We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ordinary Boutique Hotel - at 5 star prices” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Galija

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Galija
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Pula
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Ordinary Boutique Hotel - at 5 star prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

A small, clean and tidy property set in a perfect location for discovering Pula old town. The hotel is split and is on 2 sides of a small street. The side that houses the restaurant is the old part with the new and updated part of the hotel on the other. I can't comment on the standard of the old part of the hotel but the new rooms are what you would expect from a small, mid-range boutique hotel - reasonable sized rooms with modern decoration. The beds are probably the most comfortable I have slept in for a long time and the air conditioning was really effective which was a bonus as it was HOT!!!! Servicing was quick and effective and breakfast was ok although it appeared to be a constant battle for the staff to keep it stocked. All in all the Hotel is fine but they are charging 5* prices (over £100 a night) for what is very much a 3* hotel. I would use it again - mainly because of the location but will be looking elsewhere first.

Room Tip: Insist on a room in the new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chief123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    49
    38
    22
    9
See reviews for
30
61
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

We booked at short notice after a weekend in Venice. 2 rooms, 2+2 and another for our parents. Rooms have been renovated, our room was a 2bdr apartment, whilst not yet finished was comfortable and quiet with all creature comforts, wifi, cable tv, aircon etc ... Have to say the staff were excellent, went out of their way to help us find a rental car. Central location, easy access to Pula attractions and 150kn each way from the airport. The restaurant food is great and the pizzas some of the best I've eaten - even after being in Italy for a week. We normally stay in $$$$ hotels and Hotel Galija gave us a welcome bed for the night. Our only criticism is the relatively simple breakfast offering similarly as described in other reviews.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DLo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

Very central, and easy street parking, but we arrived quite late and were given a scruffy strangely elongated room on the ground floor next to the reception. Maybe the rest of the hotel on the other side of the road is better, but our experience was decidedly negative. The room was old, with a tiny window and steps up to the bathroom. It was very stuffy and probably no longer really cleanable. The air conditioning didn't work and the shower bracket had broken so you had to hold it to wash yourself.
All the same I slept reasonably well as the bed was quite comfortable and I was very tired. This travesty of a hotel room would have cost €90, if I hadn't managed to haggle it down to €72. The staff were OK, but clearly didn't see my point.

Room Tip: Probably you should only accept a room in the main part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gat2nero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Pula hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Good: location, large room, Air conditioning, refrig, safe in room, breakfast
Bad: mattress was terrible and antique bed frame squeaky, no elevator, thin walls so it was a bit noisy

Our room was called Nicol

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnabisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osijek, Croatia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013 via mobile

Hotel is almost in the center. Rooms are clean and big enough. WiFi is free of charge. There is free parking also nearby. Breakfast is standard and offers enough for a good day start. In case of sightseeing all mayor sights are very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erohrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

Noisy Traffic by the room window early in the morning, bad food, garage you can't put dissent car in, staff do not smile, cheap furniture...
Avoid if you can!
I doubt any good reviews of this hotel are written by real guests.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessa1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hvar, Croatia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Our group of 5 booked twin rooms and we got them, but one was awfully "smoked" and really small but was changed without hesitation to a bigger and smoke-free one.
Position of the hotel is just in the center but we would recommend to stay outside of Pula at one of the nice ressorts on the beach and either visit Pula driving in with the car or take a taxi (Taxis Cammeo are extra cheap and reliable).
Breakfast is simple but for a small hotel acceptable.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hvaranka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pula hotels
2.1 mi away
Oasi - Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Park Plaza Arena Pula
0.2 mi away
Amfiteatar Hotel
Amfiteatar Hotel
#9 of 32 in Pula
3.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Park Plaza Histria Pula
1.9 mi away
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Scaletta
Hotel Scaletta
#8 of 32 in Pula
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Galija? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Galija

Property: Hotel Galija
Address: Epulonova Ulica 3, Pula 52100, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Galija 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galija, a small family hotel located on the south of the Istrian peninsula in centre of the 3000 year old town of Pula. Modernly equipped, it offers a pleasant stay to its guests all year round. Hotel Galija is oriented towards tourists, travellers and business people. It offers the possibility of organizing small business banquets and business seminars. Our restaurant is the source of Istrian, Mediterranean and international cuisine that binds tradition and proficiency of our chefs. We offer homemade pizzas from a wood-fired oven. Location! Location! Location! We are located in the town centre in the vicinity of ancient monuments that belong to the rich heritage of Pula's history. In the vicinity of the hotel there are many banks, main post office, which are at service to our business clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Galija reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galija Hotel Pula
Hotel Galija Pula, Croatia - Istria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing