We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent spot in centre of old town”
Review of Villa Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Duomo
Ranked #2 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

A lovely spot and couldn't be handier for sightseeing and walking. Lovely decor and terrace although would be nice to be able to make use of the terrace for more than just breakfast. Room 13 was large! No stand up shower though, but very nice jacuzzi bath. No bath plug though we had to provide our own? Very strange. Very well air conditioned. Lovely views. Very noisy at night but I think everywhere in the old town is the same. Overall great for us. Please be aware you cannot park cars in the old town and must park outside the walls, at expensive rates usually €25-30 per day.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank silvershower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is an excellent hotel and in a great location in the centre of Kotor
Staff are very friendly at reception and breakfast even when we turned up late !
Stunning spacious clean rooms with free wifi
Cant fault this place !

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandraf112014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Checked in yesterday and welcomed by ver friendly and helpful staff. Absolutely 5 star suite! In the centre of the old town with loads of atmosphere and ambience. Great breakfast and a ver good restaurant with great entertainment!

Room Tip: Room 7 where are must be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Ockie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a truly fabulous hotel and was the one place we stayed on our tour of the region where our mouths literally dropped - a large room with a separate living area; a bath with jacuzzi and breakfast served either in your room or on the terrace outside. It truly was a fantastic hotel - including the breakfast which was cooked to order.

Unfortunately, whilst we were there, the hotel had an issue with the power going and hot water failing and this of course was extremely frustrating but was obviously out of the hotel's control. I firmly believe that you should judge a place by how they deal with a crisis and the hotel compensated us handsomely for the inconvenience and (admittedly after a bit of prodding) helped us find another hotel room for our last night in Kotor. Like I say, this was disappointing as it was such a shame to leave such a beautiful hotel behind but given the circumstances we had no alternative.

I would definitely come back, if only to book one of the larger suites!

If you are thinking about visiting Kotor - do it! You won't regret it: the whole area is truly stunning and I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: The hotel can be tricky to find, so make sure you orientate yourself with the windy streets of the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew_Beevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Nice historic villa. The rooms are good, nice family room which can sleep four. It's a great boutique hotel. Centrally located in the fort. The room comes with a sauna & it's like castle room. Highly recommended with family & kids

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank twoodslye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Villa Duomo is a lovely boutique hotel extremely well located in Kotor old town.

We arrived in the pouring rain and were ecstatic that the hotel was only a 2min walk once inside the gate.

We were allocated suite 8 which was on the second floor. There is a lift but you first need to climb around 10 stairs.

The room itself was lovely with views each direction. It was more like the size of a 1br apartment though all open.

Only complaint about the room was the shower which is hand held and has no shower screen.

The two reception ladies were very pleasant and helpful.

The included breakfast was average, though the service pleasant and the coffee good.

The reviews below mention the noise, we could hear the bells of the clock every hour, but wasn't a problem for us.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank AliSydney82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel was recommended in the Lonely Planet book for Montenegro. The photos suggested that the price may put us off but the room rate was quite reasonable. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and advised how to reach the hotel car park (reception give you a key to a small gated area that is not always locked in a larger public car park just outside the town walls). Our room contained a range of vintage items, and looked very chic. The breakfasts were served in a small courtyard, and was usually a two course affair. Mostly simple dished, but all were tasty and prepared us for the day ahead.
Kotor is great to walk around, especially the climb up the town walls for a great view. A drive up to the black mountain for which the country gets it's name is also recommended, although beware of multiple (20+) tight hair pin bends on which you may well encounter a coach/tour bus.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor with a view across the roof tops. I cannot remember the number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShuttleTydirium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotor
0 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
328 reviews
4 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 10 in Tivat Municipality
332 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Hippocampus
0 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#1 of 14 in Kotor
169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dekaderon Lux Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Duomo

Address: Stari grad 385, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 112 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Price Range: £88 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing