We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Jalta”
Review of Hotel Oreanda

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yalta
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Oreanda
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Yalta
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in Jalta”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Maybe not in the VERY VERY city centre, actually located at the end of the promenade. Nice rooms, make sure you get seaview. Good breakfast. Wi-Fi is free but worked only in the Lobby.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SwissTravelist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    66
    27
    3
    2
See reviews for
70
50
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Great base for the Crimea but just an average hotel. The restaurant won´t earn any prizes from me.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank peter_glazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

For the Ukraine, this was just wonderful to walk into. It was as good/better than the website photos. Stayed on an upper floor with a large balcony for $300 night. Expensive for me, but worth it on a 1st date meeting for a 4 night stay. The hotel is right next to the Black Sea and has a serviced beach section. That water is really cold for a Florida guy, but do jump in if you're there.

The restaurant is very nice. They have an adjoining/nearby night club that was fun to go to. The fresh sweet smelling air was wonderful coming from the dense hillside vegetation. Yalta has great cliffs down to sea with great restaurants arouns there.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank MakoMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I chose the hotel for the location and I was very pleased by it. Central easy walk to just about anywhere you would want to walk, and this is a town where it is very nice to walk around.

But there were some other aspects that I also really appreciated:
* Breakfast included
* Dinner included
* Super helpful English-speaking staff (if you only speak English or if you are picky about service, you cannot overestimate how helpful this can be)
* private beach, so you can actually have a comfortable spot without fighting for it at 8AM! and have drinks and food brought right to you
* Nice pool and fantastic workout room.
* The standard rooms are a pretty good deal, given all that is included (same as the expensive rooms), so if money is tight, get the cheapest room. It's small, sure, but has everything you could want and just don't spend a lot of time there--get out!
* You are very close to the local nightlife, which is now on the southern part of the cove.
* Awesome bowling alley (look for the 50% off first hour coupons). If you have any bowling interest inside....check it out for at least a game or two.
* Food: I thought it was pretty darn good. Sometimes Ukraine cuisine can be sort of "mayonnaise-laden", but at dinner here there were some really good Chinese chicken salads and other veggies, along with tasting roasted chicken and meats.
* Car service to Simferopol. Keep in mind you have to get to/from Yalta from the airport (most of us who fly there), so you will need a car service. The hotel arranged one. My flight was hugely delayed, but the driver was there and got me to the airport without extra costs or hassle. Nice to just have it dealt with.

Some things that might bother some people:
Drink costs: the booze is not cheap, but its one of the few things you have to pay for an it's not outrageous...I would describe as "normal western pricing"
Style: It's a little soviet in style and dated, but frankly I found that interesting and charming. It's NOT lacking in any functionality, whatsoever. modern TVs, A/C, bathrooms...just a little funky, but in an interesting way, if you ask me (and you're reading this...so you did!)
Internet: very limited location (lobby). You have to drag a computer down there to use, so you cannot download your podcasts or check email from your room
TV: only one english (news) channel, if you are interested in watching TV. On the other hand, if this is super important to you, you might be visiting the wrong town.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gsbdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

I stayed at this hotel and it was great. You pay for this hotel more than other places but is worth it. Great staff and nice beach area. Lot of Tradition at this hotel. Small rooms but standard for Europe clean modern and just like a 4 star western hotel. Location is right on the ocean.
I did stay at a apartment close to this hotel (3 nminute walk) also and I have to say it was awesome 15 foot celings 100 year old building re done. Huge apartment good security upscale. had 2 bedrooms, kitchen huge lving room, laundry totally redone for $50 Canadian a night.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brandonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

After a nite in the Bristol I ponied up the 1000 UAH to stay here in a standard room. I felt like I re-entered western (dare I say American?) civilization again. I would compare this to a early 90's Hilton hotel you would find in any US city.

The service and fittings where what I would expect for a 4 star hotel. The young people behind the lobby desk seemed to enjoy their jobs and they loved practicing their English. We thought the food was great and my wife loved people watching in the restaurant and bar. Nobody spoke Ukrainian here, we saw mostly Russians and some westerners.

The bathroom was definitely the best I ever experienced in eastern Europe but I dont' usually stay in 4 star hotels. Also, the pool was great even in April because it was indoors. The jacuzzi is very large too.

The location was ideal, step right out to the waterfront mall.

If you are taking your girlfriend/wife to Yalta its a no brainer, she will love staying here.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Mini bar prices
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cpbea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2008

First of all I tried to book the hotel through their website, but the booking mechanism on their English language pages would not allow me to make a booking. In the end, my girlfriend booked the room by telephoning the hotel direct.

We chose a junior suite which cost 1350 HRV (around $260 - $270 at todays rate). As this was the middle of October, we are in low season and the prices more than double during high season. This makes the hotel extremely expensive for the region.

Our room was large and we had specifically requested a room with a double bed, which turned out to be true king sized (all but one of the junior suites have twin beds). The only view we had from the window was of other parts of the hotel, but other than that, the room was fine and we were both more than happy with it.

Our romm was on the same floor as the hotel night club, but the hotel is seperated from it's "entertainment complex" by a covered walkway, and we heard no noise whatsoever from there.

One interesting fact was the usual "in the event of fire" information in the directory in the room. This went a bit further than any I have seen in any other hotel around the world. Not only did they tell you what to do if there is a fire, but also gave advice on earthquakes, explosions and chemical spills. Most worrying of all was the advice on what to do in case of a nuclear accident somewhere nearby!

The cost of the room included dinner and breakfast, both of which were self service buffet style. My two complaints about dinner are firstly, no real help as you arrived in the restaurant for dinner. You gave your room number but were then left to fend for yourself. Not a major problem, but for a hotel that claims four stars you should not be left wandering around the dining room trying to work out where you are supposed to sit. Secondly was a lack of choice. There were only a couple of main meal choices, although what there was was certainly good enough for us. A nice touch was a string quintet playing in the corner as we dined.

Breakfast was fine with plenty of choice.

Overall this is certainly the place to stay in Yalta, if your pockets can stand it!

  • Liked — Well appointed room
  • Disliked — The view
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hotel Oreanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oreanda

Property: Hotel Oreanda
Address: 35/2 Lenina Street, Yalta 298635
Region: Crimea > Yalta Municipality > Yalta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Yalta
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yalta
#4 Spa Hotel in Yalta
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Yalta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Oreanda 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1907 this splendid art-nouveau property has exceptional and unique location on the seaside, in the heart of glamourous Yalta resort. Nowadays it is one of the most popular hotels in Yalta, Crimea where traditions of old times are perfectly combined with modern solutions. Its 114 well-appointed rooms offer some of the most beautiful views that may be seen on the Crimean Riviera. Indoor and outdoor swimming pools with sea water, private beach, charming patio and ultimate spa - all this promise you a prefect and memorable stay. The Imperial Suite with a spacious terrace and rosarium truly reflects the splendid times of Russian Empire to make you feel the real sense of place... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oreanda Hotel Yalta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing