We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Hotel in Kotor”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Hotel Astoria in Kotor was a delight. The location, within the historic and walled city was an ideal place to stay, watch the sea and take strolls in the narrow alleys. The young receptionist, as well as the other young female employees were all genuinely polite. The hotel is well decorated making the stay even more pleasant.

Service in the restaurant across the hotel and owned by the management was appalling.

A major drawback to a stay there was the horrendous loud music piped in the square from a neighboring Italian restaurant till 1:30 AM every Friday and Saturday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rami Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

171 - 177 of 328 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

We travel a lot and I always intend to leave reviews but I hardly ever actually pull my finger out and do it. This time I HAVE to if only to reiterate how excellent the staff are and send them a big thankyou for making our stay so enjoyable. Kristina, in particular is an absolute star! We stayed for 12 nights and from the initial booking to our departure she couldn't have been more helpful. Having been to Croatia and Italy several times I can highly recommend Kotor as an equally beautiful and interesting alternative, and the Astoria really was as good as everyone says. We were in room Zita overlooking the square and it was comfortable, beautifully furnished and ample in size. The food was excellent, and it was perfectly positioned to explore the old town, the port and also to access the car we hired. You can't park at the hotel (no cars are allowed within the old city walls) but the car park is a 2 minute walk away or the hotel have a golf cart which will take you. I will agree that the nightclub is loud at the weekend but it didn't bother us and didn't diminish what an excellent hotel this is. We wouldn't hesitate to book again - in fact we're missing it already!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank b2wd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This is a small hotel within the walls of the old city of Kotor,in a quiet corner leaving the crowds of tourists behind. The room was comfortable and large with a small sitting area. There is a lively bar on the first floor but the noise from here couldn't be heard in the room. Breakfast was in the courtyard outside the hotel, a lovely setting.The staff in the restaurant seem to vary in ability but this may have been just a communication problem. I didn't get the meal I thought I had ordered but this is all part of the challenges in a country were you don't speak the language.

Room Tip: If you are worried about street noise ask for a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Our room (beta, vita 2nd letter of the Greek alphabet) was a welcome treat.

Firstly the service was second to none in comparison to the rest of our trip. The girls were friendly and informative and even gave my partner a run down on the nuances between the Croatian and Montenegrin languages which was interesting. The room decoration was lovely, cleanliness outstanding, cool temperature etc.

The restaurant downstairs was also great.

Following dinner and smiles like Cheshire cats we retired to be awoken with 'thud thud thud' through our windows. It was the nightclub across the square that woke us up and continued to do so until 1am on a Tuesday night. I wrote this review to tie over the time!

It's a tragedy because everything this hotel offers is wonderful including the service. If you can stay out till 1am... this place is for you!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob_goulding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The girls in the reception are the best I have seen- they are very fluent, knowledgeable and above all friendly. The men range from incompetent to disinterested, the latter pertaining particularly to the managers. We started off in room Gama but were transferred to Iota when it became available on night 2 (of 3)- this has lovely twin aspect views although the previous room was very comfortable and in some ways better planned than iota. The food is well cooked by an excellent chef and always extremely fresh. Breakfast is mixed and delivery is erratic- 4 items out of the 16 on offer were not available and we were told that two of the items had not been available for months. You have to be persistent and alert to receive service. Overall the plus factors outweighed the negatives and so I would probably try the hotel again if only to recognise the excellent efforts of Anita and her colleagues.

Room Tip: A room at the back is essential if you want to sleep well since the music in the plaza is very loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fredericoBritain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This was a top notch botique hotel! we had problems so at thier other location so they upgraded us to an amazing room. The room was stylish and the AC kept the room nice and cool. This hotel also has a great location and service. the backdrop for the hotel is beautiful. I would highly recommend this hotel and location in Montenegro.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mashley17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days after a family wedding in Dubrovnik. From the moment we booked this hotel, the staff could not do enough for us. They were all very helpful and friendly. The location is perfect to explore Montenegro. The hotel is situated just inside the old town walls. Free Parking is available just a few minutes walk away for all hotel guests. Lovely room, unusual decor. Very clean. Food is available all day in hotel restaurant/ bar & was lovely. A la carte breakfast was included in the room rate and was very nice. Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Astoria and would definitely return here.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotor
4 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 10 in Tivat Municipality
332 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marija
Hotel Marija
#4 of 4 in Kotor
145 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
239 reviews
5.7 mi away
Casa del Mare
Casa del Mare
#2 of 18 in Herceg-Novi
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Stari Grad 322, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Price Range: £90 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in the ancient 13th-century Buca Palace, in the core of the old town Kotor, Astoria inspires you to relive the history of this Unesco world heritage site. Superbly and individually designed rooms, lounge bar and restaurant give you that electric feel of discovering the mystery of life, throughout the equations of Hellenic alphabet. As the fusion of music gently pierce your ears so the smells and scents of our international cuisine, along with the touch of modern, avant garde and classic dishes, reach your deepest expectations inside the timeless atmosphere. Let us spoil you in this extraordinary mix of the past, present and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing