We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and very cordial service”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Groppo

Restaurant Groppo
Ranked #15 of 185 Restaurants in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
French Riviera
Level Contributor
163 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent food and very cordial service”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We went for dinner in two and the restaurant looked pretty crowded. Nonetheless, the waiter asked for a new table being prepared and we could sit few minutes later.
We chose the home made gnoki and fusi which were absolutely fabulous. You could feel that they were really prepared on site.
The water suggested us a nice malvasija wine which matched perfectly with the food.
Great quality for a price accordingly

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leonor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    162
    60
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not that good”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Nice location in an enclosed courtyard that gives the place a cosy feeling despite being right next to the Cathedral of St. Anastasia, and decent service too; shame the food wasn't on the same level.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LadybirdOrMarieta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groppo-Zadar, General Manager at Restaurant Groppo, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear LadybirdOrMarieta,

thank you for your honest review, I am sorry you were not satisfied with quality of food, I would like you were more specified what was the problem so we can it fix. I hope you visit us again, so we can show you our gratitude for your visit.
Regards, Danijel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food and efficient service”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very well located restaurant with fresh and varied menu. Seafood, pasta and all the desserts we had were just excellent and decently priced for the quality. Thanks

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Khaldo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bebington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

First dinner in a 10 day trip to Zadar and one of the best! Mixed meat to share which was excellent, good wine, reasonably priced and great service! On a terrace so a little bit hidden from the crowds. Well worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveller_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groppo-Zadar, Owner at Restaurant Groppo, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Thank you for your nice review, we hope to see you again!
With one special treat from us of course :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
136 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We went last night due to TripAdvisor reports, we weren't expecting it to be as good as it was.
Bruschetta and Groppo salad to start followed by mussel risotto and beef and truffle pasta, all were very tasty. The service was excellent and house wine, good old Grasevina was nice.Atmosphere was very good.
All in all a very good meal but still comes third after Pet Bunara and Bruschetta.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donnaCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Groppo also viewed

Zadar, Zadar County
 
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Restaurant Groppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing