We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Hotel Valsabbion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Valsabbion
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I've been coming here for a number of years and it's just perfect. I took my fiance there for the first time a couple of years ago, and despite everywhere I take her around the world, she just wants to come back! Whilst it is disappointing the restaurant closed - such a shame - this is still a hotel of the highest calibre. It's got a real quality, boutiquey feel to it, with only a dozen rooms or so, all different. You get a feeling of comfort and class. The staff are incredibly helpful - we were here for four days and wanted to see the Brijoni Islands (a must visit) - the staff just went ahead and put us in contact to organise all of this. Always eager to please. At the top of the hotel there is a small spa, and one of my favourite things is to put on a dressing gown, and walk up to the top with a glass of wine, and watch the sun go down over the sea whilst chilling in the pool. This is on the expensive side, but I think it's worth it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlio13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    26
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
75
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
850 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 500 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Whilst I did lots of research for the the other hotels I stayed at in Istria I didn't even look elsewhere for our stay in Pula as I had been aware of the Valsabbion name for many years. The restaurant has been highly acclaimed for a long time and the hotel of the same name looks delightful on the website. So I was disappointed at the time of booking to discover that the restaurant is 'not operating in 2012.' No explanation why. However we booked to stay one night at the hotel. Outside appearances did not disappoint, it is a handsome villa with trendy bar, cool chill-out zones and arty signage. We were shown to our room which was up 3 flights of stairs, there is no lift so my husband had to lug the case up. The room was awful; dark, poky and old fashioned with the kind of wardrobe one might expect to see in student digs. The cupboard sized bathroom was an apparition of 1980's beige. The view from our scratty window overlooked the carcass of an abandoned building project. Various piles of pointless cushions were scattered about the room. We had to laugh! And then kick ourselves for not booking a sea view! The hotel is situated in a suburb of Pula, overlooking a pleasant enough bay, and a rather uninteresting marina. Despite the proliferation of yachts there were no desirable restaurants to be found. In addition to Valsabbion restaurant being closed, another Timeout Guide restaurant recommendation, Vela Nera had closed down and we noted others that had shut up shop. The area has a lot of handsome villas but there was an air of a place in decline. Breakfast was unimpressive, a tiny rather sad unreplenished buffet, though cooked offerings were available and the lady serving was sweet. Post dinner drinks on the terrace were pleasurable though we noted service stopped at 11pm and we saw some residents turned away. Upsides - the bed was comfortable and we had a peaceful nights sleep. Staff in general are homely and kind. There is a very small but delightful pool with super rooftop views. Pula itself is less beautiful than many other areas of Istria and its must do sights such as the Amphitheatre could easily be explored as a day trip from more desirable locations such as Rovin,j though we did have a fantastic evening in the town as it buzzes by night. In conclusion, with the restaurant closed, there is not a huge amount to make Valsabbion worth a recommendation.

Room Tip: Remember to qo for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrstraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in the Valsabbion which is located in Pjescana Uala, a small village about 5km outside Pula ... so if downtown Pula is what you are looking for, bear this in mind. The Valsabbion is across the road from a stony beach and the hotel has its own private area, which is good. We really enjoyed our stay ... we had an excellent room and balcony overlooking the sea; the breakfasts, drinks and snacks (restaurant is closed for dinner unfortunately) were top class - and with a presentation standard we did not see elsewhere in the area; the staff were great - interested, attentive and helpful. We would have no hesitation recommending a stay at the Valsabbion ....

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Breakingoutnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We were taking a boat charter from the marina which is in walking distance so it was very convenient. Slightly tired in parts And too mant decorative cushions but clean with lovely friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Outside of the city of Pula but on the beach (no sand, just pebbles), this is a nice hotel. No elevator but a nice room, very clean and our room had a private terrace but one without a view. I think this area is a good destination for those wanting to sit on a beach and swim in the sea. There was a private area for sitting with regular lounge chairs and some round couches with curtains-a little over the top-above the beach area. We thought the breakfast was overpriced for Croatia although we had it anyway and had eggs made to order and the usual fruit, bread, toast and cereal. The staff was nice. There was a little swimming pool on the top floor that was pleasant to use.

Room Tip: Room 13 has a private terrace but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lpennin104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We have spend a nice weekend on the end of may and found this beautiful place Hotel Valsabbion.
Pefect location next to the beach, very nice service , very clean and very nice and miodern design.We highlly recomand this beautiful place to stay for a holiday.
Dont forget the Spa area on the top floor.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ines46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Me and my wife visited beautifull Istria and we found a small pearl close to city of Pula. Located on the beach everything is perfectly cared and we realy spent exellent two days in a small paradise. This is a "must" when you visit Pula, Croatia.

Room Tip: Sea view room is realy beautifull
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pula hotels
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
0.2 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Villa Vulin
Villa Vulin
#8 of 31 in Pula
45 reviews
0.8 mi away
Brioni Hotel
Brioni Hotel
#17 of 31 in Pula
262 reviews
0.5 mi away
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valsabbion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valsabbion

Property: Hotel Valsabbion
Address: Pjescana uvala IX 26, Pula 52100, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pula
#3 Spa Hotel in Pula
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pula
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valsabbion 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valsabbion... Like you - Unique! Boutique hotel with the most famous restaurant in Croatia. On the top floor is a swimming pool with a beautiful sea view and medical SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Valsabbion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valsabbion Hotel Pula
Hotel Valsabbion Pula, Croatia - Istria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing