We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for 2 stars hotel”
Review of Brioni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brioni Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

All the personal is so friendly and the hotel is totally by the beach so if you have sea side you can enjoy the sun set.
We took family room and we had really big rooms with a lot of space and a lot of place for clothes but the rooms honestly could be cleaner, also I did not like birds poop on the balconys.
Breakfast was very good with a lot of options.
Hotel have parking but most of the time is not very close so you need to walk a little.
What I really missed was wi fi that is available just in reception longue.
Hotel have beach but all are just rocks... but there is also very nice beach just few minutes walk with stones and sea aqua park for exstra charge also umbrellas and chairs in this beach are for paying. Restaurant in this beach named "ambrela beach" is so good really great service and fantastic food and not expensive.
In general very close to hotel is a lot of options for activities since there is sport center. Also a lot of stuff for kids...

I can easy say it is the best 2 stars hotel I ever been in....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Anibas15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the friendliness of our personal as well as the breakfast options provided. On a more negative note, we are sad to know that you were not satisfied with our cleaning service. Your comments will be shared with our staff and actions will be taken immediately.
Thank you once again for choosing us and we hope to have the possibility to host you anytime soon!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

I'll start with a positive, the food was nice. After a really long journey, we got to our room and couldn't wait for a good sleep....The room was so hot and there was no air conditioning. I went to reception to ask for a fan in which the receptionist replied 'no we don't have fans, just open the balcony door'. I told him we would rather not as we didn't want all the bugs to come in, so he said there was nothing he could do. In the middle of June you'd expect at least a fan or some water, but no. We guessed we could get over it but the room had a stained bath, a chipped toilet seat and tiles. The next day we went out for the day and as there was no safe for our things we decided to put a 'do not disturb' sign on the door as we weren't too bothered about new towels etc. On our return to the room we noticed the sign wasn't on the door. Surprise, surprise, the maids had been in. Now we could have let it be and appreciated it but all they had had done is made the bed, left everything else AND left the balcony door open! All our belongings were in the room and they left the door open after being asked to not disturb! I asked at reception and they just said 'it is hotel policy'....not once have I been to a hotel where they have to clean the room as it is hotel policy.
As we had a very early check out the next day we asked if it would be best to check out before we went to bed but the receptionist said it would be best to do it at 4am when we left. When we went to check out, we wanted to pay some cash and some card. The receptionist told us he would not accept cash and we should have done it before bed, so we told him the earlier receptionist told us to do it now and he replied 'haha well I'll have to check with them', as if we were making it up! All in all, I will not be returning.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Azzibeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that your stay was not satisfactory and that you didn't receive the service deserved. Also, we would like to point out
that all of your remarks don't reflect the high standard of service of the Brioni Hotel. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team in order to investigate your comments further and take actions accordingly. If you plan a return visit to Pula, we would be very happy to have the chance to welcome you again and restore your faith in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Initial impressions were good. Beautiful location on the seashore, lovely room on top floor, overlooking swimming pool, with sea view. Room well equipped; lots of storage space; bathroom with bidet, bath & shower; comfortable beds with good quality linen - but very tired towels let it down.

Breakfast was good especially when enjoyed on the terrace outside, with views to the sea. After dinner drinks could also be consumed on this terrace from where the sunsets were quite spectacular.

Food was very predictable in a school dinner sort of way. It did help that draft beer, red & white wine were available on tap at dinner time.

This hotel is not suitable for unfit people as there are steep steps everywhere and frequently at irregular angles. However the local walks in every direction are excellent - quite spectacular.

Our main gripe were the 4 large groups of school children who joined us for 4 days & who were followed one day later by 500 youth team footballers who completely took over the whole complex. We were ousted into a small annex area for meals. We found this completely unacceptable. It also meant that there were very few ordinary customers, the type you would expect to meet on holiday & so we felt we never made friends with anyone. The noise level was atrocious. We have never been more pleased to end a holiday by the end of it. The staff were brilliant throughout.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking swimming pool so long as there were no large groups of school children/youth g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valgonow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, room and breakfast. Most importantly, we are pleased to know that you found our staff brilliant throughout.
On a more negative note, we must apologize for the experience you have described in regards to the noise. It is clear from what you have written that your stay was not to the usual high standard we offer. We invite you to contact us directly on zklaric@arenaturist.hr if you plan a future return. We’ll do our best to make it up to you for the inconveniences experienced.

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

we were there for 4 nights. it's easy to get there, you have a bus that drives you to the city center. the hotel is excellent except the air conditioning - and we need it for we had 2 days of 40 degrees celsius outside. we had breakfast and dinner and it was a variety of food (at dinner we had all sorts of meat - fish, chicken, pork and veal every night and like 4-5 variety of vegetables and salads) like in 4 stars hotels including drinks at your discretion. the pool is great and the place for having swimming in the sea it was ok. carefull of the rocks in the sea, but many places are this way you need shoes to go into the water. the sea is clear and nice colour. Lovely view and nice resort complex verudela. Very nice stuff and helpfull. The rooms are clean and nice and we had a balcony to view the sea... it was amazing. Very good value for money and a nice place to stay away from the center city and all the noise. Worth trying!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing hotel Brioni for your holidays.
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's location, our gastronomic offer and the helpfulness of our staff. Your remarks about the air conditioning will be forwarded to our Maintenance & Support team. If your travel brings you back to Croatia, please contact our team at booking@arenaturist.hr and they'll help you with your reservation.
Looking forward to welcome you anytime soon in Brioni hotel!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at Brioni for a week in august 2013, and it was great time spent in there! We picked that hotel after reading dozens of reviews.. and I gotta say we didnt regret even for a minute! Stuff is really welcoming, friendly and helpful! Food is nice, rooms are clean.. no aircon wasnt been a big deal because we came not for staying in the room 24/7. Bus station is few minutes waling, though its easy to get to the centre by foot, takes just 25 minutes walking. Wifi is avaliable at reception, kinda slow, but always working. Swimming pool with sea water for those who dont like sea swimming. In general we had a pleasant stay for real.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KennyFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and that you found our staff welcoming and helpful. Providing excellent customer service is our top priority and we are happy to know that our efforts were recognized.
We hope to welcome you soon for another pleasant stay!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed at Hotel Brioni on the night of the 2nd September after it being recommended from a tourist office in Pula center.

We had a nightmare experience in an apartment in Pula center, so forfeited the rest of our stay in search of something better.

A 20 minute bus ride from Pula center on the 2A line, and we were there. Staff were immediately a refreshing change, friendly and helpful. The hotel is located in Verudela resort complex, right on the sea. There are lovely views, a few shops, supermarket, and restaurants and other hotels and pools in the resort.

The hotel was clean yet it obviously is dated. I personally found this very interesting, I imagined what the world was like 30 years ago and really enjoyed it. Small strange things one would probably never experience first-hand these days - the intercom near the bed, the decor and design.

The room was basic, but clean and with a wonderful sea view from the terrace. No WIFI in the room, but it's free in the lobby. Who really wants to sit on a laptop on Facebook when you could be out on the beach or walking in the nearby pine forest; 2 or 3 times a day in the lobby was enough. We went when the temperature was around 25deg, so the lack of air-con or fridge wasn't a big issue, but I can imagine this could be a problem in the very hot months.

A jet-ski rental, para-sail and various other things are available at the beach and there is another beach 2 mins away with other offers.

The buffet in the morning was adequate, and lots of choice, better than a lot of places. There was no room service available, but there is a dinner buffet in the hotel, and restaurants nearby. We chose the pizza place about 5min away which was cheap and friendly. There is a fish restaurant 15min walk along the entrance road on the right, and another with a lovely terrace (although I thought a bit pricey) on the left about 5min walk (still in the complex).

The staff ordered a taxi for us to the airport, which arrived 10mins late, but it was a lovely drive and we had the time to spare. 200 Kuna quoted from the front desk, and the driver didn't charge a Lipa extra.

Lovely overall, Hotel Brioni, your location and amazing staff turned our experience of Pula from a medium one, into a good one.

Room Tip: Choose a sea-view room if you can, on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nanook2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel Brioni for your stay. We are happy to hear that we were able to transform your Croatian experience from medium to a good one.
Knowing that you appreciate the cleanliness of our hotel as well as the wonderful view from our hotel is our great satisfaction. If you plan a return visit, please do reach our team at: booking@arenaturist.hr and we'll be more than happy to help you with your reservation.
We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you anytime soon!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I stayed at The Brioni Hotel for a week at the beginning of August.
Prior to booking, I looked over almost all of the Trip Advisor comments (!) to get an idea of the hotel's standards and was well aware that there was no air con in any rooms or reception.
However, nothing can quite prepare you for the 24/7 heat! it was relentless, especially at night. I had to stand in the supermarket just to cool down (one of the only places with air con!)

Aside from this one point, the hotel was fine. The evening food was delicious, with a selection of salads, bread rolls, cheese, meats, assorted pasta dishes to choose from, as well as hot food such as chicken, fish, curries, spagetti, roast dinners. There was also a selection of soft drinks, red/ white wine (which was actually surprising decent if you only had one glass, after that it tastes a bit like its burning!) and draft beer.

Its true that the beach consists of just rocks and concrete, but the sea is so refreshing and clear- you can see fish swin underneath your feet.
There are also a number of other hotels on the complex, and you can go to their "beaches" or pools if you're not a fan of the area surrounding Brioni Hotel.

There is a bus stop on the complex, and it takes about 10-15 mins to get into Pula town, depending on the traffic. There's also bike hire on site, which is a nice alternative to get around.

If you are not on a family holiday, I would recommend going out to Pula in the evening, as the hotel complex can be a bit family orientated.
The staff at hotel reception are helpful with planning and booking excursions, and there's quite a selection to choose from.

I booked this trip with teletext holidays, and was not expecting a 5 star luxury resort- as I didn't pay for that! What I got was (aside from air con) a functioning hotel, with friendly staff, nice food, and a place to crash at night so that I could explore Pula. Perfect!
This hotel is surrounded by beautiful scenery, and probably the one and only thing I would want to improve is the lack of air con.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hampton1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel functional, staff friendly and our food nice. Providing excellent customer service is our main priority and we are happy to hear that you notice our efforts. On a more negative note, we are sad to hear that the lack of the air conditioning made you feel uncomfortable during your stay. If you plan a return visit to our city, please do contact us at: booking@arenaturist.hr. Our team will be more than happy to assist you with your inquiries.
Looking forward to welcome you in the nearest future!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pula hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.7 mi away
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
4 mi away
Adrion Aparthotel
Adrion Aparthotel
#6 of 31 in Pula
39 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pula City Point Rooms
Pula City Point Rooms
#20 of 31 in Pula
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brioni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brioni Hotel

Address: Ulica Verudella 16, Pula 52100, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Price Range: £57 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brioni Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Brioni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brioni Hotel Pula, Croatia - Istria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing