We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good stay. A little pre planning helps.”
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Astoria
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Pretty good stay. A little pre planning helps.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Overall, a nice, modern boutique hotel in the old town. If you park in the "Benovo Parking" lot just around the corner and across the canal from the main gate, it is free for hotel guests and appears somewhat secure. It is maybe a 5 minute walk to the hotel.

We had a room that faces the square. Be advised that the bell tower is very near, and the square could get noisy in the busy season. The double glazed windows and the shutters do a good job of keeping light and noise out, but, the you cant get fresh air, although there is air con. The rooms facing the other side may be better for noise.

Slightly disappointing were the multi nozzle high tech showers. The control knob was broken and only the overhead shower nozzle worked. Reception said most rooms were this way and they were waiting on parts from Italy.

Breakfast is at the bar and restaurant downstairs. Just use your ticket you receievd at check in. A nice selection of cooked and cold items.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank eurocarpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    82
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
39
183
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is in the city walls of Kotor, perfect to be able to fall out of the front door in the morning and be in the cobbled streets. It has a small bard/ restaurant that serves breakfast through to late evening cocktails.

The hotel staff are lovely and helpful, organising restaurant bookings and making recommendations as I investigated the area, plus one of them getting quite wet repairing my shower!

I had a junior suite so lots of space with views over the water and mountains, the old walls are thick and there is real style to the decoration without being over the top.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Decotonto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

This a great spot within Kotor a short walk from the main gate. The room I had (Vita) was spacious and the morning breakfast was tasty and free with my room! The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. My only complaint is that on Friday and Saturday nights, loud disco music makes it impossible to sleep until after 1 am. Luckily I had my ear plugs from the airplane courtesy bag. Otherwise, I wholeheartedly recommend as a solid spot. If you do happen to be staying Friday or Saturday, ask for a room not facing the square. My travel companions across the hall reported far less noise.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the square to avoid loud disco music that lasts until after 1 am on Friday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Astoria for one night. We booked the day of and there were only 2 rooms left (even though it was low season). So book early.

We were given an upgrade when we arrived. Place was newly renovated but they kept the charm of the place.

As mentioned in the post, when we arrived, we called the hotel. They told us where to park and met us with a golf cart.

We had the top room, which was great. Only thing to mention was that we couldn't get the air conditioning to work so it was a bit hot. But we opened the windows and it was not a big deal. (not sure if it would be noisy during high season),

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I was travelling with My four year old daughter Millie. We arrived by car from Dubrovnok airport.
Someone from the hotel met us on the road with their golf cart ( no cars in the walled town)
And directed us to the free parking just outside the walls.
All of the staff were quite wonderful and all very helpful. They were really good with my young daughter and we left feeling we had made friends.
The rooms are beautiful,restaurant good,excellent breakfast and location the best.
We originally were in a room overlooking the square which was great but the manageress very
Kindly upgraded us to a suite overlooking the marina and bay.
I hope to return with my family and will definitely be booking The Astoria.
I consider that we were very lucky to find this hotel.to be honest it was recomend end to us by a friend who lives in Kotor.

Room Tip: If possible book the sea view suite on floor 3. Stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fonte Boa, AM
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We've been to Kotor in October 2013 and stayed at the Astoria. The arrival in the city is magnificent. We called the front desk and, within minutes, they sent us a tiny car to pick up our bags and give us guidance on where we should park. The reception people receive us with a smile and gave us all sorts of information about the place. The rooms, which are designated by Greek letters, are magnificent. We got delighted with such good taste. The large windows of our room faced the street and had a spectacular view of the wall and the mountains thar surround Kotor. Everything worked perfectly and the bathroom had an exceptional shower. If we return to Kotor one day, we will not need worry about a good place to stay. The Astoria is THE HOTEL, very close to one of the gates and in a very quiet courtyard location. There is a restaurant at the hotel, much frequented at night, but the noise did not bother at all. Sometimes, when you transit by the stairs to reach your room, you can feel an unpleasant smell of cigarette. This is a negative point of the hotel, which, however, does not compromise the good stay it can offer.

Room Tip: If you want a good restaurant in Kotor, ask the reception staff about the direction to Galion. It st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brazooka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirana, Albania
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We spent the weekend in Kotor and this nice hotel, located in the very center of the Old Town, few meters away from the cathedral in a quite and romantic small square.
The room was superb, spacious and nicely decorated (if we consider that the hotel building is centuries old). The breakfast was also great, offering many alternatives.
The hotel staff were friendly and always helpful. The location is very convenient for all kinds of activity. They also provide a free parking in the corner of the city wall (200 meters away from hotel). Worth the price and everything...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotor
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
75 reviews
4.0 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 9 in Tivat Municipality
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Splendido
Hotel Splendido
#1 of 3 in Prcanj
174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Hippocampus
0.1 mi away
Hotel Monte Cristo
Hotel Monte Cristo
#1 of 12 in Kotor
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Property: Hotel Astoria
Address: Stari Grad 322, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in the ancient 13th-century Buca Palace, in the core of the old town Kotor, Astoria inspires you to relive the history of this Unesco world heritage site. Superbly and individually designed rooms, lounge bar and restaurant give you that electric feel of discovering the mystery of life, throughout the equations of Hellenic alphabet. As the fusion of music gently pierce your ears so the smells and scents of our international cuisine, along with the touch of modern, avant garde and classic dishes, reach your deepest expectations inside the timeless atmosphere. Let us spoil you in this extraordinary mix of the past, present and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing