We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, bizarre bedding and poor internet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Nice hotel, attentive and friendly staff. A good stay with a few negatives that could be fixed to make this hotel "Very Good" in my opinion.

The decor in the lobby is strange. Cheap looking couches with hanging fabric meant to modernize the look. Otherwise, the grounds and dining areas are very nice and well maintained.

Good food in a pleasant outdoor dining area. The meal choices on the all-inclusive menu come in VERY small portions, but with the salad, fruit, meat, and cheese bar you can get a full meal.

The hallways and stairways are left dark at night which is kind of creepy.

The room is where my two main complaints were. The decor is cool, but...

1. Bizarre bedding. You have a queen size bed and two TINY comforter/blankets. I mean like "single" size - if you lay flat with one on you the sides will barely reach the bed at the same time. Forget spreading out and being covered. WHY IN THE WORLD NOT PUT ONE LARGE BLANKET ON A BED MEANT FOR TWO PEOPLE? Someone's bright idea - FAIL!

2. Barely there WIFI internet. You'll get "one bar" if you're lucky and only in the couch area, and you'll have to constantly reconnect. I tried two rooms on opposite sides of the hotel and same thing. DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL IF YOU ARE ON BUSINESS AND EXPECT TO GET SOME WORK DONE IN YOUR ROOM.

Oh one more curiosity: What's the purpose of the small box on the wall with the light bulb in it?

Room Tip: Rooms on the south wing facing south overlook some abandoned buildings and rubble.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrivateJetPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giannella G, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am glad to learn that you have enjoyed our services and that on the overall you describe us as a nice hotel.

Concerning your comment about the bedding we offer a Queen size bed thrughout the hotel and I confirm we do provide two duvet as is preferred by most of our guests. We are happy to provide altrnative covers should you use our Hotel in the future by leaving us a note at the time of booking.

I am glad to confirm that since your comment we have reviewed the wireless hot spots at the hotel so we have additional surface cover. Concerning the log out time we have increased the timing out session although is a feature that ensure security on our wireless network.

I am sorry that I was not given the chance to resolve these issues at the time of your stay and I once again thank you for the feedback provided.

The Falkensteiner Hotela Adriana team look forward to welcoming you soon.
Please contact us on adriana@falkensteiner.com when making your next reservation.

Best regards,

Savino Giannella
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 247 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Great few days in the Adriana on half board in one of the junior suites. Met by the hotel manager on arrival and he was extremely helpful, his whole team were throughout the stay.

Dining is a must in the Adriana, the food is first class and the starter/dessert/breakfast buffet choices are staggering. This combined with the outdoor terrace makes the experience a must.

The gardens are mature, well kept and so relaxing. The pool area is attractive, well positioned and spotless. Easy security access to the shore, which is yards away, allows exploration and swimming in the Adriatic.

Certainly made a touring Scottish couple feel at home. This is a hotel experience that makes a holiday.

S&J, Ayr

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giannella G, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear kaze2339,

It was a pleasure to have you at the hotel and thank you for taking the time to post us such a nice review.

We do appreciate your comments and we are very happy that you have experienced our true welcome home.

Please let us know when you will be back so we can probably ensure we have some Haggis at breakfast.

The Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana team look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Savino Giannella
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We landed very late in the evening, and when we arrived the staff had put a nice cheese and meat plate with some bottled water for us in all our rooms. They were very accomidating with every questuion and request we had. The Manager was on property most of our stay and checked in with us daily. The pool shoes and bag was extra Bonus!!

Room Tip: Request a the Pool side - Amazing Sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMW907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Giannella G, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2013

Dear Rayli W,

Thank you very much for your contribution to our Hotel comments we really appreciate your review.

Welcome home is our motto and we are pleased you have appreciated the cold dinner served in your rooms.

The Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana Team look forward to welcoming you back home very soon.

Best regards,

Savino Giannella
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed in the Hotel Adriana in April as part of our Honeymoon. What an amazing time we had. The hotel has a relaxing atmosphere and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We ate in the hotel most nights and thoroughly enjoyed the meals. The breakfast was something else! The selection far exceeded our expectations and we left very satisfied customers. We are already thinking of when we can return and would recommend to anyone who was looking for an amazing base to stay to explore all that Croatia has to offer.
The only small disappointment was the pool was a little 'cool' but I expect later in the year this wouldn't be an issue.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzie_Willers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Just returned from four nights at the Adrianna.
Loved every minute of it.
Hassle free check in and we were in room 214 on the 2nd floor. Sea views and also you get the sunset on an evening. Bliss!
The pool area is beautiful, the gardens spectacular and maintained to a very high standard. Drinks are brought over by the friendly waiting staff as you catch some rays and you can sign them to the room so don't need to have cash on you.
The breakfast (7-11am so you can have a lie-in like we did everyday!) was fantastic. Huge choice. Cereals, yogurts, breads, meats, bacon/sausages, eggs (cooked to order, the omelettes are sublime), porridge, crepes, fruit, dried fruit, juices, teas, etc Anything and everything you could possibly want.
Evening meal was even better (we were Half Board). Fine dining cuisine food, all fresh local produce. There was a cold buffet to start (meats, cheese,, salads, breads, etc), then ordering from the menu it was normally a soup or meat/cheese starter. Not any normal soup, the nicest freshest soup i've ever tasted. I could write an entire review on the main courses exclusively they were that good. Fish, meat or veg option every night. Fish when we were there included, shark, tuna, bream and monkfish. AMAZING! The highlight of the meat was a lamb dish which was the most succulent dish i've experienced. Loved every meal we had. The desert was either a choice from the cold buffet or another culinary experience from the chef. Again... every night just got better and better.
The spa is definitely worth a visit, just walk round through the reception of the sister hotel next door. We had a few treatments and would recommend the aromatherapy full body massage and the chocolate body wrap (can't remember correct title).
For any excursions (we had a day on a 37ft yacht) use Bora Tours located in the sister hotel reception, Silvana was a huge help.
We had two days in Zadar old town. One day we cycled in (hired bikes from hotel, 35Kuna for 2hours or 70Kuna for the full day). Less than 30mins on the bike all the way along the coast, hugging the marina. Idyllic. The old town is incredible, old buildings, impressive architecture, cafe culture galore. Make sure you go to the Sea Organ and Tribute to the Sun, WOW.
I could ramble all day about this hotel and city. The only thing left to say is BOOK UP NOW AND GO!
Thanks to the manager and all the staff for giving us the time of our lives. We will be back.
ftm
x

Room Tip: junior suite, sea view (sunset). perfect. ENJOY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hungryfighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Hôtel Adriana offers you an answer at your dreams.the hotel is well situated in a calm place in front of the sea in a very park.but the most remarquable point is the way you are treated by the fantastic staff.
It's the second time on two month that we were in the Adriana and I can say that our second stay was even more fabulous than the first one.great breakfast and wonderful diner that we can compare with a one star at the Michelin.The manager,the great Savino,and his staff are doing everything possible to make you feel like home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReneB737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Been on many holidays over the years and a few in Croatia but this one ticks all the right boxes.
Peaceful calm location, friendly staff, excellent food and choice - had half board and the 5 course menu was outstanding every night and the breakfast was excellent - lots of choice and well presented with friendly attentive staff. Able to use the facilities at the hotel next door which was more family orientated so we were glad to have the option of coming back to a peaceful hotel for a good night's sleep - beds are the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept in. Junior suite room was worth it and had a lovely pool and sea view. We agree with the prevous entries in that the hotel is definitley more 5 star than 4 star - go and enjoy - you won't regret it. Fabulous location and Zadar is 5 mins by taxi - average between £4-7 each way depending on the time of day/evening but there is a good bus service too. nice walks along the promenade areas both directions - walked to Zadar one day took around 45 mins.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool nicer than the ones overlooking the back - stayed in room 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunseekers1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zadar
0.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
5.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
0.5 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#3 of 22 in Zadar
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#5 of 22 in Zadar
539 reviews
5 mi away
Falkensteiner Family Hotel Diadora
0.8 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#10 of 22 in Zadar
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana

Address: Majstora Radovana 7, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Zadar
Price Range: £110 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, noble and stylish - that is how the Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana is seen from the first moment. Exclusive design, exquisite meals and wines in the hotel's own a la carte restaurant, all this make this lifestyle hotel a holiday paradise for all those who simply expect something more. All wellness, sports and recreational offers of the Falkensteiner Hotels & Resorts Borik resort are at Adriana's guests' disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing