost all of them. If your travel plans brings you back to Croatia, we would be happy to host you again!

Kind Regards,
The Park Plaza Histria Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pula
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
0.6 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Park Plaza Belvedere Medulin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Valsabbion
Hotel Valsabbion
#5 of 32 in Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
19.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.5 mi away
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Histria Pula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Histria Pula

Property: Park Plaza Histria Pula
Address: Ulica Verudella 17, Pula 52100, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Pula
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pula
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pula
#3 Family Hotel in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Histria Pula 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza Histria Pula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Histria Hotel Pula
Park Plaza Histria Pula Croatia - Istria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing