We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This hotel has potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Solaris Hotel Ivan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Solaris Hotel Ivan
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Sibenik
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This hotel has potential”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

When I arrived at hotel Ivan in Sibenic I was surprised to notice that the hotel has been completely renovated in a way that perfectly fits this part of the Adriatic sea. The hotel had neat vibe to it overall, and the rooms were also surprisingly nice. The breakfast was also satisfying, and the restaurants they have around the resort, offer you a good selection of rustic and Mediterranean cuisine.

The reason why I gave this hotel a average score instead of excellent is because of many bad management decisions that the administration has obviously taken and which reduce the overall experience in a otherwise wonderful resort.

1) Many chairs at the pool were broken, and the umbrellas left much to be desired, as a matter of fact I ended up resting somewhere underneath the rocks which provided a natural protection from the sun.

2) The pool had significant quantities of sand and or other insects. Although not a complete nuisance, the administration might consider cleaning the pool more often.

3) The internet was completely monopolized by the hotel which offered you a free wifi option which didn't work, but you could also pay for it and nothing would change. Eventually after various complaints from many disgruntled tourists, they finally decided to revamp the wifi for free. Nonetheless I find it very disconcerting that hotels still don't offer the basic wifi service in 2013.

4) They charged you for everything including the atrocious slide next to the beach, which was really uncomfortable to use, and the pebbles on the ground would injure your feet.

Conclusion: management you need a more hands on approach, don't let such a beautiful hotel slip into a state of decadence.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    135
    44
    19
    5
See reviews for
93
129
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Currently staying here at moment, came on a deal and for the money it is good. The main downside is the evening meals, they are not hot just Luke warm at best. The air conditioning does not work well in room and only English tv channel is CNN. As its out of season not all the bars etc on the resort are open so in evening it's the hotel bar or nothing.
On the good side the hotel is spotless, very clean and the breakfast buffet is very good. The concierge is excellent and has been very helpful with recommending great places to visit.
THe rooms are quite small but adequate and the bathrooms a good size and showers very good. The hotel has a lot of conferences so far we have seen 3 here although the current one s full of firemen, so there is a god!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaynor321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica B, Manager at Solaris Hotel Ivan, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear guest,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you choosing Hotel Ivan for you vacation. We are pleased that you recognized our efforts regarding the cleanliness of the hotel and that you are satisfied with our breakfast buffet standard. I was glad to read compliments about our concierge service and I will be sure to pass on your praise.
Thank you for the comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.
Allow me to look back at your remarks:
Our dinner lasts two hours, and depending on hotel occupancy strive to provide to all guests the highest quality of food. to preserve the environment when renovating the hotel, we decided to install smart rooms and air condition that is in fact part of the central system is activated by entering the guest in the room. This method will prevent warming the room while guest is not present which sometimes is not very comfortable but it is certainly a great contribution to preserving the environment.. TV program is constantly adjusted the structure of guests in the hotel, which is often changing and it is not always easy to satisfy all nations and language groups that are staying at the hotel.
It would be wonderful to get an opportunity to be your hosts again during the summer season, when we are certain that you would truly enjoy our unique location and all facilities.. It is our goal to make your experience special and memorable.
With kind regards from Solaris,
Vedran Kopačević
Solaris Hotel Ivan Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Loved this place! The restaurant can be found in the middle of this traditional looking village, which is purpose built for tourists but looks really good. You feel like you're in a village rather than in a hotel. My friends and I ordered steak and fish and we all enjoyed it very much. The bread was home made and we picked our fish from the fish counter which had a huge selection of seafood. The restaurant is very expensive, I have to admit I was a bit shocked when I got the bill but it was well worth the money as the fish was fresh and the wine delicious!

Would definitely go again when in the region.

Room Tip: Never stayed at the hotel - only had lunch so cannot comment on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana_Ross2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica B, Manager at Solaris Hotel Ivan, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your review of Dalmatian Ethno Village. We are very happy thah you enjoyed in the traditional Dalmatian atmosphere and local delicacies. We only use the best ingredients from the local market, and some of the vegetables we grow ourselves, so it is our pleasure to see that our efforts to prepare tasty traditional meals are recognized. We hope to see you again in our resort as our guest so you can discover all the other facilities that make our resort a beautiful place for vacation.

Vedran Kopacevic
Solaris Hotel Ivan Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Ivan end of Sept for husband's 50th. A bit disappointed we did not have one of the front pool/sea view rooms as it was a special occasion but a side view room was okay. The room was lovely with giant bed and lovely bathroom area with large shower and large TV on wall at bottom of bed. The food at the restaurant was lovely and plentiful and the service was good, the staff were certainly kept busy! The only downside in the surrounding resort was the charge for everything - sunbeds, waterparks, sports, even the use of the sauna & gym at the hotel was charged which we have encountered at other hotels of a similar ilk as all inclusive for a similar price. Despite this we still had a fabulous time & would recomend the hotel to others

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tanpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica B, Manager at Solaris Hotel Ivan, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you had a fabulous time and we hope to see you here again.
Vedran Kopacevic
Solaris Hotel Ivan Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here as a stop over night as part of a Leger coach holiday. We were very pleased when we opened the door to our room which was lovely, nice clean white sheets and what turned out to be a very comfortable bed. It was a pity we did not have more time there. I know other members of the coach party were very happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A2D4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica B, Manager at Solaris Hotel Ivan, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear that you had a great time at Solaris and we hope that, maybe next year, you will have more time to fully explore our beautiful resort.
Vedran Kopacevic
Solaris Hotel Ivan Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We recently stayed at this property, 5 adults and one baby. We had 3 rooms, over various periods during the week. We also brought some friends who also decided to stay at the hotel.
At arrival, it was obvious that the baby cot was forgotten although we emailed and re-confirmed our arrival several times, etc. After arriving at almost midnight - we waited for the baby bed to be set up.
It is a detail but no biggie - things happen.

At brekafast on the first morning, the wait staff seemed overwhelmed by the morning rush. We couldn't find a table to sit - although there were several overflowing with the dirty dishes from previous guests. There simply didn't seem to be enough people on the floor to manage the clean up. I felt bad asking someone for the third time to clean up one of the tables, and then it took another three attempts to get coffee. I felt that this was not the level of service I expected for the price.
I assumed this was due to the fact that it was a Saturday and perhaps the number of guests is higher on the weekends and thus leaving people feeling unable to deal with the rush.

Most of the requests I had during the stay, however small or large, were declined by the reception staff and no follow up was made.

The rooms are a bit small, and the bathroom walls made of see-through plexiglass made for a few accidents for those clumsy ones amongst us but I would still return to the property as the grounds are beautiful, immaculate and brilliantly designed with many fun details.

I write the review only to point to the fact that it seems obvious that this is not simply a staffing issue but a management decision that could be either resolved by better planning and staff training/motivation, or more staff on the floor at crucial times along with a little bit of a finer customer service training, if the hotel really wants to live up to its marketing.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatSarajevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica B, Manager at Solaris Hotel Ivan, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Nat,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments received on Tripadvisor and I appreciate the time you have spent to write it down. We appreciate Your praise regarding the grounds and that You find our hotel design immaculate and brilliantly. However I feel sorry that your expectations was not fully satisfied. We apologize for any inconvenience for breakfast on Saturday morning. Problem appears as shifts on Saturdays when most of the guests come at the same time rushing to avoid traffic jams. We apologize also the baby cot was not immediately in the room there was a misunderstanding in communication.
Every year we invest constantly in staff training and the feedback of our returning guests year after year we have only words of praise for the quality of the staff. I agree with you that there is still plenty. We hope that this small inconvenience that you had not undermine your confidence our hotel, and your paddles reunion.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in Solaris Beach Resort Hotel Ivan
Kind regards
Vedran Kopačević
Solaris Hotel Ivan Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croatia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is completely renovated, so everything looks shiny and is well maintained. The pool area is great and very relaxing in the pre-season. The rooms are very nicely decorated, but unfortunately a majority does not have balconies.
We stayed in this hotel with a child despite the fact that hotel Ivan does not have playrooms, but hotel Andrija has. And, we will make the same pick again because this hotel looks and is on much higher level than the other hotels in the resort.
The whole resort looks great and is perfect for holliday (except maybe in the peak of the season whan it is much more crowded).
The only negative thing was service in the restaurant. There is a plenty of waiters, but some of them should consider their work more seriously (they served coffee, but twice forget to bring cups so we went for them; one waiter had a private conversation on mobile phone while serving the coffee and cleaning the table, etc.).
All in all, we loved this hotel, highly recommend it and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Issa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antica B, Manager at Solaris Hotel Ivan, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again next year.
Vedran Kopacevic
Solaris Hotel Ivan Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sibenik
0.3 mi away
Solaris Hotel Jure
Solaris Hotel Jure
#4 of 13 in Sibenik
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Solaris Hotel Niko
Solaris Hotel Niko
#7 of 13 in Sibenik
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Solaris Kids Hotel Andrija
2.6 mi away
Heritage Hotel Life Palace
6.1 mi away
Olympia Hotel
Olympia Hotel
#1 of 12 in Vodice
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solaris Hotel Ivan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaris Hotel Ivan

Property: Solaris Hotel Ivan
Address: Hoteli Solaris 86 | Solaris D.D., Sibenik 22000, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Sibenik-Knin County > Sibenik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sibenik
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sibenik
#3 Spa Hotel in Sibenik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Solaris Hotel Ivan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solaris hotel Ivan**** is a brand new hotel. Fashionable design with authentic Dalmatian theme intertwined in all the elements of the hotel. Replication of unique vineyards of Primošten along with famous quality wine sort Babić are only part of Šibenik's regional history and tradition which will enliven throughout our new hotel contents. 372 completely redecorated rooms (superior, deluxe and connected door rooms), a restaurant with a beautiful terrace and wine bar with numerous autochthonous wines, night club, new congress capacities, a completely renovated Solaris Wellness & Spa Mediterranean garden are only a small part of numerous other surprises which will await for you in Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Solaris Hotel Ivan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaris Hotel Sibenik
Solaris Hotel Ivan Croatia/Sibenik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing