We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Mediteran

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mediteran
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good clean rooms”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Stayed one night for a quick visit to Zadar on route to Plitvice. The hotel is located away from the main city 10 minutes drive away, free parking is available at the rear of the hotel. We had a rental car so getting around was not an issue. If you have no transport, you may be better off finding an alternative near to the city center.The rooms are a good size with large beds and flat screen satellite TV. Patio doors leads out to a private balcony. The rooms are clean and well maintained, no bath but there is a shower. The Staff are helpful and breakfast was good. Generally a good hotel but could perhaps do with updating. There is no lift but the staff did offer to help with the luggage.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PL_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    120
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
33
138
19
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at this reasonably priced hotel for 1 night during the trip through Croatia. We travelled by a rented car and it was handy for us that the hotel had an own parking lot. The location was not bad for us, but one needs a good walk or a taxi ride to the city center. I would say taxi is not expensive in Zadar and reception staff can call you a taxi easily. This hotel doesn’t belong to any chain. From the first sight one may see a personal touch.

At the check in the reception girl was not very welcoming, but it was fast. The room had basic décor/design and was spacious. To compliment this 3-star hotel the room was equipped with a minibar and balcony. Bathroom had a bidet in addition to standard fittings. I cannot say the rooms had a brand-new look, but everything was working.

Next morning I was surprised to get freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast. Remember that is 3-star hotel! Besides fresh juice the breakfast was good enough, sometimes the staff didn’t have enough time to refill chafing dishes but it was not a vital matter.

The owner was at the reception desk during our check out. He was nice and asked if we like the hotel. I gave him some advise and I saw that he was a man of passion and his interest was not about general politeness. He really cared. Always a pleasure to meet devoted to profession or business people.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed here for about four nights before and after a sea kayak trip. The staff were most helpful. the food was wonderful. It was within a bus ride of the main tourist area or a long but interesting walk along the sea front. There is plenty of parking for cars or buses. The owner very kindly looked after our luggage in a secure place while we did another trip to the Paklenica national park. This hotel definitely catered for all of my needs and more.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buena Vista, Colorado
Level Contributor
146 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We stayed at this 3-star hotel on the north edge of Zadar for two nights. The hotel makes a good impression from the outside being well maintained, and the public areas are also nice, especially the retaurant which is quite pleasant. The room was small and the bathroom adequate, and everything was clean. The room light is barely sufficient to read by. There are no lifts in this hotel, but were were on the 1st floor (not the ground floor). The hotel has a quirk in that it occupies two buildings side by side, but at a 5 stair difference, making a lot extra stairs to navigate. The breakfast was buffet and comprehensive, and the service was excellent.

The hotel is a little too far for walking to the old town, but we had a rental car. We easily found a parking space at the waterfront and explored the city. We also visited Nin a 25 minute drive to the north, with the massive staute of Ninski Grgur, which I highly recommend, and spent a day in Pag, about 1 hour driving north from the hotel. In Pag you must try the sheep cheese, which is special. Also, my wife bought a piece of lace which is made by the women of Pag. Also, the sea is about 1 mile from the hotel, and there is a nice walk along the coast as well as a few restaurants. We ate at Nikko's, which is famous for fresh fish; choose your own from a display case. It has a view of the old city. I highly recommend it, but it is on the pricey side.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt33332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mediteran from 14 - 16 September 2011. We decided on the 'Comfort Double Room' which had a small balcony with sea views. The room and bathroom were very clean. Something to bear in mind is that there are no lifts to the rooms. The breakfasts were very good too, with lots of fresh fruit and the nicest yoghurt in Croatia :)

We were very impressed with Marija the lady who worked at reception, and with whom we had communicated via email when doing our booking. She is very friendly and helpful. She organised for us to be collected at Zadar Airport via Taxi (TAXI HRVOJE) The taxi driver was waiting for us when we arrived. Marija had let us know before arrival that the taxi cost would be 150.00 kn (approx £18). She also organised for the taxi to take us back to the airport on our departure. There was a young man working at reception as well (sorry don't remember his name) but he was also very friendly and helpful. We heard him one evening giving advice to some other guests at the hotel about places they should visit and directions etc. To say the least the staff at this hotel could not be nicer.

There is a bus stop about 500m down the road where you can catch a bus which will take you into town and drop you off about 100m from the entrance to the Old Town. It is possible to do almost everything in the Old Town in one day. Don't miss watching the sunset whilst listening to the sea organ, and be sure not to leave until it is dark :) because the sunset just gets more and more intense. Believe me when I say, that Zadar does have the most magnificient sunset in the world!

Zadar we will be back, and Hotel Mediteran will be where we will be staying :)

Room Tip: As Zadar can get very hot, you want to have a room with an Air Conditioner. The Comfort Double Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan_in_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

That was our next, the fourth hotel During honeymoon. Situated a little further away from the old town, but you can get there by bus or taxi. No problem. Room quite small but with a balcony (table and chairs). Clean, nice and family. Very friendly staff, always smiling and helpful. Very good breakfast - I think it local meats and cheeses, plus fruit, cereals etc. The atmosphere created by people.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonWWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

The hotel is not in the old town but above it on the edge of the new town ihn a residential area with no shops nearby. You need a taxi to get anywhere and the taxis in Croatia are just about as expensive as London on NY.
Few facilities, the rooms have only the bare necessities. The toilet in my room was leaking for half the night. The only thing that is provided is a small bar of soap!
Very limited DIY breakfast. But to be fair it does provide cornflakes and there is fresh fruit in season, but no omlette. They do have a restaurant. When I ate there I had a fairly filling meat and veg dish. Edible but nothing to write home about.
Staff are helpful and courteous.
It is classed as a three star hotel, but I would put it as a basic one star. Pity about the location, I guess you get what you pay for at 55Euro per night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nemo149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
5.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
0.8 mi away
Hotel Niko
Hotel Niko
#2 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.5 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.3 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#3 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mediteran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mediteran

Property: Mediteran
Address: Ulica Matije Gupca 19, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Zadar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mediteran 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mediteran reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediteran Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing