We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem in the Old City”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Gem in the Old City”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel is located very close to the main gate and in the old palace. The room was very comfortable and clean. Breakfast with good choices , freshly preapared (like orange juice) which is a nice diffrence to the buffet breakfast in most of the hotels . And served up to 1pm!!!! The staff , especially Andelka with so much knowledge about Montenegro was a pleasure to deal with. The sightseeing places and restaurants she recommended were spot on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ania24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    74
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
35
175
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Kotor is a lovely, small, ancient walled city best seen fairly early in the morning before the cruise ship hordes arrive to spoil the atmosphere, or into the evening when they've gone. The Hotel Astoria sits just inside the walls and is also small and also ancient, though you would never know it once inside. Our very large room, at the top, had views of the city and Kotor bay through skylights. The bed was also very large but the bathroom, fashioned into a glass cube that sat out into the room, was tiny. One or two of the lights had their bulbs removed and the heavy glass doors kept getting in each other's way. The hotel was clean, shiny and very, very brown! The decor is brutally modern, all sharp corners and smeary paint. You would think you were in an old prison, maybe, but never an old palace. And as for the bar with it's huge plastic tree "growing" through the ceiling ... However, the staff were very good indeed and made every effort to make our stay easy and relaxed. When you're told that breakfast is served till 1pm how can you feel anything but?

Room Tip: The top floor room is a bit claustrophobic because of the small windows and heavy modern decor. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in Hotel Astoria for three nights at the end of September. The hotel is easy to find and is just inside the Old Town and is a great location. Our room was a double with views overlooking the town square. It had the largest bed I had ever seen with an equally enormous bathroom and was beautifully decorated.

Breakfast was great. It was served a la carte in the restaurant and you can have two dishes - I only ever managed one as the servings were huge! A hot drink and a juice was also included.

The best thing about the hotel was the staff who spoke excellent English, were very friendly and helpful. As you can tell, I don't have anything but praise for this hotel and hope I can come back!

Room Tip: Go for the American pancakes for breakfast, they were very tasty!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madlivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Hotel Astoria is a very nice boutique hotel with lots of character and old world charm, a very welcome respite from the rest of Montenegro. Although this hotel was a little pricey, I am so glad we stayed here. It made our stay in Montenegro much more pleasant. It is a little difficult to find since it is located in Old Town. I suggest parking across from the main gate by the cruise ships and walking into the old city. Once you are inside the old city walls, it is pretty easy to find your way. The service at the Astoria was really really nice, so pleasant and super accommodating, a stark contrast from the rest of Montenegro. It was also very clean which is not the norm in garbage strewn Montenegro. The guest room was quite large, but very warm and cozy, done in a neo-Venetian style. The bathroom had ample space with a huge marble walk-in shower. We had a lovely view of the mountain, the old castle and Old Town. The food was delicious. There were plenty of a la carte choices for breakfast, and the coffee was excellent. The wait staff was superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leon70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Don't get me wrong ... it was a beautiful experience on the whole, but it just missed out on a perfect 10.
Forget about staying outside the Old Town, you have to sat inside the walls or you miss out on so so much. From the moment we stepped into the reception area of this truly exquisite hotel in the Old Town of Kotor, we were impressed by the excellent service provided by the staff. The room was rustic and elegant and we really felt transported back in time, while still enjoying modern luxury. We were given excellent recommendations for dinner and decided upon this seafood place called Cescarica, tucked away in a corner of town but screaming excellence with every mouthful of food!

Unfortunately, I have to now mention the one main 'down-side' of this place.
We were not aware that on weekends (Fri to Sun), the square in which the hotel is situated, is transformed into a boisterous club scene ... which plays modern dance hits to 1am (this is allowed by the law so too bad!!!). So if you're a light sleeper, get those ear-plugs ready and pray hard. This is even though we stayed on the top (3rd) floor. So we learnt that you have to ask for a room facing the walls rather than the square. Actually this doesn't matter cos you aren't here for the views since you should be exploring the town anyway ... unfortunately, we learnt it the hard way. Luckily we were switched to another quieter room the next night and slept very well the 2nd night.

Breakfast was quite ok ... go for the pancakes, cos the meats were too salty for our liking. Freshly squeezed juice was nice and coffee acceptable, although the level of courtesy and service of the restaurant staff was much poorer than that of the reception. Don't bother eating dinner there cos there are so many better options in the Old Town.

Just an extra bit for those of you driving from Kotor to Duborvnik ... rather than queue with the crowds to cross the Croatian border along the main highway of E80... take the smaller road M516 just out of Herceg Novi (look out for the Movi supermarket on your right then take an immediate left off the main highway). We were delighted to then see the border in just 5 minutes and we were the ONLY car crossing with no one else on the roads for the next few miles!!! Thank goodness cos we managed to beat the loads of tour buses on a busy Sunday.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing walls and on the 3rd floor. DO NOT face the square esp on Fri to Sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkandFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This was a lovely trip we made to beautiful Montenegro and lovely Kotor. We stayed 1 week an d did trips from Kotor (very easy and small distances). Be prepared that Kotor can be very busy...and a big touristic destination.
Travelling with a wheelchair... not always simple.... but in the case of the Astoria hotel everything was ok! Except for the entrance (1 'big' step), so you need help. For the rest: very nice hotel, elevator, small but efficient and nice room! Entrance to the bathroom is also quite small (68 cm??). (Not adapted bathroom, but was ok).

The hotel does not have a carparking but we received a small plan of a carparking just outside of Kotor (5 min by foot) Here you can park the car (for free) and for the luggage, there is a golf cart. The staff is very nice and helpful!.
For breakfast, you have to sit on the terrace outside and you can order what you like for breakfast and it is served till 1pm (!) which we truly enjoyed.
We did not knew that so many cruises - and their passengers- where coming to Kotor! So, the breakfast was always bit 'disturbed' with guides and their followers. Otherwise, there is always something to see and hear meanwhile! ;)
Some stuff on the menu was never available (quiche with spinach....) and not every time the quality was the same (we were here for 6 nights) but, it was ok for us! Staff has to work very hard and for long times every day....
The only problem with the Astoria is the extremely loud music at night between 10pm and 1am. on Fridays and Saturdays during the mid season (June & September). The type of music is very bad. We read the comments on this forum, and with good earplugs it was ok! But, be sure you bring them!!
In our case, travelling with a wheelchair, we were happy with this romantic, accessible small hotel in this beautiful city, the friendly staff and the truly beautiful Kotor bay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ily-wheelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Kotor old city.
Beautifully decorated room, nice view of the fort and staff is very nice and polite.
You can order what you like for breakfast and it is served till 1pm which we truly enjoyed.

The only problem is the extremely loud music at night between 10pm and 1am. It is everyday during the summer season (July/August) and "only" on Fridays and Saturdays during the mid season (June & September).

So either party till 1am or bring your ear plugs...

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiliePao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotor
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#2 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#3 of 4 in Kotor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 8 in Tivat Municipality
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
2.3 mi away
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
Palazzo Radomiri Hotel
#1 of 4 in Dobrota
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marija
Hotel Marija
#4 of 4 in Kotor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Stari Grad 322, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in the ancient 13th-century Buca Palace, in the core of the old town Kotor, Astoria inspires you to relive the history of this Unesco world heritage site. Superbly and individually designed rooms, lounge bar and restaurant give you that electric feel of discovering the mystery of life, throughout the equations of Hellenic alphabet. As the fusion of music gently pierce your ears so the smells and scents of our international cuisine, along with the touch of modern, avant garde and classic dishes, reach your deepest expectations inside the timeless atmosphere. Let us spoil you in this extraordinary mix of the past, present and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing