We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not my type of hotel,but ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of 10 day Croatian holiday,which overall was an amazing hoilday.We extended our trip by 3 days as we where having such a good time,but we kind of ran out of money,so we booked this all inclusive hotel on our credit card,naughty i know,but we just didnt want to leave this beautiful country.Im not a big fan of all inclusives,but i have to admit this was ok,goodish even.The buffet food was ok,although i think id off gone mad staying longer,and the beer tasted,well like beer,but you could tell the difference over the road at Gagis bar,great bar!.We where there early season with a few coach loads of German and Austrian OAPs,which meant there was abit of a queue for beer,but it was nice and peaceful,but i can imagine in peak season it would be chaos with kids flying about.But when i have kids id consider bringing them here,maybe.The decour of the hotel is mixed,you can tell whats been renewed,and is really nice,and whats of the old,our room,the building its self is an eyesore.The pool was good,and the indoor spa are was really nice.Overall we where happy enough,but probably wouldnt return,unless we ran out of money again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snozzledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (637)
There are newer reviews for Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 637 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2009

Been there in April 2009 by business and I'd recomened it. The best hotel in Zadar. Very nice service, excellent food and clean rooms. delighted bit bath and showers! I also loved themed buffets that are different evey night. Beautiful view to a sunset above the see!!!!
In one word cean, well decorated not thacky, new, great staff!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank in_amore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Compared to the price, this is my worst hotel stay ever.

Service (one small story - I have plenty more):
We were two guys traveling together and had as such asked for twin beds, but to our surprise we were met by the sight of one double bed + a bunk bed. After telling our situation in the reception, they promised to fix it and exchange the double bed with twin beds. Here began an unbelievable evening, where nothing happened with the beds regardless of more kind reminders. At last our patience ran out and we had to ask in a more demanding tone since we did not find our request unreasonable. And finally something happened - we came up to our room and another bed had appeared! To our astonishment they had put bedsheets on the couch! Incredible, but after going down the reception once _again_ the guy there was total indifferent to our complaint - not a single sorry or compensation or anything. After some discussion, he just left with the words that we could talk to the manager tomorrow. The next day, we tried to contact the manager, but he was not there and they promised to make him call us, of course he never did..

About the food:
The buffet is the same day after day. Well, of course it is not, but it all taste the same and it is certain that they are going with quantity over quality. That might what some people prefer, but I do not.

Most wasted 240 euros/night double room for me..

Might be good for a family, but why sell it to someone who has requirement you cannot fulfill?

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DK-travel-review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Stayed in the "Ariana" hotel part of the funimation club complex.

We breakfasted at the hotel but had to go to the main funimation complex for lunch and dinner. Breakfast superb - a quiet restauant with excellent buffet eithe inside or or the terrace outside. Main meals were all buffet but cast of thousands - lots of children.

Restaurant times and bar times were fixed and no late drinking.

Definitely a family holiday concept - not suitable for those who wished to party all hours.

The accommodation was superb - a sitting room partitioned off from a double bed room by a sliding screen. Good airconditioning (35 degrees C outside) . Nice bathroom and seperate shower.

For our purpose (was judging at a regatta) it was excellent.

No lifts - its a two storey building.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

We stayed at the Flakensteiner Resort with friends and family for 7 days. We had kids ranging from 10 to 18 years of age and everybody had a good time. The all inclusive option works fine, the kids LOVED the buffets which are themed differently every night. There are plenty of activities offered on and off the property (scuba diving, jet ski, banana boat rides etc.) and the hotel is conveniently located with stores in walking distance and the city of Zadar just minutes away. The staff is O.K. but far from outstanding, a smile seems hard to come by in Croatia.
The rooms are simple but very well maintained and very clean. It is clearly a family resort and I would not recommend it for travellers without children. But even with sooo many kids at the hotel, I found the noise level very tolerable and everybody was quite disciplined.
The bar service and the quality of drinks in the evening hours were disappointing and the lack of WIFI was a surprise as well.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BigCityCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2008

I´ve spent a week in March in Falkenstener`s Funimation Club Hotel in Zadar with my 2 kids and my wife. I have choosen the hotel based on my excellent experience at other Funimation hotel in Katschberg (Austrtia).

I was very dissapointed with this hotel. There is no reason to call it a family hotel. The hotel has only one indoor pool, the water temp was 27-29 C, not warm enough for kids to stay in longer. The warm whirlpool (outdoor) is in the sauna area. Family hours: 14.00-16.00. After lunch, when the kids are sleeping... Fulkyland, the playground are functioning only in the summer high season. So, there is absolutely nothing for children. The hotel looks like operating for tourist groups of retaired Austrians whom stay there for 2-3 days. (we met some 200+)

The room (suite) was OK, but some renovation needed. The food was not bad, but we had beef soup for every day, and there was no children´ buffet. All inclusive means beside the restaurant a bar, which is the farest point of the hotel from anywhere else, and open 10.00-18.30. Good for the older Austrians beeing there and playing cards all afternoon.

To be fair, the hotel should be much lively and better in the high season, as it is directly on the seaside with its own small private (sandy!) beach, with outdoor pools and slides.

I would rather going somewhere else in the low season with kids.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Attila73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

My husband and I stayed here for one night driving through Croatia. It was in the middle of winter. It was cold and wet so we didn't want to look around Zedar therefore we were hotel bound. Being low season a most of the resort was closed.

We both felt that the staff in this hotel did everything in their power to make us feel unwelcome. This resort is clearly for families and they dont want any body else.

It must have been a holiday camp during the communist era and it looks as though it was been done up on a shoe string budget. The room that we stayed in, which was at the front, felt like it could have been in a private hospital. It was very sterile.

Our stay here, though short, was very ammusing. It felt as though we were staying in some sort of institution.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank travel35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zadar
5.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
5.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Family Hotel Diadora
0.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#4 of 21 in Zadar
330 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#5 of 21 in Zadar
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik

Address: Ulica Majstora Radovana 7, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#5 Family Hotel in Zadar
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range: £107 - £598 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik in Zadar offers you sun, sea, lots of fun and the greatest spa and wellness facilities in this part of Europe, all amidst blossoming gardens.The club’s bedrooms are outstanding in terms of size and design and are dominated by Mediterranean colours. Spacious, modern bathrooms, air conditioning and balconies in nearly all bedrooms add to the comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik Hotel Zadar
Falkensteiner Hotel Zadar
Falkensteiner Hotel Funimation Borik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing