We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We decided to do some research before we went for a long weekend to Zadar in Croatia.
As all of the beaches were pebbled, we looked for a hotel with a pool.
The Adriana Hotel (which is part of the Falkensteiner hotel chain) looked like the perfect option.
As it was almost the same price to book half board as it was bed and breakfast, we decided to give it a go. This turned out to be a brilliant idea. (Normally we prefer to go bed and breakfast only as we like to discover different restaurants in the town).
From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome by Savino Giannella, the resident manager and all of his staff.
The rooms were tastefully decorated and the dining experience was excellent.
There was a full breakfast spread with more than you could hope to eat and the 5 course evening meals were exceptional. Not once did we eat out side of the hotel as the food and service was so good.
The only thing that could have caused an upset was that it rained for the entire time we were there, so the open air pool was not an option.
It could have been a real disappointment for us but for the fact that the hotel was part of a complex which had a Health SPA. This was another new and completely enjoyable experience.
We were given complimentary bathrobes and slippers to use in the SPA and as guests we were given free use of indoor and outdoor heated swimming pools, saunas, steam rooms, Jacuzzis as well as lounge areas to relax.
In addition I booked myself in for a massage and came out feeling completely relaxed.
Whilst the complex has fantastic facilities for children, the Adriana specialises mainly for couples so the atmosphere is very tranquil.
There is a fantastic water side promenade that runs for miles either side of the hotel, so our time was split between morning strolls and afternoon pampering in the SPA.
We will definitely be returning as it was an wonderful experience.
www.falkensteiner.com
www.adriana.falkensteiner.com

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazelEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

We go away regularly on short breaks, and can honestly say that this was possibly the best hotel we have stayed in. Service and hospitality was exceptional throughout our stay, with attention to detail from the receptionists, chamber maids and professional, quality service in the restaurants throughout. The Adriana is also impeccably maintained throughout, and is a lovely place to relax and wind down in tranquil settings right on The Adriatic. And to top it all off, a real classy touch was a bottle of champagne left in our room for a birthday occasion - they'd presumably noticed the cards in the room!

Our room rate included half board (dinner and breakfast) and to be honest, we're normally reluctant with this set up as we like to have the choice of going to local restaurants etc. And, you're stuck if the food isn't that good. However, the fine dining experience at the Adriana is exceptional with 5 course meals (including a cold starter and cheese selection if you can manage) delivered to your table. French style cuisine with a Croatian twist - wonderful presentation with local ingredients - and a nice, varied choice each night. Croatian wine was also excellent, and worth going for over and above the more typical selection.

The hotel was spacious, and this included our room with airy, modern furnishings all well-appointed and of high quality. The outdoor pool is lovely, with a nice patio and sun loungers - if the weather is poor (which is was for a bit of out stay), there is an indoor swimming pool in the hotel next door (part of the Falkensteiner chain too) which we used, as well as a spa.

We hired a car for our trip, and there is loads of parking by the hotel. You don't need a car to get into Zadar as it's a nice walk of about half an hour along the harbourside - a really underrated city, we found the old town to be excellent with a decent mix of modern stuff and cobbled streets within the old city walls. Also, the UNESCO site of Plitvice Lakes are only an hour and a half's drive away - well worth the effort though probably could get a bit busy in the summer.

In summary, wonderful holiday and a real find. We'll certainly be back at some stage.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My wife and I spent 4 lovely days at Hotel Adriana in April-2012 right at the beginning of the season.
The hotel is excellent all-round, the most fantastic and friendly staff, Michelin quality food and superb breakfasts, a spotless hotel with lovely rooms with sea-views in beautiful gardened grounds and at a very competitive price.
I would highly recommend for a Spring visit (I anticipate in the summer it is far busier but would still be a great break), in 10+ years of travelling I think the break I just had in Zadar has been the most relaxing.
All at Hotel Adriana, thank you so much

Room Tip: 50% + of rooms have sea-view, it would be worth asking for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benharrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We had the most wonderful holiday in the Hotel Adriana. The area ticked all the boxes for our perfect holiday criteria. Starting with the flights - an easy and quick flight from Stansted to Zadar. A short taxi ride to the resort (after haggling a little on cost as you must do wherever you go). Beautiful and quiet location a stone's throw from a Blue Flag beach populated by friendly local people enjoying the sunshine. Clean, welcoming, attractive and stylish hotel with not a white plastic chair or sunbed in sight and fantastic food by a well renowned Croatian chef whom we complimented on many occasions. Couple this with the closeness of historic Zadar and other interesting towns along the coast plus the chance to visit Plitvice Lakes and Krka National Parks and you have the ideal holiday. What's not to like?

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. Your sea view may be slightly restricted but it's worth it for a good nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Beautiful costal setting, excellent pool area, cosy outdoor patio restaurant, friendly staff. Access to very nice spa and gym at the (much noisier family oriented) sister hotel next doors. Easy access to quaint Zadar old town (3-4 km away) by buses #5 and 8 (1 USD). Will definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MagnusResenar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed for one week and enjoyed it very much. The staff was very professional and met us with a smile throughout our stay. The food was excellent and we had all our meals there under the trees. It was very nice. We also liked very much the fact that there was no funimation there. They tend to be very noisy and the same where ever you go. There was no noise from the restaurant at night even if we had a room over the restaurant. Air condition functioned also very good and kept the room nice even if it was very warm weather during our stay.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank agodberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We started our 3 weeks round trip thru Croatia in Hotel Adriana for 4 days. As a start, this was fantastic, and we can tell now that this was the best hotel we have stayed in during our whole trip. The staff was very friendly and helpfull and their knowledge of different languages was very much appreciated. This is a highly and well trained staff. The hotel manager also was everywhere, at the reception, the restaurant, the magnificent hotel garden, discrete, but always keeping an eye on everything going on. We had a wonderful time in Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana and we were delighted by the delicious food. The breakfast and dinner could satisfy the most exigent hotel guest. We loved staying in this very charming, high quality hotel and surely will go back there for a city trip or other. Next to this quiet and charming hotel there is another Falkensteiner hotel, more lively and excellent for families with children, where I surely would invite our children and grandchildren for a vacation . while we are staying in the Hotel Adriana. I think this is an ideal combination for a family holiday.

Difficult people could complain because there is no elevator, but as the friendly and charming lady at the reception stated : we have strong men here to help you with your luggage ! So, where is the problem ?

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stinogrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
5.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
0.5 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#3 of 22 in Zadar
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Almayer Art & Heritage Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kolovare
Hotel Kolovare
#11 of 22 in Zadar
416 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#5 of 22 in Zadar
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana

Address: Majstora Radovana 7, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Zadar
Price Range: £85 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, noble and stylish - that is how the Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana is seen from the first moment. Exclusive design, exquisite meals and wines in the hotel's own a la carte restaurant, all this make this lifestyle hotel a holiday paradise for all those who simply expect something more. All wellness, sports and recreational offers of the Falkensteiner Hotels & Resorts Borik resort are at Adriana's guests' disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing