We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most enjoyable meal”
Review of Fosa

Fosa
Ranked #28 of 192 Restaurants in Zadar
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable meal”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The food - we ate just fish- was well prepared, presented and cooked. Service was fine. We dined outside overlooking the sea and the old city walls. All in all a most enjoyable experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 73manor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    177
    77
    35
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to have lunch”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We had a lunch, set diner, on the terrace, with a nice view on the small harbour, next to the entrance gate of old Zadar.
Fairly priced, the fish was excellent and the service friendly .

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
702 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Just great, but...”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Asking about a very good restaurant in the old town of Zadar, our landlord recommended Fosa. It is a nice place with a big terrace (all in white) facing the sea. The fish we ate was delicious and the rose wine (Spoza) the waiter recommended was excellent. Everything was almost perfect, just a pitty that they allow people to smoke. Even in the open air, it bothers when someone next to you is smoking while you are eating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugo_Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great service, lovely setting, and fish delicious!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner and had a table outside right on the water and it was so relaxing. The rain was threatening, but we didn't have to move inside.
Entree; mussels in red sauce. Now, this was an issue, the "beards" of the mussels were left in. I am not used to this, and found it quite difficult to eat the small mussels with so much beard, and ended up trying to cut out the beard which didn't work too well. Maybe this is a Croatian thing, but I didn't really like it.
Main; fish was amazing. Potatoes were so delicious as cooked in butter and soft. Fish was moist and cooked perfectly.
Wine; tried a new Croatian style Posip, was really quite nice, full bodied and went well with fish.
Service; had a lady serving us who made it and was entertaining, took photos of us, and made sure we had everything we needed. Nothing was a problem.
Go for the sunset, have a champagne and relax!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced. Poor service.”
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

We have chosen this restaurant after reading reviews on trip advisor and also after recommendation from the owner of the apartment we have stayed in. Although the setting of the restaurant is great and food was nice the service leaves lots to wish for! We have had our dinner quite late 10ish pm and during the meal we have been told it'll rain and we've been asked to move inside. No one has offered any help with moving the plates/glasses in. We have been rushed in alongside other guests and left to choose 'any' table. We then watched staff rushing about turning inside of the restaurant into the 'warehouse'and waiting to close it for a day!Not the best experience for the
price of the bill we've paid! The staff should remember that every guest should be treated like the first and only guest of the day. Rather disappointing :-(

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicMagda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fosa also viewed

 
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Fosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing