We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“charming setting, tasty food”
Review of Gradska Vijecnica

Gradska Vijecnica
Ranked #35 of 88 Restaurants in Sibenik
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
388 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“charming setting, tasty food”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

This restaurant was recommend by the owner of our accommodation. We were a bit suspicious as it is located on the most touristy spot in the old town, right next to St. James cathedral. We decided to sit outside as it was lovely weather and could also admire the beauty of the cathedral.
We started our dinner with the octopus salad and the carpaccio. The octopus was tasty and tender, however it was served on cold potatoes and broccoli, which was a strange combination. The carpaccio was great, tender, well seasoned beef served on bed of lettuce.
For the main course we had mussels buzara (buzara means cooked with olive oil, wine, garlic, breadcrumbs and fresh herbs), which very fresh, sweet and tasty . The sauce/broth was lovely even on its own with a piece of bread. The other main dish was the 'famous' local black risotto, which had a rich deep flavour and a very nice texture.
Throughout the meal we were drinking a local rose wine Korta Katarina, which complimented our meal beautifully. All in all much better than expected, fully recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zuzka123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    30
    12
    3
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novalja, Croatia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

We had lunch in Gradska Vijećnica yesterday and we really enjoyed it.
The place has the atmosphere of a Venetian palace about it and it was very quiet, obviously not many tourists visit the town at this time of year!
Nevertheless, we enjoyed our late lunch. We had steaks and grilled vegetables which were delicious! House red wine was not too good but the total price was acceptable.
Not to forget; the place is situated in a lovely square with a beautiful view of the church.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank crssroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Savory in Sibenik”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Ventured to Gradska Vijecnica, known as City Hall, for lunch with friends today. What a wonderful surprise. We opted for appetizer plates of salad with octopus, salad with baby shrimp and tuna pate. Since I tend to eat Vegan our friends had called ahead and I was served green salad with a vegetable pate and a warm green salad that was actually wild greens sautéed together. The greens were dandelion, fennel and other wild greens cooked together with carrots and broccoli. All the dishes were excellent and the warm bread was so good we ate three baskets of it.

The restaurant, directly across from St. James, affords a lovely view of the Cathedral. They have plenty of seating outdoors and also a dining room on the inside for colder weather.

Dessert was offered but I was full. Our friends however shared their desserts with my husband. They were served a heavenly chocolate dessert with whipped cream and a fruit cobbler dessert. I was told they were both excellent. I will have to return to have coffee and dessert before we leave Croatia.

As are most restaurants in Croatia they are mostly known for serving coffee but we can now recommend them for their food offerings.

The service was excellent even though the restaurant was full. They have full bar service as well. We will be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Florence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tourist trap.”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Went with a group of 3 and the waitress brought us bread and a dollop of cheese which we thought was complimentary and two of us ate it. We never ordered any appetizers.
When the mains came out, there was a hair in one of our pasta dishes. The food was average in taste and cost.
When the bill arrived, we were charged for the appetizer which we never ordered in the first place and It turned out to cost 40kn and two of us never touched it. This occurred more than once in Croatia and you should watch out for it if you are unaware.
Bad experience overall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Badger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
118 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Best Meal in the Trip”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Our lunch restaurant this day is called "Gradska Vijecnica" which simply means 'City Hall'. We were served antipasto platters of cheese and cured meat, garden salad with balsamic vinegar dressing, main course of beef risotto, and dessert. Yum, yum! This was definitely the best meal in our tour of Croatia. The restaurant has a very Venetian ambience and most of the dishes it serves are indeed Italian-inspired. This is not surprising. Sibenik, as had most of Dalmatia, had been part of the Venetian Republic.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gradska Vijecnica also viewed

Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
 
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
 
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
 

Been to Gradska Vijecnica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing