We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zadar 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Art Hotel Kalelarga
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Zadar 2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

As always thanks to Trip Advisor we chose the Art House Hotel based on previous recommendations, - an again we were not disappointed, The Art Hotel is absolutely fantastic, the photos on TA are spot on, the rooms are extremely spacious for a Town Hotel, the furnishings are elegant and modern, the Wifi is really good, and the location is bang smack in the middle of Zadar, you literally could not be more central, there is always lots going on due to the superb double glazing when its time for sleep you literally cannot hear anything (and we went when the world cup was on (and Croatia was playing)).

In terms of the restaurant, the breakfast is second to none, ask for anything and its yours, omelettes, fruit, cereal to eggs Benedict – silly thing to applaud but the orange juice and the coffee are outstanding. The evening menu is to die for, everything is top draw and holds its own to any 4-5 Star Hotel I have stayed in. Another thing I would like to applaud is the Patisserie – I am sure that both my wife and I will regret eating a slice of cake at the end of most nights but seriously the cake that is available is a little slice of heaven – if you have a sweet tooth you MUST try them.

But the thing I wanted to commend, which is the one thing that really stands out is the staff, they are absolutely fantastic, literally could not do enough to make your stay as memorable as possible, honestly nothing is too much trouble, from Yusuf on the front desk extremely friendly and welcoming, Ivan also on front desk the most chatty man in Croatia (in a very good way) Maria in the morning who cannot be more helpful, and Big Ivan out front, not only an awesome guy but probably the best salesman in Croatia – you ask for something, he always has something better to offer you (very funny guy). The whole team is outstanding and truly made our stay something we will cherish for a long long time, both my wife and I would like to thank those guys SO much we really enjoyed ourselves.

In terms of Zadar, really cool place to visit, do visit at least one of the national parks they are breath taking, other than the Art House restaurant, Brucetta is defo worth a visit (arrive early as they get busy) Good tip for Zadar, make sure you take enough money before you arrive the ATM machines are EXTREMELY EXPENSIVE we are talking a 10% charge PER transaction.

I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    38
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
139
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We have just stayed at this hotel and we were very impressed. It's so modern which is a great change from a lot of hotels throughout Croatia . Our room was very comfortable and luxurious with free wifi and the staff were very friendly. Right in the middle of old town Zadar the location is excellent. It is expensive for Croatia but worth it when you get this level of accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alger73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
130 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

From the first moment on site we have felt ourselves comfortable and welcome. The employees were very friendly and helped to make our 4 days mini vaccation in Zadar to a memorable experience.
In addition, the room was large, well equipped and very clean and with nice bathroom. The restaurant is highly recommended, they have amazing pastries, good coffee and great food.
All in all, top professional!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel is incredible! It's a great modern boutique hotel right in the pedestrian area of Zadar. All main landmarks are walking distance as well as the waterfront, so you can easily reach everything you need to see in Zadar. While modern, the hotel is also very charming because located in the older part of town. The room we had was really spacious, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was very good, especially the coffee which was excellent.

My husband and I had very high expectations from this hotel, so we could have easily been disappointed by the experience. We definitely were not and happy we decided to spend the extra money to stay here.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Camilla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We only spent one night here as we were on our way to the airport-that was regrettable. The room was beautiful and the bathroom was to die for. The staff was extremely helpful and went out of their way to make our stay a perfect one. Great breakfast with excellent coffee.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheri52546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I recommend the Art Hotel for staying. The staff are friendly and helpful, the Wifi coverage is good, the rooms are lovely, spacious and have excellent bathrooms. The bed is large and extremely comfortable.

You could not ask for a better location, it's right in the centre of the old town, and very easy to navigate around.

No fitness facilities, but that is not unexpected in a small place. There are places to swim in the adriatic quite close by.

The breakfast is delicious, one small comment would be that it is hard to know sometimes what to order. The staff are extremely accommodating, and I would recommend the omelette, but it would be nice to know what else might be available. Perhaps a menu or list of examples?

Room Tip: The rooms are in little 'pods' which need your hotel card (which has rfid) to open. There ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Probably one of the best hotels I have stayed in. All the staff were amazingly helpful and friendly from the waiters at breakfast who remembered how you liked your toast from the day before to the reception staff where nothing was too much trouble! Gorgeous boutique hotel, spotless rooms with very comfortable bed and huge walk-in shower. Free wifi with very good connection and a lovely breakfast all included! Excellent very central location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nosheye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zadar hotels
6.9 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
1.5 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#2 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#3 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
1.7 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.6 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Kalelarga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Kalelarga

Property: Art Hotel Kalelarga
Address: Ulica Majke Margarite 3, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Kalelarga 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Hotel Kalelarga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing