We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A boutique hotel with class and good customer service!”
Review of Hotel Bastion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bastion
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
203 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A boutique hotel with class and good customer service!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Hotel Bastion is a bright shining star in a city that we found disappointing. Unfortunately, we had to book 2 separate rooms as they did not have an adjoining room available for us. Nevertheless, the kids coped okay in the room next door and we enjoyed our stay.

The rooms were fitted out nicely. The staff were great. Pleasant, engaging, warm and welcoming.

The food at the restaurant for dinner and breakfast was also great.

My only criticism is the need to constantly select another wifi hotspot as you moved through the hotel, as each router had been made a designated access point rather than joining all the routers together through bridging and the same SSID name. A simple fix.

As a city, we found Zadar depressing walking the streets of the old town, we seemed to come across a constant stream of nightclubs and bars where drunk people made their way through town being loud and rude.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForeignGuardian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    150
    34
    8
    5
See reviews for
63
276
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Zadar is a really really pretty town all walled with really cool relaxing chilled out bars that are family and cool friendly if that makes sense. Our HOTEL bastion which is under the brand relays and cottage was pretty and with very helpful friendly knowledgeable staff. Is it 5 star luxury no not really but the service was. It was more John lewis meets habitat with funny sort of modern lights that had crystals hanging down. Aside from the stylistics of the bedrooms I loved the atmosphere of the hotel. We had a suite and it was rather dark because they had a division wall I suppose so that they could describe it as a suite which is a shame as i would have taken the division off and had light coming from the windows which overlooked a marina and it was wonderful to watch the ferries yachts boats pass by. Th bathroom was very well equipped with loads of bath stuff. We had breakfast and it was ok but i di have a pet hate of not having freshly squeezed juices particularly as this is under the brand of Relais Chateau. Coffee was good as were my poached egg. I would stay again

Room Tip: I loved the quirkiness and location of the hotel. Th bedrooms are dark because the windows are high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monasheaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

One of the best boutique hotels we have stayed in. The location is a major advantage given that it is a short stroll to the centre of the old city as the hotel is within the city fortifications. There may be other hotels in the city walls but I think this is by far the best. It is also just a few minutes walk to the harbour and seafront walk. This means that it is easy to access the sea organ and evening light show, which really is brilliant. The port and hence the ferries that you can use to explore other islands is about a 5 minute walk away.

The hotel itself is beautifully presented and this is also true of the bedrooms and social spaces. The rooms are well appointed, very clean and have efficient A/C. The WiFi is free. We had a room on the third floor, which was quiet and free from street noise.

Breakfast is very good, with excellent choices and very good coffee and pastries. We did not eat at the hotel in the evening but there are many restaurants within a very short walk.

There is a small but lovely and comfortable bar on the ground floor and the barmen are excellent in terms of guiding your choice on local beer, wine and spirits.

We found the staff at this hotel to be absolutely excellent; they are genuinely trying to make your stay special. They are helpful and knowledgeable and always interested in knowing what you thought about one of their recommendations.

In short one of the best hotels I have stayed in and would strongly recommend it when you are in Zadar.

Room Tip: Would recommend a higher floor and a sea view if possible but I doubt if it matters much as the loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonstok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I've just stayed here with my spouse and daughter, as we've missed a ferry to one of the islands in the Zadar archipelago. Our stay was just perfect. the hotel is conveniently located in a small park just near the ferrry termials but within the fortification of Zadar, just opposite the Arsenal.Its a quiet and peacefull location just near the centre of the old town,just a short walk away. There are parking places in front of the hotel. The interior is beautifully decorated as well as was our room with a large bathroom. The room is completely furnishshed with lots of storage, lcd tv and free wifi. Breakfast is perfect and the restaurant is excellent and stylish. It has a beautifull terrace overlooking the port and the park.
There's a good fitness in the basement, for those who need continuous excersise.
Staff is very kind and polite and were helping in every respect.
All in all, it's a peerfect choice, if you wish to overnight transiently in the centre in order to catch a ferry or any other connection next morning. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tata_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I loved everything about it, the room, the facilities, the personnel, the location (very close to the sea organ) and the delicious breakfast (don't just stay with the excellent buffet as I did the first days, ask the waiters for their specials). Hope to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in the Bastion for four nights in August. I knew little about Zadar prior to arrival and the hotel is in an excellent position to explore with views over the harbour and easy access to the old town.

The hotel itself is well appointed and the rooms are spacious and furnished to a high standard with comfortable beds. I ate at the restaurant twice during my stay and the food was delicious and reasonably priced for its quality and standard.

The service at the hotel impressed me the most. Staff are polite, friendly and helpful. Christina in particular was very helpful in advising on things to do in Zadar and had a personable, friendly demeanour and made my stay at the hotel much more enjoyable.

Zadar is a great base for exploring Croatia with easy access to the islands as well as having high quality beaches, good local cuisine and a special charm.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
122 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed for thee nights during August. The hotel is situated at the edge of old town making parking easy as the hotel has got some reserved parking space just next to it. The location is great as you could have access to the harbour and the sea organ easily. The Garden is just opposite the hotel and is a great place to hang out for a drink with a great view. The service in the hotel is excellent. We could not thank Marco enough for his help and advice. And also the lady receptionist whom I am sorry to have forgotten her name. She has provided us great tips on where to go. They have made our stay so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FC207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zadar hotels
6.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
1.2 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#3 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
1.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.3 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bastion

Property: Hotel Bastion
Address: Bedemi Zadarskih Pobuna 13, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zadar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#2 Family Hotel in Zadar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing