We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average but friendly”
Review of Hotel Galija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Galija
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Hvar, Croatia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Average but friendly”
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Our group of 5 booked twin rooms and we got them, but one was awfully "smoked" and really small but was changed without hesitation to a bigger and smoke-free one.
Position of the hotel is just in the center but we would recommend to stay outside of Pula at one of the nice ressorts on the beach and either visit Pula driving in with the car or take a taxi (Taxis Cammeo are extra cheap and reliable).
Breakfast is simple but for a small hotel acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hvaranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    50
    38
    22
    9
See reviews for
30
63
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mitspe Ramon, Israel
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Not bad, but heavily overpriced. Small room, no elevator. On the bright side, it is rather close to city center. Staff is friendly and their restaurant is OK. The same is true for parking. The price would sound reasonable for Madrid, Paris or even Prague, but not for Pula.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boris_Krasnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We decided upon Hotel Galija due to its location and being a last minute trip limited availability. I contacted the hotel prior to getting to Croatia to obtain directions from the bus station, and they were very helpful and prompt in their reply. The location of the hotel is very good and central and easy to get around Pula. The hotel also has a restaurant which we used and had a nice reasonably meal. The room was quite dated and in a desperate need of redecoration and updating and was fairly expensive for what you actually got. The big problem was the breakfast, which was not very good at all. The hotel really needs to improve this area of their service.

However the hotel did have fast and more importantly free wi-fi and the staf were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinoringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Staff was very friendly with us, we didn't check in till after 11pm and he recommended several places for us to eat. They had free parking which is a perk sense most parking in the area was paid parking. The room was a little small for my taste but it was very clean and the bed was comfortable, I couldn't imagine spending several days in that room but for one night it was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckenziemc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Really expensive for the kind of service. Absolutely disgusting breakfast. There was nothing in the tables, bad quality food, no waiter to ask for the things (forks, knives, etc). Very bad treatment and incompetent personal in the reception. They wanted to charge us more money than it should be. We had problems and we asked for the boss and he never appeared. The view is bad. The parking place really small. I don´t recommend it at all.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vigo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pula hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The hotel front desk is nice and helpful. Had the new rooms, great size with two bedrooms and living area. Kitchen area not finished so no fridge. We had to ask for some ice at their bar as recommended by the front desk. We were being helped by a female staff member but the pizza chef interrupted and was rude. He didn't want to give us much ice and told us we should have reserved a room with a fridge. I told the girl in the front desk about it and she apologized for what happened. I was really disappointed how rude this guy treated us, because the other staff were friendly but he just ruined everything...Hope the hotel will do something about it. Beware of this Pizza chef!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you book a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

Located a short walk from the centre in a quiet side street this is a good place from which to explore the city, buses to the beach are also just around the corner. The room was nice, and the A.C. thankfully worked. The bathroom a bit small but OK, the shower didn't work properly and the staff did not fix it so we fixed it ourselves. Breakfast was on the low end of the scale with sweaty cheese, overcooked green eggs and warm juice, so I'd recommend going out instead. Overall an OK experience.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pula hotels
2.4 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
2.1 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Amfiteatar Hotel
Amfiteatar Hotel
#8 of 31 in Pula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Scaletta
Hotel Scaletta
#11 of 31 in Pula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.5 mi away
Adrion Aparthotel
Adrion Aparthotel
#9 of 31 in Pula
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.9 mi away
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galija

Property: Hotel Galija
Address: Epulonova Ulica 3, Pula 52100, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galija 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galija, a small family hotel located on the south of the Istrian peninsula in centre of the 3000 year old town of Pula. Modernly equipped, it offers a pleasant stay to its guests all year round. Hotel Galija is oriented towards tourists, travellers and business people. It offers the possibility of organizing small business banquets and business seminars. Our restaurant is the source of Istrian, Mediterranean and international cuisine that binds tradition and proficiency of our chefs. We offer homemade pizzas from a wood-fired oven. Location! Location! Location! We are located in the town centre in the vicinity of ancient monuments that belong to the rich heritage of Pula's history. In the vicinity of the hotel there are many banks, main post office, which are at service to our business clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Galija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galija Hotel Pula
Hotel Galija Pula, Croatia - Istria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing