We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with an incredible restaurant”
Review of Hotel Niko

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Niko
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My friends and I recently stayed at Hotel Niko for two nights. The rooms were clean and nice, but nothing super fancy. The hotel staff is so kind and bended over backwards to help us with everything. The location is great! It's directly across from the beach and close to some cute beach bars. Additionally, it's a beautiful walk along the bay to get into the old town, which is so charming. The restaurant is just wonderful. We had some of our best meals in all of Croatia here. The seafood was wonderful and Joseph insisted that we try the typical Croatian seafood preparation for the mixed fish, which was just incredible. I'd definitely recommend staying here, as it has such a warm and local feel.

Room Tip: We were in the back, but I would try to get a room with a view of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNikoZadar, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as our restaurant food !
We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Hotel Niko staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

On our way to Dubrovnik, we stayed at Niko's hotel one night with our son's family (5 of us). We enjoyed it so much we would definitely go back if we end up in that area in the future. The rooms were very nice and clean, they a mini-bar and also a fruit plate with kiwis/oranges/apples which was very welcoming touch, plus both rooms had a beautiful ocean view. The staff was super friendly, especially our waiter at dinner time, his name was Josef (sp?), he is the best waiter we have had in the long long time, ask for him if you go, you will be pleased. We would recommend this hotel 100%.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcba83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNikoZadar, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay!
Joseph sends his regards to You! :)
We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Hotel Niko staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

So nice hotel in the town of Zadar(Zara). Staff is so friendly and ready to help you in every way to make your holidays better. Rooms are decorated in a little bit of retro style and we like that much /everything is so clean .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mateo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNikoZadar, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Mateo,
We would like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay!
We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Hotel Niko staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Unfortunately we only booked for one night in the lovely Hotel Niko as we were travelling to Trogir. It's a delightful hotel and all the staff had excellent english. Nestled on the seafront we had a wonderful view from our balcony. We ate in the restaurant that night and have to say it was a fantastic experience and the proprietor was an excellent host and we had a good chat and he made us feel most welcome. We'll certainly be back for a longer stay next time and would highly recommend Hotel Niko and it's friendly staff.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niallerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNikoZadar, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay as well as our restaurant food!
We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon, for a longer stay next time!

Best regards,
Hotel Niko staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

The staff was extremely friendly from the minute we walked in. It is a small cosy hotel with parking right in front and a delicious restaurant right next to reception with unbeatable fish dishes. We tried the shrimp risotto and the seafood pasta and they were both delicious.

If you need a cash machine leave the hotel and turn left, there is one a few hundred meters away on that main street.

My room had a gorgeous view of the sea and a small balcony you could sunbathe in.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank mairead_pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNikoZadar, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay!
We hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Hotel Niko staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I never normally write a review while I am still staying at a hotel but I think this hotel deserves it.
Rooms are very well appointed with all the normal stuff you would expect , even a mini bar which is unusual for a tourist hotel. The beds a probably one of the best I gave slept in considering I had to stay in it all day today because my wife was ill. The view from the balcony is amazing. The reception staff are very very good and very helpful as well. The restaurant downstairs is also good with very nice waiters and decent prices , I would return here in a heart beat

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BrianGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNikoZadar, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Brian ,

Thank You for your review and nice words for our hotel!
We hope to see You again!

Best regards
Hotel Niko staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Located about 2 miles from the old city of Zadar, this 50 year old hotel, across the street from the beach, is in excellent condition with the hotel being recently renovated. The rooms are spacious, with nice Italian furniture including a writing desk and small sitting area.The view from our room was nothing more than adjacent houses, but the balcony was nice for a breeze.

The restaurant takes up most of the main floor and is richly appointed with a large sea water acquarium, ancient artifacts, old musical instruments and various objets de art. An enormous breakfast that comes with the room features fresh fruit, cheese and meat plates, capressi salad, breads, croissants, and, they will make you an omelet or pancakes. Way too much food for me. Lunch and dinner are excellent, with fresh fish and other dishes skillfully prepared and presented with a bit of flair.The restaurant attracts many locals and features live music at times.

On the negative side, the heater in our bathroom would not shut off so it was like a sauna; we notified the management, but nothing was ever done to fix the problem. The bed was very hard for me so the sleep quality was not very good.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so try to get a room on the first floor (one flight up from the main floor) if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_smith56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelNikoZadar, Manager at Hotel Niko, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Michael,

Thank You for your review for our hotel!
We are very sorry we did not respond to Your request about the heater. This doesn't usually happen. Sorry once again!
We hope to see You again in our hotel!

Best regards
Hotel Niko staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zadar hotels
5.5 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel & Spa Iadera
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Club Funimation Borik
0.8 mi away
Mediteran
Mediteran
#4 of 22 in Zadar
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Bastion
Hotel Bastion
#5 of 22 in Zadar
530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
1.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#9 of 22 in Zadar
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Niko? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Niko

Address: Obala Kneza Domagoja 9, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Zadar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
#3 Business Hotel in Zadar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
Price Range: £96 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Niko 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family-run hotel is located in quiet part of Zadar, Borik, but only 10-minute drive from Zadar's centre. Hotel Niko is situated just a few meters from the beautiful pebble beach with clean sea and offers free internet access and free parking. The air-conditioned rooms feature satellite TV, hairdryers and work desks. The restaurant Niko is one of the most popular restaurants in Zadar, because of its 50 year tradition, and delicious Mediterranean cuisine with fish specialties. The meals are accompanied by Croatian and international wines. Hotel Rooms: 12 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Niko reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niko Hotel Zadar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing