We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem”
Review of Hotel Venera

Hotel Venera
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Venera
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

The rooms are small but very clean and the WiFi is great! They are redecorating the lobby but you don't need the bar because the location is great in the middle of all nice restaurants.

Quiet during the day but cozy during the evenings.

Advisable!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maarten1979-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Venera
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

... and your hearing protection too. Knowing that the rooms were tiny and had no AC we booked one night at Hotel Venera because of the convenient price/location passing through Zadar. What we didn't know was that there was an all night party on the streets in the neighbourhood and practically in the ally outside the hotel. With no AC through a hot july night we had no choice but to postpone our sleep for the next hotel (this is probably a great place if you are planning to party).

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luksusdyrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

The Venera is perfectly clean and adequate. It is the only hotel we stayed in in eastern Europe in this price range that did not have a TV or Air con. I read somewhere that it is the only that it is the only place in the old town and that is not true..there are other better cheaper options. It was so hot when we were there we had to sleep under wet towels with the fan on! BTW we asked for an extra fan but they have a strict one fan per room policy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tim_the_hat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Ok the staff is very friendly, the wifi connection is excellent, the rooms and bathrooms are spotless but I read somewhere it was quiet and it's not, I had the worst night ever there, it's in a small street close to lots of bars which meant lots of drunk people ended up under our window, some guest came back late and where super noisy (at different hours of the night), it was like a sauna in there cos there's no air con whatsoever, the rooms are tiny (you can get decent private rooms with air con and even a fridge and satellite tv from the tourist info for less money than a room at venera), and the bathroom are pocket size (fortunately I'm quite skinny but no XxxL people could fit in their bathrooms.

Room Tip: Avoid if you're meant to spend more than one night
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

My colleague and I had the need to find a hotel in Zadar for a Saturday afternoon, night & sunday morning. All the hotels in or near the Old Town were booked, so we decided upon Hotel Venera. When we looked at some previous reviews (made in 2011) we were a little concerned.

However, on checking in we found that some of the previous complaints we could not substantiate. The receptionist was very helpful; allowed us to check in before the stated time.

Although there is no elevator, our rooms were on the 2nd floor. They were spotless, the beds, floor, bathroom, wardrobes and cupboards.

The beds were a little hard, but comfortable.

It is a small hotel and it is in the very centre of the old town so one should not expect a view.

We found the price very reasonable.

We were NOT asked to hand over our passports except for the purpose of registration, which the receptionist did most efficiently. We had the choice of paying in Kuna or Euro. I paid in Kuna's and my colleague paid in Euros. When we checked the exchange rate it was most fair.

The location can't be better. it is very close to all good restaurants and bars and the sea.

When we checked out, all we had to do was to hand back the keys.

This is NOT the Ritz, but neither is it the price.

Room Tip: I would not recommend it for anyone who has difficulty climbing stone staircases.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

It's clean and serves it's purpose - but no frills. Location is great, makes life very easy if you're flying into Zadar on the evening flights, as the bus drops you a 5-10 min walk away. Can be a little noisy in the evenings as it is close to some good bars.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2011

This disgusting establishment with its sleazy near-criminal staff almost soured our time in Zadar, which is actually a lovely town. The location of this “hotel” is decent, but not reason enough to stay. There was rarely anyone at the front desk, and when we needed to find them we had to have some of the neighbors help us look for them. The owners lied about the price and held our passports as ransom – unlike the neighboring (but booked) hostels who agreed that this was unnecessary and unfair. The sooner this place can be shut down and replaced with a REAL lodging option, the better. The City of Zadar should be ashamed that this place is still in operation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bonnie_voyagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zadar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#5 of 21 in Zadar
521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kolovare
Hotel Kolovare
#10 of 21 in Zadar
391 reviews
1.6 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
2.5 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
101 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Nico
Hotel Villa Nico
#13 of 21 in Zadar
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Venera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Venera

Address: Ulica Shime Ljubica 4A, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Venera 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Venera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing