We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yugoslavia in the 1970s”
Review of Brioni Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brioni Hotel
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Avoid at all cost, unless you're looking for a time warp back to Yugoslavia in the 1970s. And I'm not talking about retro chic.

The rooms are extremely tired and haven't been refurbished in the last 30 years or so. The restaurant is a dining hall from that same era, as is the lobby. Which btw is the only place with WiFi coverage.

Rooms without AC, lacking basic bathroom supplies. The entire "resort" is open to general public, hence no amenities on the rocky steps which are labelled as beach.

Only positive aspects are the location on the Verudela peninsula and the views to the open sea.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Alain H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our location and the views on the open sea. In regards to your comments about the overall decor and facilities, please note that our hotel is exactly as we promoted on our website. It has a lower star rating (2 stars) and it has everything that is written on our and partner’s websites.
That being said, we wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you maybe in some other Arenaturist facilities that will better suit your needs!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good for sun-bathing and swimming. Situated in the touristic are (isolated) so you have to take a bus to the center (goes every 20mins or so). Hotel pretty worn-out 70s style but rooms are clean and quiet. We had a balcony towards the sea so beautiful view (sunsets!) and though no air-con, keeping the balcony door open made our room quite cool for the 3 nights we spent in Brioni. Breakfast was good and dinner good as well, especially the fish plates were excellent. Staff was a bit unfriendly and information about check-in/-out hours, towels and restaurants nearby (there are just a few) varied a lot depending on whom you asked or what brochure you read. That was weird. Wi-Fi worked poorly: only in the lobby and there very slowly or not at all. Overall nice stay but the hotel could use a bit of upgrading in style and service ;)

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SaaraKa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, the beautiful view from the balcony and our gastronomic offer. On a more negative note, we are really disappointed to read that you found some of our staff unfriendly and Wi-Fi poor. Rest assured that actions will be taken immediately where needed. We hope you will give us a chance to serve you in the future!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel on halb board 7 days. We booked this hotel over internet and it was without problems. Really everything was perfect - for that pricegroup... You dont have to await some luxury hotel or sth similar, but really, for that price it is a good choice!!! The food is excellent, beach also.
One negative thing - in the Verudela area is only one disco, for a good nightfun and nightlife you have to go to Pula - about 5km from the Hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank petto77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you choosing our hotel for your stay and for giving us a good rating. We are happy to hear that everything was perfect during your stay and that you found our food excellent. If you plan a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed in hotel Brioni for 7 days on half broad in the beginning of July. We found it on the internet as one of the best service/cost ratio offers in Istra. We booked the hotel over internet and everything was good. And after staying there for one week we still think it is an excellent choice. Have in mind that this is a 2* hotel, and price is set accordingly. It is not a place you would choose for a honeymoon or something similar but it is excellent budget vacation in Croatia.
Hotel is located on Verudela peninsula. In our opinion, that is excellent location in Pula. It is away from the city centre but you have a direct bus connection between hotel and city centre for just 1 Euro. On this peninsula are three hotels which share parking. Parking is crowded but usually it is possible to find place somewhere. Whole peninsula is in pine forest which is great - cools down summer climate (there is no air-conditioning in rooms).
Beach is just next to hotel. This beach is stone and we don't like this so we didn't use it. But within 10 minutes of walk you have several lovely gravel beaches. We liked the most one called zlatne stjene.
Hotel also has a small pool which is convenient in case of bad weather.
Breakfast and dinner are excellent. The best I have seen in a 2* hotel. Plenty to choose from. Dinner also fabulous. Every night there is also a choice of fish as well. And everything is refilled regularly so you don't have to wait in line when the restaurant opens because there will be plenty of food for everyone - and drinks also. When I mentioned this - there is free draft beer and wine during dinner! Very nice. And dining area has a balcony overlooking sea which offers nice atmosphere.
Staff is friendly.
Free Wi-Fi is available but only near the reception area.
The only downside are rooms. Here can be seen that it is a 2* hotel. They are cleaned regularly and towels are also changed frequently. No problems regarding cleanness. But furniture is quite dated. In our opinion this is ok for a budget vacation. Problem was bed mattress which was old and not comfortable and should be replaced. Our room was looking at the main entrance and pine forest which offered nice view.
Considering everything, we think this is great deal and it is likely that we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dexter21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your words of appreciation on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff friendly, our gastronomic offer excellent and our hotel one of the best service/cost ratio offers in Istra. Your comments about our mattress will be shared with our Housekeeping Manager and actions will be taken where required.
We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you in the future!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is located in a very nice place, in a pinewood together with other hotels and houses.
So, it's directly on the seaside (rocks and platforms just downstair and a stone beach five minute walk) and just 5 km far from the center of Pula and from the natural reservation of Kamenijak.
The structure is a bit old but restored and with large spaces (reception, room, restaurant).
Great breakfast with a lot of choices ; you can get it on the terrace, looking at the sea.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel's location and our breakfast selection. It would be our greatest pleasure to host you anytime soon!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Stay away from this hotel. The rooms are awful. Absolutely filthy and you can hear every word from next door. We were there on our honey moon and we had to move. The pictures on Google are photo shopped

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lynnenes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your honeymoon. We are disappointed to hear that you didn’t like our hotel. On sites like TripAdvisor our valuable guests have the possibility to check traveller photos of our hotel and surroundings and verify every single detail of it. We never photoshop any of them and we are sorry that you consider them non real.
We wish you all the best and look forward to welcome you in the future!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

All the personal is so friendly and the hotel is totally by the beach so if you have sea side you can enjoy the sun set.
We took family room and we had really big rooms with a lot of space and a lot of place for clothes but the rooms honestly could be cleaner, also I did not like birds poop on the balconys.
Breakfast was very good with a lot of options.
Hotel have parking but most of the time is not very close so you need to walk a little.
What I really missed was wi fi that is available just in reception longue.
Hotel have beach but all are just rocks... but there is also very nice beach just few minutes walk with stones and sea aqua park for exstra charge also umbrellas and chairs in this beach are for paying. Restaurant in this beach named "ambrela beach" is so good really great service and fantastic food and not expensive.
In general very close to hotel is a lot of options for activities since there is sport center. Also a lot of stuff for kids...

I can easy say it is the best 2 stars hotel I ever been in....

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Anibas15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arena T, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the friendliness of our personal as well as the breakfast options provided. On a more negative note, we are sad to know that you were not satisfied with our cleaning service. Your comments will be shared with our staff and actions will be taken immediately.
Thank you once again for choosing us and we hope to have the possibility to host you anytime soon!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pula hotels
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
0.1 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
0.7 mi away
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Adrion Aparthotel
Adrion Aparthotel
#6 of 31 in Pula
36 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Valsabbion
Hotel Valsabbion
#5 of 31 in Pula
125 reviews
2.5 mi away
Amfiteatar Hotel
Amfiteatar Hotel
#10 of 31 in Pula
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brioni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brioni Hotel

Address: Ulica Verudella 16, Pula 52100, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Price Range: £57 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Brioni Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Brioni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brioni Hotel Pula, Croatia - Istria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing