We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel restaurant review - good grilled fish and nice view of Old Town from the terrace”
Review of Hotel Monte Cristo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monte Cristo
Ranked #1 of 14 Kotor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We ate at the hotel after being invited up to look at the terrace. The terrace overlooks the Old Town and there are relatively few tables which make the experience feel a little more special.

We had the grilled fish platter which was delicious. The platter consisted of sea bream, prawns, clams, mussels and octopus with all the fish and seafood cooked well. The accompanying black rissotto was also delicious.

Local wine as fine and Montenegrin beer is good. Price was relative to Old Town, but the terrace and the quality of food make it a stand out choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The Monte Cristo is a nice enough hotel; our room was adequately sized and cosy, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was decent enough. One problem; they had a live band playing in their bar below until past 1am! Apart from that noise, there were various other bangings and furniture movings which when you're getting up at 7am to hike the city walls is a bit irritating. Also the parking is quite far from the hotel, though there is a golf kart service to take you there.

Not a bad hotel, just beware of the of the noise.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GusElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I immediately loved this hotel when I checked in. Eclectic, old world ambiance in the Old Town section of Kotor. Centrally located, clean, convenient and charming. The room was spacious and had a lot of character (old stone walls, antique furniture, etc).

Down side to the hotel -- tonight is my 2nd night and there is live music next door. It's now 2 AM and the noise is so loud, I can't sleep. While i love the character of this place, there needs to be some effort to sound proof the rooms -- it's utterly frustrating to not be able to sleep when you want to.

I really wanted to give this hotel 4 or 5 stars, but this evening's experience kind of ruined it for me.

The hotel restaurant is average. I suggest eating in one of Kotor's nearby restaurants or cafe's (there is a great new wine bar about 100 metres away). I originally intended to stay a few extra nights because I am enamored with this town, however, the lack of sleep from the noise has changed my opinion (i'm sorry to say).

On the plus side -- incredibly friendly helpful staff @ reception. Waiter in the restaurant on 1st night was quite unfriendly. No big deal, but given the price of the meals, one expects a bit friendlier service. Especially in a hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the courtyard or on a higher level. My room was on 2nd floor and it was horribl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sjmegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We only stayed one night in Kotor but really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and in the old town. The town is even better at night when the crowds have gone and the town is lit with street lamps.
Small but very welcoming hotel which is very tastefully presented. It was a little noisy but not bad enough to not go again. The streets are small and it is a vibrant place hence there is always going to be some noise of people going about their daily lives. Breakfast was OK and is served in the restaurant below the hotel. The only down side was that breakfast was served with only one cup of coffee ad you have to pay if you want another

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phez32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013

The hotel is very well located and our room (#7) was very comfortable for three people with 2 large beds in 2 separate rooms. There is a pub/bar next to hotel that plays music, which during the day was quite to our liking. At night when we closed the shutters and put on the AC we didn't hear it.

I very much appreciated that the staff was very responsive and able to accommodate a snafu with my reservation.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMA_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of the season.
Hotel is in a great location at the top end of the old town, within the city walls.

Hotel has a deal with the local car park if you're driving in.
Just ask at reception and they'll point you in the right direction.
Then it's a short walk through the Northern City gate to the hotel.

Very helpful staff showed us to a lovely room on the top floor (No. 7).
Spacious and charming. The right balance of traditional touches and good facilities.

As you'll know by now, Kotor old town is quite lively at night and there is music playing
until the early hours from some bars nearby, but to be honest, once the heavy wooded
shutters are close over the windows of your room and the curtains drawn, it's fine
and we both slept well.

Breakfast was a bit average with not much choice and we had dinner on the first evening
which again, wasn't great.

So overall, stay here if you like a clean, charming traditional hotel close to all that Kotor has to offer, but perhaps eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: No. 7 is on the top floor and has 2 doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lox001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

I go to Kotor rather often and this hotel is far from the best in town. The service is not high level, the staff was louder then appropriate, the room was ok, but i ended up not returning there after the first stay. The Old Town location is my personal favorite, so it was not a complete miss!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Opest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotor
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Marija
Hotel Marija
#4 of 4 in Kotor
145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Bokeljski Dvor
Hotel Bokeljski Dvor
#2 of 3 in Prcanj
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto IN
Hotel Porto IN
#2 of 4 in Kotor
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
237 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hotel Conte
Hotel Conte
#1 of 2 in Perast
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Cristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Cristo

Address: Stari Grad, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kotor
Price Range: £59 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Cristo 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Monte Cristo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing