We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for visiting Zadar area”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Anella

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
basil, oregano, rosemary, garden-sage, thyme... and your cuisine will be much tasty! Now that it's officially summer, it's time to get outside and grill :)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
basil, oregano, rosemary, garden-sage, thyme... and your cuisine will be much tasty!
Now that it's officially summer, it's time to get outside and grill :)
the nearest beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Zadar, Zadar County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Perfect location for visiting Zadar area”
Reviewed 8 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

For our visit to Zadar and it's surroundings we wanted to stay in walking distance to the center of Zadar but be able to enjoy our stay in a quite relaxing neighbourhood. Anella was the perfect location! Situated in the nice and quite district Arbanasi, south of Zadar center (20 min walk), close to the beach (5 min walk), super market (<5 min walk) and bus stop ( just around the corner).
Anella appartment was great for my family with 2 kids (10, 7y); fully equiped kitchen, badroom with washing machine, nice bed rooms and private patio to grill and relax and harvest some of the finest herbs from the garden to finish the grilled John Dory's we bought at the Zadar fish market.
Also a special thanks to the great welcome and home made Zadar cake from the hosts. Thank you Ana and Ana's mom: when visiting Zadar again we will definatelly book Anella!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwlewis
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Perfect perfect perfec”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great location
5 mins walk to some great beaches
5 mins walk to a great little pizza restaurent
20mins walk into the old town, but why walk when you can Uber....

Apartment was brand new & furnished to the highest standards

The apartment was matched by the greeting and helpfulness of the host who made every effort to make the stay that little bit more special

If you are staying in Zadar.....stay here

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: wifi was not the greatest...ok for me but not for the boys who need their 2hrs Youtube per day or else.........
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thierry D
Tours, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This year was our second stay at the Anella appartment. Happy guests do return.

The location is ideal for us: close to the sea and the beach (more on this later), and a 15-20 min walk to the city centre. This has two advantages: the walk to the city goes along the shore and is very pleasant, with pine tree shades, plenty of on-beach bars, and beach entertainment on the way. Being off of the centre also makes the location very quiet. Zadar is a busy town!

There is a beach a 5-minutes stroll away. Last year the beach was ok, now it's great. It's now evenly covered with small sea gravel (I hate sand!). There are even secured areas which make it safe for children who can't swim.

The so-called appartment is actually more an independent house. The dwelling is upstairs, while the ground floor is an open air sun-shielded terrace with a dining table and many well maintained green plants and flowers.

The appartment is new, very clean, and very well taken care of. It has everything you can expect at home, and more. We are a family of five with two teenagers and one 6-years old, and we have lived there very comfortably.

But this would be nothing without the warm welcome of the owners. Mrs Duka lives next door and is always friendly, helpful, and discreet. This year again she made our stay a delight.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattDoole...
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great Apartment away from Zadar center, wonderful hosts”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I have loved the stay at this apartment with my three teenage children, the hosts were very welcoming with a bowl of fresh fruit and a bottle of the local Cherry Sherry waiting in the fridge. They also provided bandages and antiseptics when my daughter grazed her feet on the rocks while swimming (offering me an aperitif while tending my daughter).
In terms of organisation and management, ever since booking with Ana, she has responded immediately to any requests. She speaks perfect English and is extremely organised.
The apartment itself is very well equipped and we were able to cook our own meals and wash our clothes which means you can travel with less baggage.
The lane is a little narrow, so go slowly to the parking area in front of the apartment.
Of the two places that we stayed on this holiday, this was the best by far and I shall be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment and the hosts Ana and her mother
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy_R_19...
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 29 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I (together with our 2 young childred aged 4 and 20 months) stayed at Apartment Anella and we can only find superlative words for our experience. The owner and her daughters are only next door and are so lovely and helpful - No hotel in the world would be capable of providing a similar experience!

The apartment is large - the lounge is open plan with aircon, a fold out bed if needed, a nice modern kitchen and furniture, a flat screen telly with plenty of channels in different languages. There is a balcony outside. There is a large entrance/hallway, 2 bathrooms, 2 large bedrooms (one with a double bed and large sliding door wardrobes and bedside tables and another with 2 single beds, another wardrobe and 2 edside tables).

The apartment is a very short walk (2-3 mins) to a small private stoney beach and about a 7-8 min walk (possibly quicker if you don't have young children with you!) to a larger more public beach surrounded by lovely cafes and bars and a really nice Pizzeria (Porthos) which is right by the sea. There are 2 supermarkets which are about 5 mins walk away.

Although not in Zadar town centre, this is a far better location if you want to be near a good beach. You can get a taxi to the town centre at a fixed price of 40 Kuna (ie £4) so it is very affordable and convenient. It definitely takes less than 10 minutes by Taxi to get to town. We considered hiring a car before arriving and decided not to - it turned out to be a good decision as it was simpler and cheaper for us to travel by taxi unless you want to fo father afield. A taxi to/from the airport shouldn't cost any more than 110 Kuna (£11 or 15 euros)

All in all a fantastic apartment with wonderful, helpful owners who are only too happy to help. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and location, and the owners were so helpful and accommodating
Liked least: We have no complaints at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillaume...
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best rental I've ever had”
Reviewed 2 August 2011 for a stay in July 2011
3
people found this review helpful

This is simply the best rental I've ever spent time in.
Everything was as we hoped it would be, without the slightest disappointment at any level.
The house is all new. It's actually more an apartment than a house, but with a balcony (with table and chairs) as well as an actual terrace on street level with a large wooden table where you can enjoy a nice breakfast or meal. The whole place was entirely renovated very recently. My two friends and I were the second occupiers of the place. Everything was clean, and functional: fully equipped kitchen, living room with a sofa, table, satellite TV (only 12 Croatian channels) and AC, two bathrooms (one has a shower, toilets and a sink, the second one only toilets and a sink), one bedroom with a king bed and one with two singles.
The location of the apartment itself was great. Only 50 meters from the sea through a little shortcut the owner showed us. Though it was close to everything we needed, it was also in a very (very) calm neighborhood and not the slightest noise could disturb us at any given time of day or night.
Some distances on foot: 5 minutes away from a convenience store, 20-25 minutes away from the entrance of the old town, 10-15 minutes away from the main bus station, 10 minutes away from the closest beach, 15 minutes away from a great club next to the sea (the Hitch, very animated after 1-2 AM).
From the main bus station, you will be able to go almost anywhere you want in Croatia. Some Islands are accessible by bus (others by ferry from the old town). You will also be able to visit other towns, close or distant, and national parks from there (Plitvice is a must-see).
As for beaches however, don't expect sand anywhere in Zadar. In the 6 days we spent on the coast, we weren't able to locate a single grain of sand. I hear there are beautiful sand beaches in Croatia but those are very rare. You'll have to get out of town to hope to find one. From our experience, beaches in Zadar are usually gravel beaches.

In a country where few people speak English very well, it was a chance to have Ana, the owner's daughter, as our main contact. Her mother, who lives next door to the house, also speaks English pretty well. Both gave us tips on which restaurants to try, which Islands to go to, which festivals were worth attending, etc.
Are arrival was very well prepared and they always helped us with questions or requests any time of the day during our stay.

So to sum up, I highly recommend you rent this house/apartment. It's a great base for all the activities you have in mind when going to Zadar.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2012
Dear Guillaume,
thank you for your great review, it was really helpful. We hope to see you again some day and lot of greetings to you and your friends Nicolas and Christophe.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valeria B...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing