We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spot in Old Town”
Review of Villa Ivana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Ivana
Ranked #19 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Reviewed 25 January 2013

As previous reviews allude to, this is the perfect location within the walls of the old town.
Quiet, close to the bus stop and the local fresh produce market (the fruits are incredibly sweet), with access to a private courtyard that sits atop the old town walls and offers nice harbour views. Good for people watching.

The room we had was comfortable but simple. The bathroom average but functional.
Overall, we thought it was great value for money, paying EUR$35/ night.

Ivana and her mother are great hosts. Very laid back and helpful when required. We really felt at home.
Guests also get a discount @ Gallion restaurant. It's on the water outside the old town. Just a short walk. On the high end as far as Kotor dining goes, but beautiful food. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank piarts_ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2012

Staying at villa ivana is absolutely perfect! Rooms are clean and modern (renovated). Bathrooms are great even if you are sharing. There are private bathrooms and sharing with 1-2 other rooms. The location is phenomenal as its away from the loud music of the old town but is in the old town! This has got to be a completely rare find. For breakfast you can sit on the terrace which is on the south wall of the old town and has views of the mountains and the marina with its multimillion dollar boats. If you don't think that this is amazing then you should not travel at all. Best of all the family that run it are lovely and leave you be but are available if required. We spent 40€ a night and that is a steal! The villa is located just as you enter the south gate so really close to the bus station also (less than 5 min walk)

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank alison719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My family and I stayed in a 2-room apartment for 5 nights (honestly, seemed too much for the Boka!) The location in the old part of Kotor is nice to explore the town. Not far from the beach (about 10 min), close to the supermarket and the bus station. Easy to get, just ask the driver to stop at Vrata od Gurdic (The South Gate) and you're there in a couple of minutes The facilities are good: the a/c works well, beds and pillows are comfortable, there is a kitchen equipped with a cooker, a microwave and a fridge; glasses, cups, etc are provided. Rooms are clean, towels are changed daily. The price is very reasonable for what you get. The owner (a nice lady) and her daughter who actually welcomed us when we arrived both speak good English.
What I disliked about my stay is that the kitchen (rather dark if your apartment is the lower one) is located on the stairs - no privacy! The front door is often opened (there is a little room for the staff below), so you don't feel quite comfortable sitting and eating there. The terrace with a sea view is in another building and actually is occupied by the owner so we didn't feel free to use it. Finally, if you're a big person you can experience some difficulties opening the door of the shower as there's limited space. It can be noisy at night as there's a cafe nearby but noise and bad loud music played late in the evening is the problem of the whole town (what a shame for such a romantic place!)
All in all, I’d recommend this place for a short stay. The town of Kotor is a gem, it’s the best in the bay, but if you live there, other towns and villages don’t seem so interesting in comparison with it and for a beach holiday I’d prefer Sveti Stefan, not the Boka. Be sure to have a look at the bay from the old Kotor road – splendid views!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Mirene-Mirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Couldn't be better located, right in the old town, close to free parking place and supermarket. Far from the noisy parts of the starigrad. Rooms were nicely decorated, with air conditioning, and fridge. The only problem was the bathroom, it was supposed to be private but it turned out that it wasn't. Actually the building was a little weird, you cannot understand from where people go into their rooms and how the rooms are connected to each other. The owner do not speak English which makes it funny trying to communicate. Still it is a recommendable place with its great location and terrace with sea view and a pass into the walls of the starigrad :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasmincix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Fabulous location just inside Old Town walls (look for Vrata Gurdica - South Gate, only 3 mins walk from bus station) but quiet and cool. Room was clean and big enough for a week's stay, with fridge, microwave, sink and small range of crockery/cutlery for breakfasts etc. Couldn't work out how to work hob but didn't need it as plentiful restaurants nearby. Bathroom very warm (vent outside) but handy for drying wet clothes! Aircon in main room was fine.

Very welcoming owner who speaks good English. We e-mailed ahead to ensure someone was there when we arrived. There are now prominent signs to most accommodation in Kotor so previous comments don't really hold.

Not the smartest place in Kotor, but very good value and perfectly fine for the experienced traveller!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foxjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, and we are so happy we picked this place!
It was walking distance to everything. The lady who is the owner, was very helpful and friendly. She recommended Gallion restaurant to be great, and that turned out to be true. You also get 10% discount if you tell the staff in the restaurant that you are staying at Villa Ivana.

We had booked a room for only 2 nights, but we liked Kotor so much, we chose to stay one more night, and that was fine by the owner.
They have a very nice veranda, where you can sit and enjoy the sunset.
The rooms are simple, but clean and have even more than you need. The fridge came in handy for cooling water and storing strawberries :)

Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anja N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights. Awesome location and beautiful building. Very close to kotor bus station, only a 5 minute walk. We had no trouble finding it, its right near the south gate entrance. Taking another entrance might make it more difficult to find, as there are no street names. Our room was very clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed the shared terrace. The only downside was there was no shower curtain, so we had to use it as a hand held shower to avoid flooding the room.
The highlight of our stay was definitely the owners, they were so hospitible and friendly. We had a good chat, and they were kind enough to let us check out late as one of us was quite sick. We had a great time here and were very comfortable, i cannot recommend villa ivana highly enough. I will for sure stay here again if i return to kotor, thank you very much for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sioquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kotor
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vardar
Hotel Vardar
#3 of 4 in Kotor
236 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Astoria
Hotel Astoria
#1 of 4 in Kotor
327 reviews
4.1 mi away
Regent Porto Montenegro
Regent Porto Montenegro
#1 of 10 in Tivat Municipality
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Ferri
Villa Ferri
#33 of 111 in Kotor
46 reviews
0 mi away
Hostel Old Town
Hostel Old Town
#1 of 111 in Kotor
449 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apartments Simun
Apartments Simun
#32 of 111 in Kotor
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Ivana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ivana

Address: Old Town 265, Kotor Municipality 85330, Montenegro
Region: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Kotor
Price Range: £29 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ivana 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Villa Ivana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing