We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful! Didn't want to leave” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Ivana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Ivana
Ranked #10 of 286 Speciality Lodging in Zadar
Dallas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful! Didn't want to leave”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent 6 nights at Villa Ivana and it was a wonderful vacation! We stayed in the studio on the 3rd floor facing the sea. The room was air conditioned, clean and had a kitchenette with dishes, utensils and a refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable and the balcony view spectacular. We enjoyed the local beach right across the street with beach chairs and umbrellas reserved for Villa Ivana. Breakfast was served from 8-10 and included meats, cheese, breads, fruit, eggs, juice, yogurt, coffee or tea. The owners were so helpful! We had many questions about restaurants, day trips, and rental cars. They were never to busy to help us. It was nice to be close enough to the old town to easily get there yet return to our quiet villa by the sea at the end of the day. There are several good restaurants within a 10-15 minute walk. There is also a market close by where we bought snacks, wine and water. It was nice to have a refrigerator to keep our snacks cool.
Zadar and Villa Ivana were wonderful and we can't wait to return someday!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KEBDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    16
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
59
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Well run and well maintained family establishment. Airconditioning in both lounge and bedroom perfect for 30 plus degree weather. Great location just outside the very busy old town and away from the crowds. Directly on the pebble beach which is very popular. 5 min. easy walk to bus stop cost 10 kuna to old town. In the same area is the supermarket with everything you need. Many restaurants, pub and excursions also in this area. Lovely hosts very helpful, units have everything you need and more and nice add is the barbeque which we used on our last night, fantastic!

Room Tip: We had a large ground floor unit with separate dining/lounge area from bedroom and balcony which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi-Scott25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

The villa is modern and in excellent condition in a good location directly onto the beach. It is about a 50 minute walk to the old town but taxis,bus & tourist train within 3 minute walk. The owners were very helpful and gave lots of information and recommendations. They have beds available for the beach and do their best to reserve parking. A good selection for breakfast in very pleasant surroundings and a roof top terrace for the sunset. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013 via mobile

Writing this with still three nights of seven to go. Why? Because it's so good so why wait.

Had the SW facing studio apartment so had the sun all day. Very clean and well laid out with a sun lounger, table and chairs on the balcony. A small kitchen which was useful for making lunch and keeping drinks cold. An electric kettle would be good. Bring a travel one with you.

Owners speak English well, are very friendly and of course know the area in detail.

Area is beautiful and the Old Town is full on great places to eat. Not a "full English breakfast" sign anywhere. I hope it stays that way.

If you come to Zadar stay at the Villa Ivana. You'll love it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevors198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed for seven days on our first trip to Croatia - flying on the recently opened Zadar-Liverpool ryanair route. We booked directly trhrough the hotel website - no problems and no agent taking a top slice - the price offered was very competitive. Villa Zadar arranged our taxi from the airport and we had no problem locating our driver in the small modern concorse. The fare was agreed in advance - so no worries about being ripped off.

First and enduring impression of Villa Ivana is a well kept modern building, on the edge of the beach with a great vierw of the old city. The owner's house, the accomodation building and the restaurant building (where you have breakfast) are built around a garden which includes shaded and unshaded areas for sitting. All very light, airy and restful.

We stayed in one of the top floor studio rooms - plenty of space and great view from balcony. Very comfortable bed, quality bed linen, very nice bathroom. All kept very clean. We did a lot of sight seeing whilst we were there and in some ways wished we had a little more time to enjoy our balcony, the roof terrace and garden. VePleasantly quiet at night - just the lapping of the sea.

Breakfast is served 8-10am - good selection of cold meats, cheeses, eggs (cooked as you want), youghurt etc - all served at your table. One morning we had an excursion that left early and the owners were happy (offered) to provide breakfast at 7.45.

The owners were extremely helpful, spoke good English (and German) and generally very good hosts. When my partner had a bad fall and had to go to the hospital they were genuinely caring and concerned.

The beach in front of the hotel is maintained by local authorities in the season (seemed to start late May) - with a course of finely ground pebbles laid on the beach to make it more comfotable under foot. A review of a winter visitor on Trip Adviser suggests the beach has litter issues. In season this certainly doesn't seem to be the case.

Whilst the guesthouse are happy to arrange taxis, the bus stop is a few minutes away and return tickets can be got from the tobacconist beside it which save some money (about £1.80 for a return). The 5 and 8 services take you straight into town (5-10 mins), although the 8 takes a slightly longer route back. Both go on to the main bus station for those wishing to travel by public transport further afield (we did, without problem - the information desk are very helpful are the bus station).

We would recommend visiting Nin, Novigrad, Split, Kornati Islands and Plitvice national park - and the old town of Zadar.

A great place to stay - we will certainly return.

Room Tip: The photos on the website give a fair idea of the views from each room - we choose a view, cut and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lp00lUlsterRangers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Although my friend and I chose Villa Ivana on the strength of the reviews, we were very disappointed. Being friends, and not bed partners, an important criterion was for separate beds and this was clearly stated at the time of booking. However, when we arrived, we were shown into a room with a double bed and sofa bed. We were told that, as the accommodation was fully booked, it was not possible for us to move into another room. Instead, it was suggested that, if we did not wish to share a bed, the sofa bed could be made up for one of us. Although we were both really unhappy about the arrangement, we felt that we had no option but to agree, especially because we had paid for our room prior to arrival. However, once the sofa was pulled out, the room became cramped, due to the furniture in the room having to be rearranged, and made access to the kitchen area, and making a hot drink, particularly difficult.

Whilst the lack of two proper beds was our main complaint, we also wondered about the purpose of the kitchenette. Given that there were barely any utensils, including no kettle, it would have been difficult to prepare even the simplest of snacks.

All in all, Villa Ivana was a real let-down and we will not be returning. Having paid in excess of one hundred Euros for the night, neither of us expected to sleep on a sofa bed. The owners were aware of our feelings and, although they did present us with a bottle of local liqueur on our departure, this was little consolation and did nothing to appease our dissatisfaction, especially as neither of us drinks alcohol!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here during a short 2 night stay in Zadar. Fortuna is a wonderful host and extremely helpful. The rooms are spotless and breakfast was great. A 40 min walk into Zadar old town or a short bus trip.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#2 of 19 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
0.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 19 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#4 of 19 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 58 in Zadar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ivana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ivana

Property: Villa Ivana
Address: Obala Kneza Domagoja 14, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 286 Speciality Lodging in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ivana 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Ivana is situated in Zadar, in the tourist area named Puntamika. The villa is placed near the very seashore, where is also to be found a large beach.Villa Ivana disposes of accommodation capacity consisting of 4 studios, 2 rooms and 1 suite, and therefore covers the capacity up to 20 persons.Beside above-mentioned, the villa's offer also includes the reception, coffee bar placed on the terrace viewing the sea, spacious garden, and the hall for breakfast-service (included in the price of staying for the night). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Ivana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing