We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caffe del Mare

Caffe del Mare
Ranked #12 of 92 Restaurants in Kotor
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
london
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Lovely dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Just had a really good dinner. Montenegrin plate for starters had some really good ham, large portion. Great fresh fish, filleted in front of us with nice sauce. Good ice cream which seemed home made. Nice view of the bay. Helpful service. Only a couple of minor negatives - music from the restaurant next door too loud, service slow and they forgot one of our drinks. Overall great meal. Would go again.

Helpful?
4 Thank sarah_jvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    43
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eilat, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and very helpful personel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

First, since this is a restaurant, I'll start out by saying that the food we ate there was excellent. Actually the pizza was surprisingly good.We ate here twice in the three days we spent in Kotor.

But the added factor was the assistance they graciously gave us. We came into Kotor on a Saturday afternoon with no room reservations. Boris, the manager sat down with us and started making phone calls. Within 10 minuted he had four possibilities for us and, because he speaks good English and he knew the guest room owner doesn't, he even accompanied my wife to check out the place we eventually chose. I also want to mention our server, Alex, who also speaks English well (not taken for granted in Montenegro) and gave us some lessons in local history and politics.

All in all, both of our visits to this restaurant were enjoyable and rewarding.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High price for nothing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had pizza which didn't have alle the ingredients it said on the menu. The waiter was nice enough but when we got the bill we had paid 5 euro for the bread which was only 4 slices to 5 people. We complained to the waiter who said it was the boss' decision and that it was for the table cloth and knife and fork. This i think is a very nasty trick to get more money out of the costumers. Very distasteful and bad for getting costumers to come back. I wouldn't recommend it and i also wouldn't go back there at all!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lpc1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressed they found us, not so impressed with the pizza”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Ordered delivery to our holiday rental via an on-line website. Despite not having a local telephone number and supplying pretty poor instructions they managed to get to us and on time! Unfortunately what arrived was stuck to the cardboard, which we had to scrap off using a fish slice. Flavour wasn't that bad but it was really cheesy, some might say this was a good thing!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aston UK
Level Contributor
148 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Came highly recommended on TA and loved the setting so decided to give it a try. Definitely a great location and staff are friendly but do have a lot to learn about good service. Our starters ended up as 2 portions rather than 4 hence very minimal food and then we were offered the fish selection. To start with we were convinced they had sea bass and sea bream the wrong way round but they were insistent, they originally quoted 60 Euro's for the fish we selected but ended up as 90 Euro's. We waited a while and finally the vegetables came out but we still waited for the fish. 10 mins later the fish came and vegetables either cold or eaten! Took ages to serve the fish and still had many bones and dinner was quite cold, but the fish which was cooked in salt was perfectly cooked and very moist. The price was similar to our meal at Galion the previous evening which was also in a superb setting and yet far superior to this in service and food so sad to say that although they did try it failed on a lot of things.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CarolAstonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe del Mare also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Caffe del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing