We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Niko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Niko
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed 3 nights at Niko Hotel. It was wonderful hotel--great food, great view, wonderful surroundings, and accommodating staff. Our room had a view of the sea, the old city and a great balcony. We soon caught on to the bus service and were able to go into the old city quickly.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ekanema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    78
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
59
171
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We spent a week in Croatia and our best hotel was Hotel Niko in Zadar. Not only was the room – with a picture postcard view of the sea from its balcony - of a very high standard, but the service was faultless. Staff were courteous and always quick to be of help. The breakfasts were mini feasts, the table covered with a range of delicious food and that was even before freshly-cooked eggs arrived from the kitchen. We would definitely stay at Hotel Niko on a return visit to Zadar.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

There seems to be some confusion about where to leave reviews for the restaurant at Niko so I'm writing a short review here as well as leaving a more detailed review in the "restaurant" section. In short, our dinner at Niko was the best dining experience we've had in Croatia and one of the better ones we've had generally. Excellent food and service.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjmasterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2011

This hotel is outstanding, we recommend it to anyone traveling to Zadar. The room, the service, the restaurant, all were exceptional. It is actually located in Borik but it's an easy bus ride to the center of Zadar and the old town. It is just a few paces from the front door to the local beach. Above all, do have dinner in the hotel restaurant. It's pricey but well worth it. We had quite possibly the best fish dinner we have ever had. My wife and I still talk about that dinner.

Room Tip: Buy your bus ticket at the news stand next to the bus stop for 14 Kuna. Every bus ticket is good for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gramp39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Only just got home from our trip to Croatia, what a place !
Loved every minute of the holiday, and will be back.
I feel though that I must tell you about Hotel Niko.
We booked it last minute, for the last two nights of our holiday. We wanted somewhere within easy reach of Zadar, but near a beach too (only a few euro into town by taxi)
Well, the beach is right across the road (not busy, more an access road) and great for a dip after a hot day sight seeing in Zadar (some history).
The food is THE best we had in Croatia, and that's saying something. But the best part of the Hotel is the people. The owner and staff are really nice, and very helpful. We had a late night flight, but they let us keep the room for very little extra, most places would charge at least a half a day extra. Not Hotel Niko
The breakfast is AWSOME ;)
Dinner even better, ask for Joesph, he is a true gent and very helpful. He suggested some great dishes and wines which were fantastic. On the last night, the owners family had a little get together ( a regular affair Im told) with guitars and singing, which was great. We sat there talking and listening to the music, while my young son gazed at the huge fish tank for hours. Just lovely !
I highly recommend this hotel, especially as your last stop before you fly home out of Zadar.
Go on Treat yourself one last time, before it's back to work ;)

Room Tip: Room was great but no view to speak of, no problem though, was hardly in it ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank etown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Spent a lovely couple of days at this small-ish family run hotel. It's right on the beach and the hotel also has a number of sun loungers you can use (if you can find a spot to put them on the beach!)

The room itself was very nice and the bed was very comfortable. The shower was brilliant.

The hotel also has a very large restaurant where you have breakfast and we also ate there a couple of times as well. The breakfast was a large number of different items (fresh fruit salad, cold meats, coffee, juice, etc, etc) delivered to your table and was very good. I also had local grilled squid there which was lovely, but it was very, very salty.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank passepartout-tout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

The location of Hotel Niko is too far from Zadar center to walk -- 3.6 km. We were greeted warmly by a helpful receptionist who answered all our questions. Our room had a good shower and firm beds, but we would still warn you to avoid Room 108. It is located directly above the bar and we heard noisy voices long into the night. Breakfast was the worst we had in Croatia. There were no hot items such as eggs, sausages, pancakes, etc., which was not very forthcoming for a hotel with an enormous and supposedly top-rated restaurant. Only cold items were set out: yogurt, fruit, croissants, cold cuts, tomatoes, and strangely: sugar cookies! No other items were available. Supposedly there was no smoking (no ashtrays at the table). However, our server spent most of her time sitting down at the far end of the restaurant, smoking cigarettes, and the smoke aroma where we were sitting was obvious. We had to go back and find her to get a coffee refill.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DancerGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zadar hotels
5.5 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
0.8 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#5 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#3 of 21 in Zadar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#8 of 21 in Zadar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niko

Property: Hotel Niko
Address: Obala Kneza Domagoja 9, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zadar
#2 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#3 Business Hotel in Zadar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niko 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run hotel is located in quiet part of Zadar, Borik, but only 10-minute drive from Zadar's centre. Hotel Niko is situated just a few meters from the beautiful pebble beach with clean sea and offers free internet access and free parking. The air-conditioned rooms feature satellite TV, hairdryers and work desks. The restaurant Niko is one of the most popular restaurants in Zadar, because of its 50 year tradition, and delicious Mediterranean cuisine with fish specialties. The meals are accompanied by Croatian and international wines. Hotel Rooms: 12 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Niko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niko Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing