We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smart hotel in Old Town Zadar.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Art Hotel Kalelarga
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Smart hotel in Old Town Zadar.”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We loved our stay here. Modern facilities, with good design throughout. But it is the cheerful, helpful staff that made the stay so enjoyable! The food is simply delicious! Beware of the scrummy desserts! Full marks to all the restaurant staff! The reception staff were very helpful, providing good knowledgable travel advice.
We enjoyed island hopping, using the excellent ferry service. The scenery is quite beautiful, both from the sea shore and further inland at Croatia's spectacular national parks. We thoroughly enjoyed our Zadar experience.
Art Hotel Kalelarga is a little pricey, but is a treat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madrugbyboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    39
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
31
156
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisieux, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Perfect small hotel located in center of Zadar, on main street Kalelarga. Beautifully decorated; great furniture, smart and simple, calming and modern. Staff is very, very helpful and welcoming. Kalelarga is very livefull street but they have excellent sound insulation; once you close the windows you won't hear anything!

Tip: They do not have their free parking anywhere in the town (which is not a big deal if you are coming for night or 2 but for longer stay maybe would be better to come without a car and then rent one in Zadar).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TralalaCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This charming boutique hotel is located right in the center of the Old Town of Zadar. The rooms were really spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff was also really helpful with suggesting the best things to see and do while in Zadar and they recommended some really nice restaurants.
With the help of the staff our time in Zadar was well spent and we would sure return again and stay here.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I cannot praise Art Hotel Kalelarga enough. Rooms are large, comfortable and functional, good wi-fi connections, and perfect location in the middle of Old Town. But it is the fantastic staff who makes this such a positive experience, not least the chef and waiters in the superb restaurant. Will be back, next time with the family.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ryger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great, the rooms big, clean and comfortable. The restaurant was also just as great. The service was fantastic and the staff were helpful. The location was perfect, in the middle of everything. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

What a great find! Centrally located in town it is a modern gem with all amenities. There are not many hotels in the city center, but it is worth it to stroll around in the evening. Finding it is not hard once you follow the directions the Hotel gives you: Park near the old city gates for a short time. Then pay parking at the “Aquarius” agency, just inside the city gates (get ticket there). The parking system is a little weird, but we were told by the Hotel just to leave the car and pay the parking fine at the end of your stay. It is the same amount as buying individual tickets (which you have to do for every hour and line up on your dashboard). Parking is free from 10 pm to 8 am, so you are charged for the day of parking and pay the ticket at any postoffice. There is a post office in town so as you leave just pay your tickets there. The hotel is just a 2-3 min walk from Parking.
This was the first fantastic rain shower head we encountered in Croatia and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The bathroom is a delight! The room is comfortable and once you close the windows it is very quiet for a good night’s sleep. Breakfast has many choices and you are served anything you want. The eggs Benedict are very tasty. The old town of Zadar is not very big and can be easily explored in a day and half. The Hotel is so centrally located that you can always get back to easily. This was my favorite hotel in our travels though Croatia. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PDRtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have booked there breakfast only, as we stayed in different hotel which did not serve the food. Interiors are very appealing and they served tasty scrambled egg. But we were not explained how seperately booked breakfast really work. We recieved menu which did not contain beverages, drinks, saundries, just contained list of scrambled eggs and omelettes. After few minutes we have realized that people have things on the table which were not on the menu (ie bowl of fruit, orange juice. ) I was very hungry this morning after long running and swimming session, and really looking forward to big and nutritious breakfast. I have asked for the menu because I wanted to order something again, at this time we have ordered coffes too. After 15 minutes of waiting we decided to leave, as we were totally blanked out. Very frustrating morning!! Coffe and cake from caffeteria next door delicious! Usually im not fussy, and easily pleased. We have breakfast booked there for tomorrow morning too, we are not going back! Local street food stalls seems like more reliable option.

Room Tip: My marks are only related to service, value, location, cleanlines, as I cannot give
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#3 of 21 in Zadar
501 reviews
6.9 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
1.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.6 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
293 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Kalelarga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Kalelarga

Property: Art Hotel Kalelarga
Address: Ulica Majke Margarite 3, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Kalelarga 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Art Hotel Kalelarga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing