We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“relaxing modern environment” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valsabbion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Valsabbion
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Pula
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“relaxing modern environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here are really enjoyed our visit. The pool area is really relaxing and beautifully decorated. It has a complete chill out atmosphere with plenty of soft furnishings. The area is quiet but has a nice view and marina village which is pleasant. Our room didn't have a view but we did spend time on our patio which had a nice chair. Breakfast wasn't included in the price so we didn't avail of it.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    23
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
67
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and myself have just returned from a 10 stay stay at "Valsabbion" and we did not want to leave. We stayed in a Premier sea view room which was large and nicely furnished and worth paying the little extra for as the views are lovely. We took a travel kettle as I had noticed that there wasn't one so no problem with making drinks at all Did not see the smaller rooms but they are at the back without such an amazing view. Maid service very day and the hotel is spotless. Masses of white towels and pool towels provided and also robes and slippers. Did I mention that this hotel is only officially 3*. I was told that it's because it has no lift or covered stairway etc. Id rather have the personal service and personal touches.
There is an outdoor pool which is a good size for the size of the hotel and plenty of sun beds. Just across a small and quiet little road there is a gazebo/tent type place with drapes, sofas, cushions, tables and throws. If you don't want to be in the sun it is a perfect place to sit and read and enjoy the view.
The close surrounding area doesn't really offer a lot but that suited us too. I would definitely recommend hiring a car whilst here too just so that you can out and about and see some of beautiful Istra/Croatia.
Sonia and her staff are amazing. She was there nearly every day all day during our stay and she really did give a very personal touch to our stay. She recommended places to visit that were stunning and places to eat that were perfect. From the very first day she knew what we drank at breakfast and prepared it as soon as we came down and asked if there was anything we would like that was n't there. Anyone that complains about a lack of things to eat at breakfast must be extremely "picky"! Very attentive but not intrusive in any way.
We like to be a little bit away from the hustle and bustle so it was just right for us.
It is a little way from Pula but we hired a car for the full 10 days and travelled easily around most of Istria! I can recommend the drive up the east coast to Opetije, a visit to Porec old town on the east coast, a day trip to the island of Cres(especially Valbun) and visiting the fortified towns of Boljun, Roc, Motovun and Grosjan.
The hotel was exactly what we were looking for. Small and friendly with a large serving of luxury. A 3* hotel with 5* service. We have stayed in quite a few 5*hotels and this was at least as good and on the whole better than most. Would we return to this hotel. Absolutely!!!!! Thank you Sonia, Sandra and all the ladies there for a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Go for sea view! Makes a huge difference! Did not use the spa so cannot comment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annie1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

It was not my firts time here but I always come back since they are very professional, I admire interior design, gourmet breakfast and outside swimming pool. Staff is exellent, they help me find everything I need in Pula. Rooms are very clean, nicely decorated and well equiped. I really liked there. People, ypu must try it, you won't be sorry!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boris_1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

I have benn many times in Valsabbion since I admire their rooms and friendly staff. But tihis time the supriise was even bigger : they made an outside pool. It is great during the day for swimming and by nihgt it is a great place for romantic drink and relax.

Room Tip: Best hotel for couples!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann2075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

NOTE THAT IN CROATIA THEY USE KORUNA NOT EUROS.


Was good trip, but no point in returning for me as this was a visit to assess Pula's suitability for groups.


Boutique B&B Hotel:

Pros:
attentive and friendly staff
(Ask hotel to organise transfer from airport. Big Edi will charge for 190.00 Koruna)
spacious premium bedrooms,
comfortable beds
good quality and comfortable furnishings,
Good standard of decor,
great sea views from the premium rooms
good location next to the beach
Free wifi
Lots of little dishes available for breakfast, but if
hotel was busy this would be rubbish as easily exhausted.
Nice touches, such as blankets for cold evenings
Seating area close to the beach.
Very easy access to beach and very clean sea.
Good choice for couples wanting a little romantic hideaway.

Cons:

THE RESTAURANT IS CLOSED! THIS IS A PAIN as off season local choices are limited.

Active building site to rear of hotel, admittedly not too noisy when I was there.

Hotel is quite far out of Pula. Taxi or 40-50 min walk to get in.
Walked the route through residential area of Pula. Was quite easy if not
very scenic as area is run down.

Std size normal bedrooms have quite poor light
Small/tiny bathrooms
No tea/coffee in bedrooms
No price list for mini-bar

Only scrambled, boiled or omelette available as the cooked breakfast option.
so no fabulous tasty sausages!

There is no lift at this hotel for anyone who struggles with stairs.


Some good historical sites in Pula and it is still a working harbour. So suitable for both beach and active holidays. Hotel Valsabbion is NOT in Pula but some distance away.

Restaurant options seemed a bit limited in Pula and definitedly poor choice where the hotel is located. Tried the LANTERN restaurant recommended by the hotel and felt this was a poor choice. In my view the relaxed restaurant available in the local marina (Out of hotel turn right and down into the marina, keep walking as restaurant is 10 mins on the right), was great. The staff spoke English, the range of food was excellent, fish platter was very fresh and substantial, and they even had live music on Friday night!

Also had drinks and tasty snacks at the Cafe Caramba, Mexican and out of the way, but didn't have time to visit for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a premium room on the top floor with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

I have again visited small luxury hotel Valsabbion in Pješčana uvala near Pula, big news is that they have two more facilities-studion OM in Medulin and Villa Munz in the center of Pula, near ancient Arena. Studio is great for two people stay (my friends went there) and Villa is awesome in this part of the year, when is not too hot...It is a big place for 4 people-two bedrooms, great living room. I checked everything since I am planning to go back there. Maybe with some friend or relatives.
Hotel is still great as it was, breakfast is maybe even better-they always serve something new and fresh. I hate boring breakfast, and this one is delicious, ofcoure still with home made bread.
Rooms are celan and comfortable and stuff very nice. Medical Spa has some new treatmants. All together it is also great value for money.

Room Tip: Depends on what you like every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann2075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick
Level Contributor
143 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

A last minute decision to stay here the night before we flew home was an excellent one !!
We arrived by car, parked up and were soon settled in the outside chill out zone with a bottle of wine. Check in was effortless and a pleasure, offered a sea view room at a little extra, made the stay special. We took a cab into Pula and loved the ampitheatre, phoned the hotel to ask for dinner recomendation, they emailed details and we took a cab to where they said and it was excellent....good help from them. The hotel is very stylish and a has a very high spec and standard. All the staff were so friendly, helpful and professional. The breakfast was beautiful, all in all a very good experience and ended our beautiful week in Croatia on a massive high !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebell2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pula
0.8 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.3 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hotel Monte Mulini
Hotel Monte Mulini
#1 of 23 in Rovinj
5.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Vulin
Villa Vulin
#7 of 32 in Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valsabbion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valsabbion

Property: Hotel Valsabbion
Address: Pjescana uvala IX 26, Pula 52100 , Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pula
#2 Spa Hotel in Pula
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pula
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Valsabbion 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valsabbion... Like you - Unique! Boutique hotel with the most famous restaurant in Croatia. On the top floor is a swimming pool with a beautiful sea view and medical SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Valsabbion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valsabbion Hotel Pula
Hotel Valsabbion Pula, Croatia - Istria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing