We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Drunken Monkey Hostel
Ranked #2 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I loved this place, all members of the staff are really friendly and helpful. The place is always clean and the whole vibe there is just so lovely. Is not that far from the city center and there are always taxis (which are not expensive at all) that know where the place is and will take you there safe and sound. I definitely recommend this place, I'd love to come back myself!

Room Tip: Any room is okay
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bicchho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    26
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
22
70
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

The best check in I have ever had, not only were the staff great but gave me the low down on some great places to go and check out. Nothing rushed and more than willing to give me as much local knowledge as I needed.
The hostel was great, clean and modern. Rooms were great for price and great bathrooms.
The bar was the starting point each night. Like the staff this place attracts great people. I was backpacking solo around Europe so having a good bar and chill out area down stairs was great to meet other travellers.
They ran a great pub crawl with once again the staff knowing all the good spots to check out.
With a hangover and 37 degrees the pool was the place to be to revitalise yourself before another day of adventure.
Even though its not in the centre of town it's still the only place to stay in Zadar.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jaden S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This is a wonderful cosy little hostel with very friendly and helpful staff. My friend and I wished we had booked 2 nights instead of just the one, it was so very relaxing, much needed after Lost Theory Festival.
The hostel was clean and the bathrooms were like a home from home and guests cleaned up after themselves too which was nice.
My friend Terry and I enjoyed the 15min or so walk to the old town so much so I lost count how many times we did it :)
Zadar is beautiful and if we ever come back we will definitely come back and stay in The Drunken Monkey.
Thanks guys, it's a wicked little place you got there.

Big Hugs

Keely & Terry

Room Tip: We booked the twin room for extra privacy but the bigger rooms seemed cosy too :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keely555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Brad and Kyle and everyone else who works here are absolutely AMAZING. The hostel is really clean with a brilliant atmosphere and everyone was really friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. The hostel has loads to offer as well - with a sun terrace and pool, lively bar and loads of information about Zadar and the surrounding areas. We came back to the hostel twice in one holiday, we've had the most brilliant time! SEE YOU AGAIN SOON!
Holly, Bippie and Alex xx

Room Tip: Banksy room 4LYF
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holz_182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Lovely staff and beautiful setting, with a swimming pool, loungers, a bbq, hammocks, etc.
Very nice place and reasonably priced bar
The staff spent lots of time showing us where was nice in town, and if we had any queries they were answered straight away. Mirna, Jordan and Brad were all good fun and a great asset to the place
Will

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel, so much so that I've been back twice! All the staff are amazing and make all their guests feel so welcome and will cater for what they want to do, like a BBQ or a pub crawl. There are regular tours to the nearby islands, Plitviče lakes and make sure you check out the sea organ in the old town. Or if you just want to chill out, the hostel has a cool back garden with a splash pool, a terrace and a projector in the bar which they often play sports or movies on. I could go on, but just go and find out for yourself! Thank you to everyone who made my stay so amazing, especially Brad and Mummy Tiha.
Emily xx

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyMuskett94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zadar, Croatia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

quaint little spot, super friendly staff as well as the people who stay here. staff keeps the place incredibly clean, and are really helpful in knowledge of the city. theres a little sun terrace on a portion of the roof as well as a bbq and splash pool out back that is just an amazing perk for a backpacker who doesnt recieve such luxuries! little bar on the main floor which is open late into the night however in the rooms you dont hear the noise if anyone is wishing to hit the sack early. cant wait to come back!!!

Room Tip: theyre all amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erinrae420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zadar hotels
2.7 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
8.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
2.8 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#3 of 21 in Zadar
501 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Boutique Hostel Forum
Boutique Hostel Forum
#1 of 302 in Zadar
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Drunken Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drunken Monkey Hostel

Property: The Drunken Monkey Hostel
Address: Ulica Jure Kastriotica Skenderbega 21, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 302 Speciality Lodging in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only established hostel in Zadar owned and run by fellow travelers. Set in a charming part of town only 15 minutes walk along the water front to the old city gates. 'Why should I stay outside the old town? 'Well, quite simply, we offer what the other hostels do not. We have a decked garden complete with sun loungers, splash pool, bar, and a sun terrace. As well as this we have a private courtyard, movie projector and guest computers. We are a clean, comfortable and secure hostel, located in the safe neighborhood of Arbanasi. Ideally situated minutes away from the main bus station, and the scenic Kolovare promenade; nothing Zadar has to offer is out of arm's reach. Note to self to all our globetrotters, avid and novice travelers that like to leave our beloved reviews - We are not in the Old Town! We are able to offer you all the facilities noted above for that very reason. We do have a bar that can get a little exciting and noisy at times, however, this is well regulated by us. We are definitely a hostel that offers fun and excitement as well as relaxation and calm. Come see for yourselves...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Drunken Monkey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing