We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“transfer great, hostel is good too” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montenegro Hostel Kotor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montenegro Hostel Kotor
Ranked #5 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Horsham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“transfer great, hostel is good too”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We booked the transfer from Mostar, and it was awesome! Our driver was super knowledgable and really nice. Someone from the hostel met us at the car to transfer us to the hostel, which was a nice gesture too. The hostel itself was in a great location, the supermarket is literally downstairs! and many restaurants/pubs within walking distance. The staff were so nice and helpful and the kitchen facilities are great.
The hostel is split over 2 places, which means that there are 3 rooms sharing only one bathroom. this is a little difficult. The dorm itself was ok, if a little noisy (outside noise).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    47
    20
    11
    2
See reviews for
2
30
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hostel itself wasn't anything special for the 1 night we spent there. Staff is nice but sometimes seems bothered by questions. Awesome location right in the heart of old town next to restaurants, bars and a supermarket. Best thing about them is their transfers around Balkans, we got a private "taxi" from Albania with the nicest driver, Mladen, he even bought us lunch on the way and told us alot about the recent war. Definitely the best way to get around the Balkans, and they do a lot of different tours that we didn't have time for but sounded amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

We only stayed at this hostel for 1 night before moving to a different accommodation for another 2 nights. While the price is good for staying in the old town, we did not feel comfortable there.

We had booked a double room with shared bathroom, which was confirmed the day before our arrival. We showed up in the afternoon to find that they had given the room to someone else, and we were offered an apartment with private bathroom instead (which was in another building). This was not a problem until we got to the room and it appeared that someone else was currently staying there... There were dirty towels in the bathroom, clothes in the wardrobe/closet, and a lighter with cigarettes on the bed. We went back to reception and were assured that no one else was staying there and that they had just not cleaned the room thoroughly I guess. They removed the items and we ended up staying, but left the next day because we ended up finding a much nicer place for a better price.

In addition to the issues at check in, we found that the wifi did not work very well, and you could hear music coming from the bar downstairs until fairly late.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
293 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

This hostel is situated in the heart of the old town. It is agreat place for info and they do some really good tours. We took the big montenegro tour with them and the guide Mladen is superb. If you take a tour ask for him and nobody else. The hostel is qiute small with only one bathroom. The rooms have bunkbeds with lockers. There is a kitchen with all mod cons. kokolo is very friendly nand has some good info.

I would definately come here again

Room Tip: Book the Big Montenegro tour with Mladen. It was a superb tour that will show you the highlights of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qualitywork1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Firstly, massive thanks to Kokolo for being a great host. Such a friendly guy who managed to get all of the hostel (about 20 of us) out on one night. A great experience and some great chat!!

Smack bang in the middle of Kotor Old Town. Good, comfortable rooms, with a decent kitchen and Kokolo always making us coffee.

Trying to think of something wrong with this place and I can't find anything. Thanks so much!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Padraig Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Marko and Kokolo did a great job making me and the other guests feel welcome. Lots of good conversation and laughs. I thought the hostel was in a great location in the old town and had a good kitchen for cooking. 6 bed dorm was pretty typical, bathroom was of average cleanliness but good water pressure and nice hot water! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it for your travels as well.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Al3x24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
106 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed here during the winter low season. Everything is spotless and clean. Staff (the friendly guys Kokolo and Marko) are super friendly and helpful. Old town is very small and the hostel is right in the middle of it.
This is one of the few places where we see there are 3 kitchens (i.e. 3 separate stove) for guests!!! Perfect for those who wants to cook themselves and save a bit of money.
They have other hostels in Podgorica and Budva under the same boss, which they will offer discount if someone stays with them and book directly with them.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrankyDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Hippocampus
0.0 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#2 of 10 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.0 mi away
D & Sons Apartments
D & Sons Apartments
#4 of 96 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montenegro Hostel Kotor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montenegro Hostel Kotor

Property: Montenegro Hostel Kotor
Address: Pjaca od Mlijeka b.b., Kotor Municipality 32000, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 96 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Montenegro Hostel Kotor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing