We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and stylish”
Review of Hotel Monte Cristo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monte Cristo
Ranked #1 of 12 Kotor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Nice and stylish”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

You feel here like being in ancient castle ! Not so many rooms in the hotel, so you feel staying at a family house. Room number 6 is very comfortable and spacious with a nice view to old square. Better to stay here in off-season time when it is not so many clouds and overnight music at the restaurant. Very good service, definitely try to have lunch or dinner in the hotel restaurant. Separate parking is provided at a parking place located near the entrance to Kotor city.

Room Tip: Room number 6 is spacious and has nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    49
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
32
74
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went to Monte Cristo Restaurant. We experienced a great tuna filet, salads, risotto, nice wine and desert. At that time a couple girls were singing Capella songs. The place is beautiful, the location is awesome, the food is above the average, the price is little bit higher respect to competitors in the same plaza..

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Our first trip to Montenegro was wonderful and picturesque , the trip from Dubrovnik was outstanding and the old Town Kotor did not disappoint , the monte cristo was lovely and the staff were pleasant and helpful , although a little expensive the surroundings landscapes were not to be missed .
Nice bars and restaurants near by and not over crowded . No complaints little noisy but that's people having a good time .
Car park is out side walls but call to arrange buggy to carry you and your bags
Overall great place to stay

Room Tip: Didn't see all rooms but I think higher levels might be a littleQuieter . But quite a few stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmo, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A very friendly welcome, they immideately sent an electric gollf car to fetch our baggage (We had to leave the car outside the walls. Nice room with everything you need at a very good price considering the quality. We had a quiet room at the top floor. No elevator. Nice breakfast

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindbergLimhamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Hotel is situated within the walled city in the old town making it a perfect location. That's the good news!!! The bad news it is located directly next door to a bar called the Evergreen which plays very loud music until 2 am - although the hotel claims its really only allowed until 11pm. Haha. Forget sleeping in because the hotel staff wakes you up at 7 am sharp with their noise starting their day.

The hotel rooms are very very small. The beds are very very soft. And the bathrooms are the smallest I have ever been in. Otherwise they have a nice look and feel to the place. And a lovely bar upstairs. Just not a place to stay.

Their inside restaurant is very good. Just not the hotel side. Not worth The money for the hotel.

Room Tip: No side is any good as the music from the evergreen bar next door is like sleeping in the middle of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jas b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here at lunch. The mussels came in a delicious tomato sauce and lots of bread to soak up the sauce. My friend had the squid ink risotto while I went for the small serving of grilled vegetables. Both were very tasty. Friendly service too. The new head chef had only been at the restaurant for a few months. We made the trip to the restaurant from nearby Perast on the recommendation of a local and were not disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerty2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I wanted to love this hotel but could not appreciate being put behind reception and above the bar/restaurant which played music from 7:30am to 1am every day. This was the deluxe room so we paid a premium for this privelege. The reception was so close I could hear the rustling of paper outside from the bed. It would have been okay but out of 3 showers, only one was hot and and the others were cool so don't shower during prime time as you will compete for the hot water. Lastly, they advertise that they have 1500 channels available by satellite but I got maybe 10 channels and most had no signal.

On the plus side, breakfast is a nice buffet and substantial and the location is in the centre of old town.

If you stay here, get a standard room as it is cheaper and not directly over the bar and shower off peak time and you will enjoy more than we did. The rooms are nice but if you don't want to hear music until 1am or suffer cool showers, best to choose another hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelladybugOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kotor hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hostel Old Town
Hostel Old Town
#1 of 101 in Kotor
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Ivana
Villa Ivana
#12 of 101 in Kotor
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
D & Sons Apartments
D & Sons Apartments
#4 of 101 in Kotor
78 reviews
0.9 mi away
Apartments Doncic
Apartments Doncic
#20 of 101 in Kotor
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Cristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Cristo

Property: Hotel Monte Cristo
Address: Stari Grad, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Cristo 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Monte Cristo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing