We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Seafood”
Review of Bastion

Bastion
Ranked #18 of 95 Restaurants in Kotor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Next to the North Gate in Kotor Old Town, Montenegro
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Loved the prawns in proscuitto. Great value. Good service. Cats sent packing by staff Will visit again

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank GlennEvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    93
    56
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
189 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A respite from the storm”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived in Kotor after a harrowing drive in a terrible downpour. Without umbrella or raincoat, we rushed through Old Town to Gastion, where the waiter greeted us with such warmth and charm. We had seafood chowder to get warmed up. Then had Octopus which was perfectly grilled. Then Mussels in white sauce. A delicious meal.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pcmasuedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best on fish dishes in Montenegro!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This restaurant is and so known. The best on fish dishes in Montenegro, I think so. Squid are stuffed shrimps it is unforgettable! I recommend amateurs deliciously to eat up! A price-list is more than good, for so high quality.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Svratu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A place eat like a local”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Recently was recommended by our tour guide to try this restaurant and had a lovely lunch. Our waiter wheeled over a trolley with several varieties of fresh fish on it to choose from. The fish was cooked to perfection as were the other dishes we tried. The person who I assume was the owner could have been a bit more friendly however this was more than made up for by our waiter with personality PLUS.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris6192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwood, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very good seafood and great service”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Bastion must have adjusted its service after some of the reviews we read, because we had excellent service and an attentive young English speaking waiter. We were brought a large tray of fresh fish and seafood from which we could select what we wanted to have prepared for us. The waiter spent time explaining our choices and recommending things to us. The seafood turned out to be quite good and our local guide recommended it as the best seafood restaurant in Kotor. You can choose to eat outside or inside; we chose inside as it was cooler. Bastion is located just next to the north gate so you can fuel up or relax afterward if you choose to climb all those steps. We enjoyed our meal and the service and would recommend the restaurant, especially as a good alternative to pizza and pasta.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bastion also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing