We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice bit of Posh in Zadar”
Review of Hotel Bastion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bastion
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Nice bit of Posh in Zadar”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great location with the advantage of being next to the chill-out Garden. Excellant staff and clean, airy rooms with lots of distinctive features. Did not try the resturant which was without windows!
The old city is on the door step and also close to the Ferry terminals.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balmore0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    285
    158
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
65
284
15
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southend
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We visited Zardar for a wedding and having looked at the reviews on Trip Advisor and considered the location, we decided on the Hotel Bastion.

The hotel is in the old town and part of it is built into the old ramparts and hence the name. We loved the hotel. The staff could not have been more helpful and treated us as friends rather than customers. We arrived fairly late but the restaurant is open until midnight, and our introduction to the hotel was a delicious meal on the terrace, listening to the music of two people playing the Spanish guitar. Our room was lovely; beautifully decorated, with an extremely comfortable bed and a wonderful view over the harbour. I had particularly asked for a room at the front and was delighted the request had been met. I was a bit disappointed that there was no bath, only a shower, but very impressed with the towels; they looked as if they had purchased new ones every day, they were so thick, soft and fluffy. But on one of the evenings there was no hot water - rather a disappointment. Breakfast was good, with a buffet supplemented by a menu of cooked breakfasts on request - no extra charge for this.

The location of the hotel was ideal, as the wedding reception was held at the Arsenal, directly opposite. It was also ideal for sight-seeing as everything was within easy walking distance. We were only there for a short time, much of it taken up by the wedding celebrations, but nevertheless we managed to see the Franciscan monastery, the remains of the Roman forum, the church of St Donat's, the Archeological Museum, the sea organ, and of course the cathedral, where the wedding took place. The weather was very hot and it was a great pleasure to come back to our comfortable air-conditioned room.

There was one slightly sour note however, although it would perhaps be a bit mean to dock a rating for this. I booked the hotel a long time ago, through an internet hotel booking site as the link directly to the hotel did not work. When I checked the wedding web site, I saw that wedding guests were supposed to get a discount at the hotel. Naturally I contacted the hotel but was told the offer did not apply as I had booked through an internet booking agency. No doubt the booking agency takes a commission but I find it surprising that the hotel felt that it was worth the loss of goodwill by not offering the discount anyway, as it was hardly my fault in finding out about the discount too late.

But this would not be enough to put me off staying here again; indeed, when we were in Zadar a month later for a sailing holiday we brought several sailing friends with us to the hotel for lunch when we were seeing the sights in Zadar befre the sailing began, and were greeted like long lost friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GirdleTheEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

You can't get much better than the location of this hotel! A lovely spot, right on the old wall. Genuinely friendly and helpful staff who went out of their way to make us feel welcome. We loved our room - designed to feel like you've stepped back in time, but in a First Class way! Beautiful bathroom and all very nicely appointed. Parking was available right outside for our rental car. The spa was georgous - the best pedicure ever! Breakfast was amazing - a huge selection of food (plus the egg dishes were freshly cooked to your liking).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Radichs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZAGREB
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I spent three wonderfull days in this beautifull, butic hotel in Zadar, in a room with sea view.
The staff is extremly friendly and it seems that you know your whishes second before you. I especially appretiate a warm staff but not ofensive and the hotel personel is just like that.
The room is spacious, the bathroom well equiped.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the end of the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLANKAZagreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, MN
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013 via mobile

This is close to the Sea organ and cathedral of the sun, but so is everything on the island. The hotel was clean and breakfast was good. The bar was only so so and the dinner, which we didn't try, looked quite expensive. But there are enough places around the peninsula that it didn't matter. Everyone was quite helpful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Puzzled66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed on Sept 1st and 2nd. The hotel is very modern although the rooms are small. The bath/shower in our room (406) would be too small for someone 6ft or over. The continental buffet breakfast was quite good and constantly replenished; hot egg dishes that could be ordered for no extra cost. The hotel room rates are high because this is the only decent hotel in the old city, so you pay for the location and lack of competition.

Room Tip: Room 406 was an attic style room on the side of the hotel with views over the harbour and did not su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is undoubtedly an excellent hotel; close to the harbour, central to nightlife, restaurants and bars, however book well ahead to get decent rates. Arriving late at night without a booking is not advisable. We were fleeced for the only remaining room, Room 001. Exhausted after a long journey we felt that we were exploited. Pity because it is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Book well in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zadar hotels
6.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
1.2 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#2 of 21 in Zadar
308 reviews
1.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.3 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
287 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#9 of 21 in Zadar
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bastion

Property: Hotel Bastion
Address: Bedemi Zadarskih Pobuna 13, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zadar
#2 Family Hotel in Zadar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing