We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bastion

Bastion
Ranked #18 of 93 Restaurants in Kotor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Next to the North Gate in Kotor Old Town, Montenegro
Level Contributor
122 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great fish restaurant”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The receptionist at my hostel recommended the fish here...
The restaurant is just next to the north gate, and the tables outside overlooking parts of the old fort.
My grilled squid was the best I ever had, and came with spinach and potatoes.
The waiters were attentive, and happy to explain or recommend dishes. Many people where also sharing dishes, which wasn't a problem either.
This was my first dinner in Montenegro, and I can only recommend it!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Son_UK22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    92
    56
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very delicious seafood for normal price”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent seafood and service in the corner of the old town. You could take a rest just before/after climbing the city walls which entrance is just behind the restaurant. Lovely courtyard setting.
We recommend the fried squids with potatoes and spinach :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too pricey for the food we got and waitress was not friendly”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It was ok, but I expected something much better.. I read great reviews for the restaurant called Bastian III and thought this was it. Not true! Bastion III is an amazing restaurant according to everyone's reviews outside Old Town, this restaurant (Bastian) is inside Old Town walls and is not worth the money.. My husband and I will definitely look for Bastian III tomorrow for dinner!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sveta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Balkan Excellence”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A lovely courtyard setting and friendly greeting compelled me to dine at this restaurant. Ordered bean soup and cevapi...both were hearty and excellent choices..an appetizer of creamed cheese was offered and consumed with both surprise and delight..and all washed down with a half bottle of local wine...great service and genuine guidance offered by the staff...thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“walked in and pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had here by far the best of the two meals in Kotor, although the sample size for comparison is obviously small. March being off-season, many restaurants were closed, so it was a pleasant surprise to walk into one of the few options and have a nice meal and friendly service. We weren't too hungry and the server volunteered putting together a sampler appetizer to be split by the two of us. Each of the seafood items on the appetizer was delicious. Main dishes were excellent as well, one of which was pasta. I find it surprising many recent reviewers had a worse experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank totrotistolive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bastion also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing