We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”
Review of Villa Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Duomo
Ranked #2 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Romsey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Located perfectly in the middle of Kotor, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this beautiful town. During our 3 night stay, we stayed in a spacious room with little added touches like bathrobes and slippers, and a seating area. We stayed in some questionable hotels/villas/apartments in Montenegro (and Croatia) during our trip but this place was what you'd expect from a boutique hotel in the UK.
We happened to be there for Boka Night which was a bit of a shock! We stayed out until 1am and enjoyed the open air nightclub (the entire town!) but the music didn't stop until after 3am. This only happens once a year in August (around the 17th) so just check if you don't fancy being kept up.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    34
    9
    2
    4
See reviews for
23
65
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at this hotel for two nights on a little romantic trip to Montenegro. The room looked just like on the pictures on the website, absolutely gorgeous, and the bathrobes are incredibly thick and comfy. The staff was very helpful and friendly, especially Tina who helped us get a tour guide, recommended a wonderful restaurant for dinner and called ahead to reserve a table for us, and she got us info on boat excursions. In the end, the boats did not go because of heavy rain and we had to cancel our walking tour as well due to bad weather. Breakfast is plentiful, you pick sweet or savoury menus accompanied by fruit, juice, coffee etc. you can sit on a lovely terrace or at one of a few tables inside, or even have breakfast in your room. Only things we didn't like were that the minibar fridge in the room was so loud we had to unplug it at night, and the bed, while very comfortable, was also quite squeaky. None of these impact our excellent rating. We would recommend staying in Apt 6 or higher as 1-5 are quite close to the breakfast area, the elevator and/or the terrace, so they might be a tad loud. We had Apt 6, which was quiet enough, even though it was right next to the room with the cleaning supplies. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank off2islands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for three nights and had a great time. The room was clean, cool and comfortable. The staff were really helpful and help me to sort out a problem I had with my car. It is situated in the heart of the old city with great views up the mountains. We all enjoyed the breakfast served by the hardest working waitress in the world. If we ever visit kotor again this is where we would stay.

Room Tip: There is a best lift so no problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

The best thing about this hotel is the location, slap bang in the middle of the old town of Kotor.
Kotor itself is fabulous, the narrow streets, lively bars and restaurants and the amazing scenery!!
The hotel staff made us very welcome on arrival and all through our stay, breakfast was a very nice experience served on the outdoor terrace with a good choice of food. The room that we picked was an attic room with the bed on a mezzanine up a short flight of stairs and a sitting area below. The problem we had was that the bedroom area was very cramped and it maybe would be better to move the bed downstairs and use the mezzanine as a sitting/ reading area. Apart from this small problem our stay in Villa Duomo was very enjoyable and we would stay there again, just choose a different room.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsea032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Good hotel, good room, good food, good location! Lots of history very close by. It is a very handy location for going out at night as you just have to walk out of your hotel to be in town. Beds were very comfy. Our spa bath was incredible!! Other than the unsafe parking place (our cars tires got let down and we had to pay €10 to fix damage) it was excellent. The wifi connection went off a lot of times which was unsatisfactory but not an emergency. I recommend staying here if visiting Kotor!

Room Tip: We had the top floor suite, it had a lovely view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We heard some negatives but this place far exceed what we were expecting. Had the studio in the attic which was an amazing loft space overlooking the square. Interior decor was a mix of old and new and hit it out of the park. Definitely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Air-conditionair was so bad that I couldnt breath and if u open the window u cant sleep cos of very big noice from outside cos its in old town. Body milk they put in the bathroom smelt so terrible that i needed to take a shower again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelaSerbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
295381VillaD, Manager at Villa Duomo, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Ms Simic,

Thank You for taking time to write your review regarding your recent stay with us!
I am saddened that it was not the luxurious you were hoping for.
We inspected your rooms carefully and found them to be in excellent condition, until your arrival.
When you came at hotel, you made many problems, but as we are very professional, we will not express it in public.
Regarding the noise outside, I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay.
It was cause of concert which happens every summer in Kotor, it is not our fault.
Indeed, we wish we could be the perfect hotel for every traveler but like all small hotels, instead of offering the typical cookie cutter experience for universal appeal, we offer a unique style that is wonderful for many but, we understand that every traveler has his own preferences.
Thank you for having chosen us for your stay in Kotor.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Hippocampus
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#1 of 12 in Kotor
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Old Town
Hostel Old Town
#1 of 104 in Kotor
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Duomo

Property: Villa Duomo
Address: Stari grad 385, Kotor Municipality, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 104 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing