We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go there”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Club Funimation Borik is really not living up to the expectations one gets from a Falkensteiner hotel. The only new part to the hotel is the SPA. All other parts are ranging from moderate to very (very) outdated and worn out, and this counts for all public spaces.
On recommendation is to be made here: don't go to Borik, but book a room in the new to be opened Falkensteiner hotels which are being build in a resort nearby !!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Borneo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2009

Firstly, looking at the few positive reviews here it's hard to believe that people actually liked anyhting about this hotel. All I can say, and I don't mean any disrespect when I say this, that they have not travelled much and experienced good hotels.

The staff here are generally quite pleasant but there is a very uneasy feel to the whole place. Every request seems to be a hassle, especially in the spa area and with reception. The rooms are tired and quite dirty. The food is rubbish and repetitive. The bar stinks of smoke. The pool area is filthy and the pool is a joke (freezing). the beach is filty.

Finally, the security here is the worst issue. We witnessed the security guy get very heavy handed with a couple who were in to use the spa and then have a drink. They were frogged marched off like prisoners of war as the security guard had received a complaint from the spa attendant. This same spa attendant had been very unhelpful all week and everyone we spoke to had problems with her. To be honest it left us all a little shook to see a lovely, friendly couple get cheated this way. When we questioned management we were told he'd gone home. This was the case three days in row. The security guard threatened a middle aged German woman at one point for laughing loudly. Seems unbelieveable but that is what he told her. There were far too many problems to mention here, but you get the point.

Do yourself a favour. Book a self catering apartment in Borik or go to the nearby, beautifuland friendly islands.

I really really hope you heed my advise.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homerclesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights at the end of 10 day Croatian holiday,which overall was an amazing hoilday.We extended our trip by 3 days as we where having such a good time,but we kind of ran out of money,so we booked this all inclusive hotel on our credit card,naughty i know,but we just didnt want to leave this beautiful country.Im not a big fan of all inclusives,but i have to admit this was ok,goodish even.The buffet food was ok,although i think id off gone mad staying longer,and the beer tasted,well like beer,but you could tell the difference over the road at Gagis bar,great bar!.We where there early season with a few coach loads of German and Austrian OAPs,which meant there was abit of a queue for beer,but it was nice and peaceful,but i can imagine in peak season it would be chaos with kids flying about.But when i have kids id consider bringing them here,maybe.The decour of the hotel is mixed,you can tell whats been renewed,and is really nice,and whats of the old,our room,the building its self is an eyesore.The pool was good,and the indoor spa are was really nice.Overall we where happy enough,but probably wouldnt return,unless we ran out of money again!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snozzledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2009

Been there in April 2009 by business and I'd recomened it. The best hotel in Zadar. Very nice service, excellent food and clean rooms. delighted bit bath and showers! I also loved themed buffets that are different evey night. Beautiful view to a sunset above the see!!!!
In one word cean, well decorated not thacky, new, great staff!!!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank in_amore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2008

Compared to the price, this is my worst hotel stay ever.

Service (one small story - I have plenty more):
We were two guys traveling together and had as such asked for twin beds, but to our surprise we were met by the sight of one double bed + a bunk bed. After telling our situation in the reception, they promised to fix it and exchange the double bed with twin beds. Here began an unbelievable evening, where nothing happened with the beds regardless of more kind reminders. At last our patience ran out and we had to ask in a more demanding tone since we did not find our request unreasonable. And finally something happened - we came up to our room and another bed had appeared! To our astonishment they had put bedsheets on the couch! Incredible, but after going down the reception once _again_ the guy there was total indifferent to our complaint - not a single sorry or compensation or anything. After some discussion, he just left with the words that we could talk to the manager tomorrow. The next day, we tried to contact the manager, but he was not there and they promised to make him call us, of course he never did..

About the food:
The buffet is the same day after day. Well, of course it is not, but it all taste the same and it is certain that they are going with quantity over quality. That might what some people prefer, but I do not.

Most wasted 240 euros/night double room for me..

Might be good for a family, but why sell it to someone who has requirement you cannot fulfill?

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DK-travel-review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Stayed in the "Ariana" hotel part of the funimation club complex.

We breakfasted at the hotel but had to go to the main funimation complex for lunch and dinner. Breakfast superb - a quiet restauant with excellent buffet eithe inside or or the terrace outside. Main meals were all buffet but cast of thousands - lots of children.

Restaurant times and bar times were fixed and no late drinking.

Definitely a family holiday concept - not suitable for those who wished to party all hours.

The accommodation was superb - a sitting room partitioned off from a double bed room by a sliding screen. Good airconditioning (35 degrees C outside) . Nice bathroom and seperate shower.

For our purpose (was judging at a regatta) it was excellent.

No lifts - its a two storey building.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yachtjudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

We stayed at the Flakensteiner Resort with friends and family for 7 days. We had kids ranging from 10 to 18 years of age and everybody had a good time. The all inclusive option works fine, the kids LOVED the buffets which are themed differently every night. There are plenty of activities offered on and off the property (scuba diving, jet ski, banana boat rides etc.) and the hotel is conveniently located with stores in walking distance and the city of Zadar just minutes away. The staff is O.K. but far from outstanding, a smile seems hard to come by in Croatia.
The rooms are simple but very well maintained and very clean. It is clearly a family resort and I would not recommend it for travellers without children. But even with sooo many kids at the hotel, I found the noise level very tolerable and everybody was quite disciplined.
The bar service and the quality of drinks in the evening hours were disappointing and the lack of WIFI was a surprise as well.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BigCityCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zadar
5.4 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
0.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
5.1 mi away
Falkensteiner Family Hotel Diadora
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#10 of 22 in Zadar
106 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#3 of 22 in Zadar
328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Donat
Hotel Donat
#17 of 22 in Zadar
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik

Address: Ulica Majstora Radovana 7, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#5 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#5 Family Hotel in Zadar
#7 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range: £109 - £464 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik in Zadar offers you sun, sea, lots of fun and the greatest spa and wellness facilities in this part of Europe, all amidst blossoming gardens.The club’s bedrooms are outstanding in terms of size and design and are dominated by Mediterranean colours. Spacious, modern bathrooms, air conditioning and balconies in nearly all bedrooms add to the comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik Hotel Zadar
Falkensteiner Hotel Zadar
Falkensteiner Hotel Funimation Borik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing